Sacramento Kings
I thought since we have a fair few intelligent and classy ladies on this board I might as well ask for a bit of help here.

Its been a pretty tough week and I want to show a bit of appreciation to the GF for being there for me and not kicking up a stink when I couldn't take her out to dinner of Valentine's day.

Any suggestions? :o

Stiffy_18 said:
I thought since we have a fair few intelligent and classy ladies on this board I might as well ask for a bit of help here.

Flattery 101 - HD

Stiffy_18 said:

Its been a pretty tough week and I want to show a bit of appreciation to the GF for being there for me and not kicking up a stink when I couldn't take her out to dinner of Valentine's day.

It sounds cliche ,but I am yet to meet a woman who doesn't like having red roses sent to her. Preferably at her work place so she can show off to all workmates.
I think that might work.

By the way WTF has happened to your avatar?

Does she drink beer Stiffy?

If not, buy her a slab of your favourite brand. :D

What greater gift could you give her than a happy boyfriend?? :p

Leaping Lindner said:
It sounds cliche ,but I am yet to meet a woman who doesn't like having red roses sent to her. Preferably at her work place so she can show off to all workmates.
I think that might work.

By the way WTF has happened to your avatar?
I thought of that and it was on my list of possibles :)

My avatar is black. Its in memory of a great family friend who passed away in my arms on saturday hence the reason why I wasn't really in the mood to go out on valentines day :(

Stiffy_18 said:

My avatar is black. Its in memory of a great family friend who passed away in my arms on saturday hence the reason why I wasn't really in the mood to go out on valentines day :(
I was going to say that your avatar reminded me of Adelaide's coming season, the lights are out and nobody's home.

That at least would be the typical football response.

However after reading the reasoning for your avatar I find it very touching. Given the circumstances I don't think your girlfriend would mind if you didn't celebrate it but I guess its always nice to show some appreciation to our better halves.

Condolences.

Sorry about my previous post Stiffy, I didnt realise that your bad week was that bad. :o
If you realy want to show her how special she is how about taking her out on Sunday night?
Dont check the scores or talk football, I think she would understand how you feel then.

PS: speaking as a married man the few times in the past 10 years when i have sacrificed an important game to do something with my wife it has always worked and been much better that the cliches (sp) that non footy freaks rely on.
Wizza 1 is still the first look at the 2005 team = important

Stiffy_18 said:

Really sorry to hear that mate. I hope everbody involved is coping ok.

Leaping Lindner said:
I think that might work.?
Yes, when are all boys going to realize that!

It's sad working in a huge building and seeing roses/flowers/teddy bears being delivered all day. :(

Stiffy_18 said:
My avatar is black. Its in memory of a great family friend who passed away in my arms on saturday hence the reason why I wasn't really in the mood to go out on valentines day
am sorry to hear that. :(
with circumstances like that - surely she'd understand, and wouldn't mind..

but with saying that..
dinner, roses, movie, chocolates.. the works. ;) :p

Stiffy_18 said:

Sorry to hear abouit yer loss Stiffy.

Always flowers mate. Nothing works better and workplace is where to send them.

condolences stiffy and trust me flowers will work the treat, especially sent to the work place and with a nice little message like "thanks for your support and understanding" she'll go awwww and so will all the workmates

My boy did this once and not since and boy do i remind him of it!!

I know a good site which does 2 dozen red roses and some other nice little touches in box for a pretty reasonable price - pm me for the details

another thing i have seen done by a son for his mother was that for her birthday he paid for a floral arrangement to be sent every week for 6 months to her house for her to have fresh flowers every week - this is prob a bit too much but an idea for the rest of this lot considering some of the above posts :rolleyes:

Stiffy_18 said:
Not a beer chick I am afraid but I can always drink for her too :p

Perfect. Then a slab of beer it should be. ;)

On a sadder note, genuinely sorry to hear about the happenings of last Saturday, young Stiffmeister.

jc67 said:
1, Oral sex
2, Wing seats for sundays game
3, cash, gift vouchers
4, 1 again

Marry me.

Seriously, I'm not much help. I'd rather head to Maccas then the footy/cricket then the pub and then his place if he's lucky (...and if we win) than all that fancy flowers and romantic restaurant crap. I'm sure I'm in the minority of chicks though ;)

If you're going to get gift vouchers Stiffy, get a gift voucher from The Body Shop. It's always a winner.

I'd suggest you send her some flowers to work with a "make up" dinner invitation attached. Doesn't have to be anywhere flash just a nice night out.

Condolences too mate. Hope you're coping ok.

Stiffy_18 said:

Why not take her out to dinner tonight instead? May i suggest Cibo at North Adelaide. FLowers would do the trick too. Find out her favourite flower and send her a bunch, or a nice bouquet with her favourite flowers.

Condolences for your loss as well mate.

Theres no point really in me posting as I agree with the majority on here RE: flowers to the work place, thats never failed me.

I just wanted to say how sorry I am to hear of your loss Stiffy, I hope you are coping ok mate.

P.S Im sure your GF will understand mate if you dont feel like doing anything.

Macca19 said:
Why not take her out to dinner tonight instead? May i suggest Cibo at North Adelaide.

A first class choice Macca. Been there many many times. It's not the cheapest, but it would have to have the best Italian food in Adelaide.