Leaping Lindner

North Adelaide
We all know who we follow in footy,and we've discussed politics (with varying degress of success ;) ) . So now it's time to lay it on the line and declare your favourite rock band(s) or artist.
I'll get the ball rolling with my all time favourites

The Clash, Radio Birdman , Dead Kennedys, The Ramones, Iggy Pop.

Yes! As my wife constantly reminds me (stirs me) I am stuck in a time warp musically.

So who are yours?

:o mine is pretty bad;

The Beatles, Alicia Keys, Jackson 5, Lauryn Hill, Micheal Jackson, Janet Jackson, Guy Sebastian, Bryan Adams, Lionel Richie, Destiny's Child, Justin Timberlake, Mya, The Beach Boys, George Harrison.

:o

edit; forgot Brandy, Norah Jones, Frank Sinatra, Louis Armstrong...and Nat King Cole.....How could I forget Mr Cole? :(

Leaping Lindner said:
We all know who we follow in footy,and we've discussed politics (with varying degress of success ;) ) . So now it's time to lay it on the line and declare your favourite rock band(s) or artist.
I'll get the ball rolling with my all time favourites

The Clash, Radio Birdman , Dead Kennedys, The Ramones, Iggy Pop.

Yes! As my wife constantly reminds me (stirs me) I am stuck in a time warp musically.

So who are yours?
With that list you must include The Rezillos and The Saints as well.

AngelEyes said:
:o mine is pretty bad;

The Beatles, Alicia Keys, Jackson 5, Lauryn Hill, Micheal Jackson, Janet Jackson, Guy Sebastian, Bryan Adams, Lionel Richie, Destiny's Child, Justin Timberlake, Mya, The Beach Boys, George Harrison.

:o

Hmm, on that list AE maybe you could become the first ever female member of the Old Farts Club. :D

Bee Gees, Status Quo, The Byrds, ELO, Black Sabbath, Abba, U2, Boston.

Frank Sinatra, Sarah Brightman, Neil Diamond, Neil Young, Neil & Tim Finn, Dusty Springfield.

& anything by Andrew Lloyd Webber.

Janet Jackson, U2, The Beach Boys, Clear Water Revival , Usher, Destiny's Child/B, Metallica, ACDC, Guns&Roses, KISS, Justin Timberlake, Linkin Park, Elvis, Black eyed peas.....P!nk, Xtina, Meatloaf..... TLC.

Think thats about all, must get most of theses guys on a CD rather than the tapes.. :o

Our CD collection is bursting at the seams. My faves lately have been: Live, Muse, Powderfinger, The Killers, Franz Ferdinand, Green Day, Simple Plan, U2, Metallica, Linkin Park but we also have Alex Lloyd, Pete Murray, JBT, Eskimo Joe et al and heaps of jazz, blues and classical CD's. Bit of everything really.

My faves growing up were: The Police (esp their early stuff), Abba, AC/DC, Skyhooks, Sherbet and for a while Duran Duran :o

Nirvana, Radio Head, Eminem, The Doors, Metallica - pre And Justice for All ( Master of Puppets, Kill 'em All etc ), The Black Crowes, Led Zep, Black Sabbath, The Animals, 60's, Punk.

I have probably around about 1200 cds so its fair to say i love my music. I used to be a big metal head up until a few years ago before the genre staled out a bit. GOt plenty of cds from Machine Head, Slipknot, System of a Down, Incubus, Sevendust, Korn, Pantera, Nine Inch Nails, Marilyn Manson, Rage Agaisnt The Machine, Kill II This, Hatebreed, Strife, Earth Crisis, Amen, Mudvayne and the like.

Then I discovered the joys of electronic music and havent looked back. Im quite anal about the styles of dance music I like and nothing played on any radio station is any good so i have to solely rely on the internet and reviews to find out about new stuff.

I like Progressive House, House, Breaks and Drum n Bass. DJs/Producers that I really enjoy the most are: Sasha, Digweed, Sander Kleinenberg, Armin Van Buuren, NuBreed, Luke Chable, Kasey Taylor, Hernan Cattaneo, James Holden, Infusion, LTJ Bukem (prob my favourite..the man is a genius) & Mc Conrad, Makoto, Greg Packer, Phil K, Plump DJs, Junior Jack, Kid Creme, MAW, Joey Negro, Dimitri From Paris and of course the Prodigy which pretty much started me loving music.

Australia has an incredible dance music scene...we have plenty of talented producers that are starting to get recognised a lot overseas. Anthony Pappa pretty much started it but Kasey Taylor, Infusion, NuBreed, Phil K and Luke CHable are starting to make it huge in the UK. Some of the local scenes are amongst the best in the world. For instance Adelaides Drum n Bass scene would be amongst the top 5 Drum n Bass cities in the world and a couple of our Techno DJs have gotten big overseas as well.

Unfortunately Adelaide mostly loves mindless doof doof hard house/hardcore crap and so those DJS are mostly the ones we get. We tend to miss out on a lot of big name DJs that come here from Progressive and some other genres who only do the East Coast....which is sad. When we tend to get a huge name come here like Armin Van Buuren then the turnout is average and seems to turn the big names from wanting to come here. At least with Drum n Bass we get a lot of the big names all the time which is a good start.

A lot of people hate Electronic music and bag it for being mindless doof doof crap but theres a gigantic range of dance music to choose from...the majority of which noone gets to hear as stations like Fresh seem to concentrate only on the harder styles (which adelaide love) and commercial songs.

I really love my music, which just about includes everything but heavy metal. Just could never get into that.

I have to draw the line at Frank Sinatra though, noddy!! :eek:

Other than that, all the ones mentioned so far, with the Beatles, Bee Gees, Beach boys, Credence, Eagles, Queen, ACDC, Guns and Roses being the absolute stand-outs. Sure I've missed heaps in that list though.

Oh, and don't forget the Rolling Stones, even though that was back when Adam's a*se was as small as a shirt-button. :)

Been some reasonable groups in recent times, but not of the calibre of the all-time big guns IMO.

Pantera, Metallica (A.J.4.A and before), Iron Maiden, Soulfly, Alice in Chains.

When I'm feeling passive - Eagles, John Butler Trio, Something for Kate, Melissa Etheridge.

portentous said:
Our CD collection is bursting at the seams. My faves lately have been: Live, Muse, Powderfinger, The Killers, Franz Ferdinand, Green Day, Simple Plan, U2, Metallica, Linkin Park but we also have Alex Lloyd, Pete Murray, JBT, Eskimo Joe et al and heaps of jazz, blues and classical CD's. Bit of everything really.

That's a pretty good collection, I've got most of those (Live, Powderfinger, The Killers, Franz Ferdinand, Pete Murrau, Eskimo Joe). Also just bought Jeff Buckley Grace 10th Anniversarey addition. I reckon looking at some of those bands you've got you'd probably like 78 Saab and also Modest Mouse - both great albums.

Come on people... Simple Plan, Maroon 5, Green Day, Joel Turner, Anthony Coleia (Damn hope thats how its spelt), Good Charlotte, JZ/Linkin Park (catchy song), Killing Heidi, Eminem, ummm.... Been listening to a bit of The Killers and Grinspoon lately too (my sisters fault!).

Little Richard; Jerry Lee Lewis; early Elvis; The Beatles; Rolling Stones; Manfred Man; Cream; Eric Clapton; Bee Gees; Led Zeplin; Free; Byrds; ZZ Top; Ac/dc; Eagles; Stevie Wright; INXS; U2;Guns n' Roses; Credence; Powderfinger; Jet.
Anything rock n roll; blues; R&B(except they call Rap that now urgh); acoustic guitar; heavy metal; etc.

Cant stand hip hop, throbbing dance music; rap or people on turntables trying to make out their gods gift. Not music IMHO, especially when they rip off true musicians material. :mad:

Yes I'm in a time warp.
They don't make music like they used to. :D

Watts_Bode_N_Jericho said:
Come on people... Simple Plan, Maroon 5, Green Day, Joel Turner, Anthony Coleia (Damn hope thats how its spelt), Good Charlotte, JZ/Linkin Park (catchy song), Killing Heidi, Eminem, ummm.... Been listening to a bit of The Killers and Grinspoon lately too (my sisters fault!).

You wouldn't have blonde hair now W,BnJ? :D

Killing Heidi, Scissor Sisters, The Strokes, Fleetwood Mac, The Killers, um... The Bees, a bit of The Hives... ooh the other night I listened to Skyhooks and yih... also Madness too, and some Powderfinger when I'm bored and the other day I had Elvis in and Jet too.

And absolutely NO SIMPLE PLAN OR JOEL TURNER! But I forgot Green Day and Missy Higgins... and Grinspoon and The Living End.

Nick Cave
Clash
Dead Kennedys
Ramones
Rezilos & Revilos
Bob Marley
VNV Nation
Funkervogt
Das Ich
AiBoPuFoRcEn
etc