Toast Our defensive pressure

I just went and had a look at some stats and it confirmed what I thought. We are the only team all year (most likely longer) to only allow Collingwood two goals maximum before we scored a goal.

Here are the maximum Collingwood goals scored before the opposition scored a goal in each game so far.

Round 1: vs. Port Adelaide - 8.
Round 2: vs. North Melbourne - 5.
Round 3: vs. Carlton - 4.
Round 4: vs. Richmond - 6.
Round 5: vs. Essendon - 5.
Round 6: vs. Western Bulldogs - 8.
Round 8: vs. Geelong - 4.
Round 9: vs. Adelaide - 11.
Round 10: vs. West Coast - 6.
Round 11: vs. St Kilda - 5.
Round 12: vs. Melbourne - 8.
Round 14: vs. Sydney - 5.
Round 15: vs. Hawthorn - 4.
Round 16: vs. North Melbourne - 9.
Round 17: vs. Carlton - 2.

We are also equal second with 4 in our first game with Collingwood.

It's a telling stat that shows just how hard we were working in defense yesterday. We just needed the same effort up forward.

We have come a very long way since gifting our opponents 100 points each week.

For a team with no key back an in the side, holding Collingwood to only two consecutive goals at most is a great achievement. :thumbsu:

Collingwood are good. Very good. Dare I say it, possibly the best team I've seen in my time watching footy. A percentage of 175% in crazy good.

Their 1970 team was probably their best team in my lifetime & we all know what happened to them (if we hadn't beaten St Kilda in the PF that year, Collingwood most likely would have won the GF).

Only four teams have come within 40 points of Collingwood this year. Geelong (won), Sydney and Carlton - twice. Not quite a win but indicative nonetheless.

Collingwood are good. Very good. Dare I say it, possibly the best team I've seen in my time watching footy. A percentage of 175% in crazy good.

Read that on the CFC website today. But there's one more - Essendon lost to the Pies by only 30.

Brissie Lions were the best i have seen in my lifetime.

They were a phenomenal finals team and knew how to get the job done in September but they did not once win the minor premiership between 2001-2003. Lost at least 5 games every season - can't see Collingwood losing 3 games this year, let alone 3.

Reckon Geelong were the more dominant team but hard to look past the 3 premierships. But as far as individual seasons go, Collingwood's year has to date been the best I've seen.

Geelong 08 and Saints 09 were virtually unbeatable, but beaten they were when it counted...Kangaroos in 98 suffered a similar fate, as did Essendon of 99, thanks to us. And don't forget Eagles in 91.

When teams are so dominant the chances of a big moment choke increase. Geelong in 08 are the classic example. They feel unbeatable and then at a particular stage, such as Mooney missing his second sitter in a minute, suddenly it occurs to the collective psyche that they could lose the only game that really matters. The rest is history.

And that killed St Kilda the next year, because Geelong simply refused to lose that one as a result of 08.

Going back to back is really really hard. In the last 20 years only Adelaide and Lions have done it, and neither of them won a minor premiership. Think Essendon at the start of 2001 and Geelong at the end of the home and away season in 08. Both were considered invincible.

Collingwood are the best team around by a huge margin and will stay that way all year. But they are no certainty for the flag, or even the grand final for that matter. Whoever comes up against them will have nothing to lose. Collingwood will have everything to lose.

Toast Our defensive pressure