Our forward line

tynanshinin

what front 6 do we think we could use to get some sort of stability up there....excluding injury what is our best front 6 and what players would u be rotating through there

FF: Wona - Jurrah - Watts
HF: Pettard - Bate - Dunn/Miller

That 6 gives us 4 guys who can take contested marks (Bate, Dunn/miller, Watts, Jurrah)

We also have davey, Sylvia, bruce etc who can all go through there that would be in our 22.

F - Maric Petterd Wonaemirri

HF - Miller Green Bate

worth a shot for next week at least. I reckon Petterd is supremely underrated by Dees supporters. Has great body positioning and can mark the ball over much taller opponents.

Damn straight. Petterd showed what he can do last year, albeit was somewhat inconsistent, but another year and I feel he can really leave a stamp on our forward line. Similar to Mitch Morton at Richmond, he's a viable option to leave one out with confidence in beating his opponent. Looking forward to him this year. Has a bit of aggro in him too which I like.

I've got no doubt that if our midfield and backline are holding up that the following forward line can win us a reasonable tally of games.

HF: Petterd, Bate, Resting midfielder - Sylvia/Green/Davey
FF: Jurrah, Miller, Maric or Wona
Int: Watts

With quick ball movement all these players are capable of beating defenders and kicking goals. Also Bate back around half forward provides the much needed target besides just having Miller. Jurrah spending time on the sidelines takes away from the potency and marking power of the forward line, but we can still function if Miller, Bate and Petterd are up and going - we might need to get Green and Sylvia down there more. There is still a role for the resting ruckmen to provide a deep option.

Neeeeewton! :p

You'd have to have Sylvia there, he was great last year. Plus Davey on the half, unless you can't him in the midfield.

Plus Tapscott when he comes back, we've got quite a bit up front.

Our forward line issues highlights the reason why Watts is easily the most important player on our list.

If he comes good then everything falls in place, if he doesn't... we are in trouble!

If Watts is fit enough to play they had better select him.

**** this cotton wool/shield him until he is strong enough to take on the big boys. We need forwards with so many injuries, we have a guy we selected number 1 in last years draft who is a forward, just ****ing play him!!!

Round 1 forward line:

Bate(if available)or Sylvia/Green Miller Watts
Wonna Petterd Jurrah(if available) or Maric

Even if they want to play him as a lead up target up the ground just get him out there!! He cant be any worse than Miller and the Hawks have got some quite significant injuries also.

GET HIM OUT THERE!!

Petterd FTW looks like he is serious about getting his spot in there. Green is gonna need to step it up and kick alot of goals for us to win a few games this year.

If Watts comes good we may do ok. But it we are gonna struggle up there.

Miller is lucky he is playing at Melbourne, any other team he wouln't get game.

Should have kept Robbo in for one last year. He was keen and sill getting a few goals a game.

If Watts is fit enough to play they had better select him.

**** this cotton wool/shield him until he is strong enough to take on the big boys. We need forwards with so many injuries, we have a guy we selected number 1 in last years draft who is a forward, just ****ing play him!!!

+!

Why is Watts different to Westhoff and skinny Lappin

It can only be killing his self esteem and belief

+!

Why is Watts different to Westhoff and skinny Lappin

It can only be killing his self esteem and belief

Still has to earn his spot. I can't see how a cautious approach would be killing his self esteem and belief. Ridiculous statement.

Come on. This is the Melbourne team. Can't be that hard to earn a spot if you are the #1 draft pick and a KPP

Not sure its cautious to put him in cotton wool.

He is the only #1 draft pick in recent history not getting a game.

This can't be good for his confidence.

Play him, let him take some knocks, make an impact and grow into the player that he is said to be

What can be the harm if he plays?

Has to earn his spot, LOLZZZZ!! Give me a ****ing break.

Are we that good that we have plenty of seasoned guns and we are challenging for the premiership? Get your head out of your arse. He was the number 1 pick. Why did we pick him at number 1 if he has to earn his spot? What are the other/better options?

Lets carry on with Newton and Miller. They have earnt their spot in our ****ing wondeful team!! :):thumbsu:

And build a culture where players get a game based solely on their name. Getting knocked around and playing while he isn't in form is going to harm his confidence more than playing in the 2s for a portion of the year. Key position players take time. Watts is still young, he has 15 years of good footy ahead of him.

Personally this year if Watts was playing senior footy and having little to no impact while Miller was playing at Casey tearing it up I would be asking questions of our selection commitee.

I'm not saying he won't be automatic selection from 2011 onwards, but there has to be sone common sense in how he is used. Last year he was played when he wasn't ready and the criticism that stemmed was enormous.

Whatever my opinion, Bailey will know how to use him, so it doesn't really matter what any of us think.

And build a culture where players get a game based solely on their name. Getting knocked around and playing while he isn't in form is going to harm his confidence more than playing in the 2s for a portion of the year. Key position players take time. Watts is still young, he has 15 years of good footy ahead of him.

Personally this year if Watts was playing senior footy and having little to no impact while Miller was playing at Casey tearing it up I would be asking questions of our selection commitee.

I'm not saying he won't be automatic selection from 2011 onwards, but there has to be sone common sense in how he is used. Last year he was played when he wasn't ready and the criticism that stemmed was enormous.

Whatever my opinion, Bailey will know how to use him, so it doesn't really matter what any of us think.

Way to contradict yourself.:thumbsu:

Maybe, if u believe it was completely Baileys decision to play Watts last year.

I don't believe it was completely his decision. But it just shows he will cave in to public and board level pressure.

You stated Bailey will know how to use him. That is complete BS.

Well I hope Bailey knows how to use him. My point in all of this is that yes Watts needs to get game time, but he still needs to be eased into the top level. My first comment was more pointing out the ridiculous statement that Watts' confidence would be shot if he wasn't playing in the 1s. He has a good head on his shoulders and he will be willing to follow whatever path the club has set out for him.

Good post mate. I honestly think at AFL level Miller is a better option than Watts currently.

HF: Petterd Miller Bate
FF: Wona Jurrah Green

Green and Jurrah to play out of the square. Plenty of mobility in that forwardline, it isn't star studded but IMO is the best we can put out on the park when all players are fit.

Last year he was played when he wasn't ready

Skinny players can play AFL straight off the bat if they have the engine to go. Jack did not have match fitness last year.

He is a skinny KPP so his contribution to the team was always to be a mobile forward who would run and present. If he played closer to goal, he would get monstered.

He had no preseason, trained part time and played 4-5 Casey senior and reserve games. In the VFL, Jack relied on his natural talent and that got him through. He didn't dominate but looked very comfortable and a different class and maybe the hierachy got sucked in.

but in the AFL against top 8 teams, his fitness was exposed and smashed.

If Watts can't run out a game, he plays VFL till he gets it up to scratch. Once his conditioning is up, Watts will play AFL.

Miller doesn't and won't tear it up anywhere.

I'd prefer Watts to be in the side and playing like shit butt getting experience, than Miller be in the side and playing like Miller.

Seriously guys Brad Miller will be playing a lot of football this year.

If we didn't have him our forward line would have; and would continue to struggle to kick more than 5 goals. Don't get me wrong, I don't think he has a place in our best 22 long term, but until at least one of: Watts, Garland, Fitzpatrick, Bate etc can handle the no 1 opposition defender we have no choice.

FWIW I think Brad Miller would be a handy forward if he got the 3rd defender not the best.

Watts will play AFL footy this year. But until he can demonstrate a period consistent form at VFL level then that is where he'll stay. If he can't get a kick in the VFL he sure as shit is not going to get one in the AFL. For all we know he may be Luke Molan to the power Isaac Weetra.

And whoever said is confidence will be shot playing 2's has no idea. I know I'd rather toil away in the 2's earn respect and my spot in the side rather than demand it by way of reputation. Only to have flogs like Leigh Mathews slag him off because he will be the type of human capable of snip a bloke 60m off the ball (he is a piss weak oxygen thief).

I don’t know who made the call to play JW on QB, BUT I can clearly remember at least 2 passages where he was ignored when out in a lot of space fat side. I don’t think the players believed he deserved to be there.

Yep. There was also at least one against Essendon. The kid can find space no doubt it's now a case of it being honoured and him honouring the trust when he gets it. He has the talent and if he is fit he should play in the 22 at least 10 games this year.