Injury Our Injury List

Just genuinely sad for everyone, especially Max. He'll be doing it tough.

My 2 cents, I reckon he has potentially only been a few weeks away a few times this year. I don't want to rehash the playing through pain stuff from a few pages back but I do believe his knee is sound but his pain receptors are not. Which could explain how proppy he has looked and also how he hasnt seemed to be pushing himself hard at training when he is only '1-2 weeks' away. I'm the furthest from an expert when it comes to neuroscience, but from the outside it looks like it may not be 100% physical.

When he had that big talk with half a dozen staff a couple of weeks back it looked like they told him to give it a proper test, which he was able to do in that moment.

Misson said, "the aim of the surgery is to remove the pain Max has been experiencing".

Am I the only one who finds the wording of that statement really strange? We aren't fixing his broken knee we are removing his pain. Do we entrust a witch doctor? Hypnotist?

Either way, it's just a really sad situation. The club would look at the 'pre-agent' talk of Max coming out of contract in 2026 and thought it was brilliant to avoid that. I won't blame the club, as much as I would've hoped we'd extended him after he got some match form at least.

We can't let ourselves think he or his agent knew he was cooked and screwed the club, that thought process can't help anyone.

I'll suggest it's a 4 or 5 week recovery, followed by a 4-5 week mini preseason. 8-10 weeks would be my assumption. It's super sad, there's no other way to put it, to write off 2/3 of another season is a bloody tough pill to swallow.
Maybe he's just got a super low pain threshold.

Wonder if his twin brother is the same.

My 2 cents, I reckon he has potentially only been a few weeks away a few times this year. I don't want to rehash the playing through pain stuff from a few pages back but I do believe his knee is sound but his pain receptors are not. Which could explain how proppy he has looked and also how he hasnt seemed to be pushing himself hard at training when he is only '1-2 weeks' away. I'm the furthest from an expert when it comes to neuroscience, but from the outside it looks like it may not be 100% physical.

When he had that big talk with half a dozen staff a couple of weeks back it looked like they told him to give it a proper test, which he was able to do in that moment.

Misson said, "the aim of the surgery is to remove the pain Max has been experiencing".

Am I the only one who finds the wording of that statement really strange? We aren't fixing his broken knee we are removing his pain. Do we entrust a witch doctor? Hypnotist?

Either way, it's just a really sad situation. The club would look at the 'pre-agent' talk of Max coming out of contract in 2026 and thought it was brilliant to avoid that. I won't blame the club, as much as I would've hoped we'd extended him after he got some match form at least.

We can't let ourselves think he or his agent knew he was cooked and screwed the club, that thought process can't help anyone.

I'll suggest it's a 4 or 5 week recovery, followed by a 4-5 week mini preseason. 8-10 weeks would be my assumption. It's super sad, there's no other way to put it, to write off 2/3 of another season is a bloody tough pill to swallow.
That’s a lot of words to say you’re throwing darts in the dark lmao

Unfortunately saying they "don't know" wouldn't be acceptable to some medical know it alls in here.

It is what it is .... the club/outside medicos ain't gunna get it right everytime especially when it comes to orthopaedic concerns which can be complex in terms of rehabbing/repairing and even diagnosing.

Supporters huffing and puffing about it make me laugh .... like its some degrading affront on their superior intelligence and personal expectations because the club aren't being transparent enough .... like it will keep them awake at night sweating ...... damned if you tell the truth & damned if you get it wrong

If it turns out the problem is career ending I am sure there will be some get out clause for the club ...... if not then sure ..... fire away

Meh ... that's my take anyway

Max is 24 .... just put him out to pasture and give him the best chance to get back
Paddy Dow has been tbc since the infection and not many are saying anything about that.

I think you’d still get some “medical know it alls” who wouldn’t be happy but the volume would be WAY smaller.

Most of the anger isn’t about Max or any medical specifics but the mismanagement (of one of his surgery, protocols, rehab or comms).

Ultimately for what has happened to have happened someone, somewhere along the line ****ed something up and the club wears that.

You think the club would lie on purpose just to appease supporters short term .... knowing they would definitely have to backtrack later down the line and embarrass themselves?
I KNOW the club lies on purpose if it means protecting its image to supporters.

Whatever is happening with King. People just want clarity and honesty. So explain to the fanbase why today will be a second surgery when your immediate communication was that not even 1 was required. Why the coach and football department leader was saying a calf a week ago and now he is under the knife.

I can almost guarantee you if he misses the season. You’ll get a late December/early Jan puff piece on Max and they’ll have a throwaway line about the actual issue.

You think the club would lie on purpose just to appease supporters short term .... knowing they would definitely have to backtrack later down the line and embarrass themselves?
You ever heard of selling hope which in turn sells membership can you imagine if they said in Feb that Max is out until June i think you might find a 10% reduction in membership sales let alone murchandise, so yes they lied for the fact their bottom line would of suffered.

Selling hope vanished with that practice game against Port.

all this talk about club lies and surgery etc...one of my mates had a fall while drunk a few years ago. he had some knee issues that became quite problematic for him and went to get it checked out by specialists. they told him that no surgery would be required and that all he would need to do is exercises to build strength back up

next week he is booked in for his 3rd surgery on said knee

Of course they would, just like suggesting that one of the leading knee specialists in Melbourne would just stick an arthroscope into Kings knee and go - yeah nah nothing to see here - you're good to go.

Its the world of the internet - every thing is just black or white.

The would 'mismanagement' is being thrown around very lightly at the moment. It would be nice if we lived in a world where all it took as 1 doctor looking at a problem to instantly solve it, but the human body is not that simple.

Based on what has been publicly said, the first issue with the floating scar tissue that was removed couldn't be seen on a scan because it only bothersome when Max was running. That''s why they waited to do the arthroscope because the scans were fine and they aren't going to operate on someone as the first point of call when the scans weren't showing any need to do so. It's very likely there is still some in there that was missed because they weren't sure on how much there was when they went in. Or that more dislodged in that weird movement captured on the ch7 cameras that seemed to bother him. It's also likely he did tweak a calf on top of the knee issue because doing soft-tissue when rehabbing something else is very common.

Who knows - we aren't his doctors and aren't entitled to know those details. But this is just trying to say that just because it hasn't been a linear timeline of return, doesn't mean mismanagement has occurred. Just that these issues can be complicated and arent always as straight forward as they get presented on here as.

The would 'mismanagement' is being thrown around very lightly at the moment. It would be nice if we lived in a world where all it took as 1 doctor looking at a problem to instantly solve it, but the human body is not that simple.

Based on what has been publicly said, the first issue with the floating scar tissue that was removed couldn't be seen on a scan because it only bothersome when Max was running. That''s why they waited to do the arthroscope because the scans were fine and they aren't going to operate on someone as the first point of call when the scans weren't showing any need to do so. It's very likely there is still some in there that was missed because they weren't sure on how much there was when they went in. Or that more dislodged in that weird movement captured on the ch7 cameras that seemed to bother him. It's also likely he did tweak a calf on top of the knee issue because doing soft-tissue when rehabbing something else is very common.

Who knows - we aren't his doctors and aren't entitled to know those details. But this is just trying to say that just because it hasn't been a linear timeline of return, doesn't mean mismanagement has occurred. Just that these issues can be complicated and arent always as straight forward as they get presented on here as.
You know you can mismanage more than just his surgery though yeh? You can actually mismanage a whole bunch of stuff that has nothing to do with doctors or physios in this case.

Sorry man , not trying to take the p155 but how would you know what condition his knee is in , iv seen some out there statements on here but this is near the top of the tree

Paddy Dow has been tbc since the infection and not many are saying anything about that.

I think you’d still get some “medical know it alls” who wouldn’t be happy but the volume would be WAY smaller.

Most of the anger isn’t about Max or any medical specifics but the mismanagement (of one of his surgery, protocols, rehab or comms).

Ultimately for what has happened to have happened someone, somewhere along the line ****ed something up and the club wears that.
Golden staph is a big issue with surgery of any kind and there is no quick fix apart from IV antibiotics and then cross your fingers and hope it resolves itself.

A mate of mine had a knee replacement 12 months ago and got an infection. 6 months later he had the knee re-opened and cleaned up, it improved but the infection lingered. 6 months later after intensive IV antibiotics, he had another operation to replace the titanium with a temporary plastic joint, as the infection attached itself to the titanium. Luckily it appears to have worked but he will need another operation in May to replace the plastic joint with a titanium one. A total of 4 operations on the one leg, his scar tissue looks like a train track. Luckily his other knee had a TKR prior to the problem one and there was no issue.

My knees are in pretty bad shape, but my mates experience has deterred me from considering any TKR. It is totally understandable about Paddy Dow and golden staph is more common than you think, particularly amongst older folks.

I KNOW the club lies on purpose if it means protecting its image to supporters.

Whatever is happening with King. People just want clarity and honesty. So explain to the fanbase why today will be a second surgery when your immediate communication was that not even 1 was required. Why the coach and football department leader was saying a calf a week ago and now he is under the knife.

I can almost guarantee you if he misses the season. You’ll get a late December/early Jan puff piece on Max and they’ll have a throwaway line about the actual issue.
Id just about bet he wont play this year , seems one thing after another with poor old Max

Golden staph is a big issue with surgery of any kind and there is no quick fix apart from IV antibiotics and then cross your fingers and hope it resolves itself.

A mate of mine had a knee replacement 12 months ago and got an infection. 6 months later he had the knee re-opened and cleaned up, it improved but the infection lingered. 6 months later after intensive IV antibiotics, he had another operation to replace the titanium with a temporary plastic joint, as the infection attached itself to the titanium. Luckily it appears to have worked but he will need another operation in May to replace the plastic joint with a titanium one. A total of 4 operations on the one leg, his scar tissue looks like a train track. Luckily his other knee had a TKR prior to the problem one and there was no issue.

My knees are in pretty bad shape, but my mates experience has deterred me from considering any TKR. It is totally understandable about Paddy Dow and golden staph is more common than you think, particularly amongst older folks.
Yeh paddy and his knee is really not the point I was making.

They listed Paddy as TBC which they can absolutely do because they clearly didn’t know when he would be okay.

King was touch and go for round 1. Then was a week away. Then did a calf apparently. Now needs more surgery and will be out until the bye (if at all this year).

If he was that close before round 1 then someone has ****ed something up with his protocols and rehab.

If he wasn’t then they’ve lied.

If they’d listed him as TBC and noted it’s an ongoing thing, which again, they can do, about half this mistrust and anger is gone.

Yeh paddy and his knee is really not the point I was making.

They listed Paddy as TBC which they can absolutely do because they clearly didn’t know when he would be okay.

King was touch and go for round 1. Then was a week away. Then did a calf apparently. Now needs more surgery and will be out until the bye (if at all this year).

If he was that close before round 1 then someone has ****ed something up with his protocols and rehab.

If he wasn’t then they’ve lied.

If they’d listed him as TBC and noted it’s an ongoing thing, which again, they can do, about half this mistrust and anger is gone.
maybe they didn't feel it was an ongoing problem. it doesn't take much to pick up an injury, I did my back moving a basket of washing once...

I worry about his mental state tbh. Even when Max plays, it looks like he has the world on his shoulders and that he doesn't actually enjoy his footy. It can't be easy watching your twin, who you were meant to be better than, lead the Coleman while you can't even get on the park. Hope the club is wrapping their arms around him.

I don't think we handled it well. We should have had Bruce to take the heat off him early and excuse him from all the publicity stuff. Making a player who hasn't even started his career the face of the club is absolutely the worst way to manage a young guy starting his journey.

Pressure isn't a great way to bring out the best in a player. Hopefully he's just a bonus from here on in. If he comes good it will be great but no expectations any more. Just a free hit that if he can get right would be an absolute bonus of an A grade KPF. If not let him play free of the stresses of publicity and pressure.

You know you can mismanage more than just his surgery though yeh? You can actually mismanage a whole bunch of stuff that has nothing to do with doctors or physios in this case.
You dont say :rolleyes: I was clearly referring to the comments talking about mismanaging the medical side of this situation.

Loved most things that the club has done since re-signing RTB, except for the decision to keep Max and sign him to a long term contract. I see Max on a similar trajectory to Billings, who I was calling for him to be traded out earlier while he still had market value., but we never did. I sincerely hope I’m wrong about Max. Injuries aside, I’m actually referring to him as a player, but this whole injury thing is exacerbating the previous question marks.

More on Joe Daniher's path. Chronic injury killing seasons while pressure and criticism eat away at him until he asks for a trade to a state where no-one knows who he is.

I don't think we handled it well. We should have had Bruce to take the heat off him early and excuse him from all the publicity stuff. Making a player who hasn't even started his career the face of the club is absolutely the worst way to manage a young guy starting his journey.

Pressure isn't a great way to bring out the best in a player. Hopefully he's just a bonus from here on in. If he comes good it will be great but no expectations any more. Just a free hit that if he can get right would be an absolute bonus of an A grade KPF. If not let him play free of the stresses of publicity and pressure.
There was no room for Bruce in a forward line that had King, Membrey and a resting Ryder/Marshall. Time to move on from him.

Agreed, the club was reporting their hopeful return for him at that point in time. Even if that’s an optimistic amount it doesn’t mean they are trying to deceive everyone for no reason.

They were probably desperate to sign members up. After getting bashed in the Port practice match they were trying to build hope in all likelihood. They were probably expecting to come out of this part of the season without a win and that would have at least given the fans some hope of a turn around at some point early in the season.

There was no room for Bruce in a forward line that had King, Membrey and a resting Ryder/Marshall. Time to move on from him.

We stuffed it up regardless. Could have let King build up in the VFL for a couple of years playing when he was in form and not thrown him in the deep end too early.

Yep, really can't see him playing for at least 4 weeks after a returning to training.