Opinion Our injury management? (split from Lions preview thread)

To address the new topic
I assume of the 22 who played on saturday night, at least 18 if not all 22 have some sort of niggle or "injury" even if its managing an ongoing knee, or some general soreness. Something your average joe would rest up with potentially.

The reality is players have to/ are expected too push through some pain and yeah i expect them as a fan to do this, thats the market, only 37/38 to pick from if we wait for 100% fitness then they wont play.

Now should a player play with injuries beyond that scope, no way. It can be annoying but pushing the player out there to just get worse helps no one.

Seeing Rohan struggle through is sad, exciting he got back, but playing with that hobble isnt helping him, but being unestablished you can see why they try to play, its cut throat.

Pushing franklin out there every week with a knee if we want him to play nine years is dumb and if they push tippett out with a rib problem it would be silly in theory, but then i wonder why kieran jack is in the middle playing sore.

The whole thing would be easier if the club was more transparent,

If buddy got hurt round 3 and is pushing through tell us at round 3(or never) dont wheel it out as an excuse Or reason in round 6

I think with the reporting these days and scouting of opposition we are beyond the ducks and drakes and tricky to other teams, half the time the media seem to know, the only people you are fooling are your own fans.

I know we will probably never know but it would be interesting on how many occasions the player himself has overruled the medicos and went up to Horse and said "im fine play me"

I know the medicos are the ones to cop the blame all the time but who knows maybe Jack puts his hand up and says he is right to go?

I know we will probably never know but it would be interesting on how many occasions the player himself has overruled the medicos and went up to Horse and said "im fine play me"

I know the medicos are the ones to cop the blame all the time but who knows maybe Jack puts his hand up and says he is right to go?

The other thing to consider is the importance of these early rounds. When you have a 1-3 start, every game becomes like a final in importance. Finals require the best available even when a tick under 100% in health as Kizza has been.

Kizza is the Capt, and if the Cpt wants to put his head over the ball when the club is in need, it's pretty hard to argue with him if there is no medical reason preventing him from doing so.

I'm hoping we can get a head of steam up in the next few rounds and get back to not needing injured players to make the year relevant.

The other thing to consider is the importance of these early rounds. When you have a 1-3 start, every game becomes like a final in importance. Finals require the best available even when a tick under 100% in health as Kizza has been.

Kizza is the Capt, and if the Cpt wants to put his head over the ball when the club is in need, it's pretty hard to argue with him if there is no medical reason preventing him from doing so.

I'm hoping we can get a head of steam up in the next few rounds and get back to not needing injured players to make the year relevant.

Agreed mate another thing i have noticed is we don't seem to have a way of winning easily against the lesser sides, even against Melbourne we were pressured, battered and bruised around the ball and we looked like the walking wounded at the end of the game.

Real worry is its only round 7 as well.

If a player gets hurt (playing injured) there would be a meltdown of epic proportions.
Not to mention exposing the club to liability for not fulfilling their duty of care.
Tippett is already fragile, do we really want to send an already fragile player in to battle and lose him in the first contest?
Can't see how that is going to help the team?

No they shouldn't, simple.

Playing injured will mean that the other players have to carry them throughout the game, which isn't ideal, or that they might get a More serious injury which they will be out for a longer period of time.
I'd rather give them how long is required to get there bodies in shape.

Although it does get annoying with Sammy continuously injured hardly can string games together, same with Tippett we knew what we were getting into when getting him last year due to him missing half the season for us, but he did have those concussion issues (knee issues there aswell I believe). It was pleasant to see him play good footy in the 2nd half the year.

Pretty much in 2 years Tippett will only play a season which is a big disappointment.

Obviously Franklin has got a niggle, sydney will play him with 1 leg with the amount that they are paying him, to get there money's worth.

What a million a year for Tippett not enough to get him out there at any cost as well ????

This "Tippet is soft" business got to me when the Crows tried it on. The guy's copped about 5 or 6 concussions, hasn't he? I don't think you can accuse himy of being afraid of getting hurt. The money the club threw at a guy who is so often injured is where questions are better asked, but to a certain degree I think you need to roll the dice on those sort of things. When he's been available he's proved very valuable.

To address the new topic
I assume of the 22 who played on saturday night, at least 18 if not all 22 have some sort of niggle or "injury" even if its managing an ongoing knee, or some general soreness. Something your average joe would rest up with potentially.

The reality is players have to/ are expected too push through some pain and yeah i expect them as a fan to do this, thats the market, only 37/38 to pick from if we wait for 100% fitness then they wont play.

Now should a player play with injuries beyond that scope, no way. It can be annoying but pushing the player out there to just get worse helps no one.

Seeing Rohan struggle through is sad, exciting he got back, but playing with that hobble isnt helping him, but being unestablished you can see why they try to play, its cut throat.

Pushing franklin out there every week with a knee if we want him to play nine years is dumb and if they push tippett out with a rib problem it would be silly in theory, but then i wonder why kieran jack is in the middle playing sore.

The whole thing would be easier if the club was more transparent,

If buddy got hurt round 3 and is pushing through tell us at round 3(or never) dont wheel it out as an excuse Or reason in round 6

I think with the reporting these days and scouting of opposition we are beyond the ducks and drakes and tricky to other teams, half the time the media seem to know, the only people you are fooling are your own fans.

Voice of reason as usual.

same with Tippett we knew what we were getting into when getting him last year due to him missing half the season for us, but he did have those concussion issues (knee issues there aswell I believe). It was pleasant to see him play good footy in the 2nd half the year.

Pretty much in 2 years Tippett will only play a season which is a big disappointment.
My only thought to throw in the mix is that half a season off would surely be a pretty good chance to get the body in pretty good shape, wouldn't it?

If you bought a Ferrari and there was some issue with it, would you drive it just because you paid heaps of money for it or would you get it fixed then drive it?
I'd rent another one on a 9 year lease

This "Tippet is soft" business got to me when the Crows tried it on. The guy's copped about 5 or 6 concussions, hasn't he? I don't think you can accuse himy of being afraid of getting hurt. The money the club threw at a guy who is so often injured is where questions are better asked, but to a certain degree I think you need to roll the dice on those sort of things. When he's been available he's proved very valuable.

Even that's difficult to question. The guy missed a handful of games in about 5 years at the crows.

It's not as if the club could have predicted these other injuries.

Still have to pass a fitness test they don't let you play if you dont doesn't matter who you are.

Longmire (todays video) reckons Tippet will be considered for the Hawks....take it with a grain of salt but he and Buddy could be back for that. Derrickx's is the obvious one to go but i cannot see a less than match fit Tippet rucking with Pyke for a full game against Hale & McEvoy.

Oh well, got to win this week first. :)

Even that's difficult to question. The guy missed a handful of games in about 5 years at the crows.

It's not as if the club could have predicted these other injuries.

Well he's been battling knee tendonitis for a couple of years, apparently. It's more the concussions, though. But, like I said, I think it was probably worth the risk. 3 goals a game is probably worth paying the big bucks for, though. That was a top-line return last year.

What a million a year for Tippett not enough to get him out there at any cost as well ????

The money is irrelevant to the argument as it's a sunk cost. We pay it whether he plays or not. Maximising his future value is the only issue. If Tippet can play sufficiently well to have an impact without risk of exacerbating an injury then he should be considered to play, otherwise he should be rested. The club's responsibility is to manage him to get the maximum out of him for the duration of his contract with us. If playing him one game costs us two later then the cost is too high. Of course, finals are a whole new ball game.

If you bought a Ferrari and there was some issue with it, would you drive it just because you paid heaps of money for it or would you get it fixed then drive it?

A good analogy. Of course the Crows would say we stole the Ferrari.

I think alot of people underestimate how well we did last year, at one stage we had 11 premiership players out of the side, and generally played with about 6-7 out of the side, this year we have another unstable line up, but any other team woud be failing to register points, our swannies may be inconsistent, but hopefully injuries lighten up and our boys run out a full side, i personally dont think theres a team that can take us a full flight.