Our PSD situation

astro_toby

hey everyone, just wanted to start up a thread to discuss our PSD position - I think we all would HAVE to be happy with our National Draft performance - in picking up the most skilled midfielder in cotchin, very possibly the best key position defender in Rance, and a 202cm ruckman / power forward with excellent mobility with Putt. It was a perfect draft for us in many ways as all three players perfectly fitted our immediate and long term needs. Perhaps my only beef with the draft was we only were in a position to take 3 players - perhaps with some better -player management - we could have taken at least 4 players, as i feel there were several players which could of helped us continue to fill in the gaps.

First off - does anyone know if any of our players listed as still uncontracted - or who even may be on a 1 year low payment contract - who possibly could be cut to make more room on the list to take 2 selections in the PSD?

i see 5 players (and possibly 6 ) who would fit our needs, and i would be happy to see on our list. Chances are we will only get 2 of these fella's - one in the PSD, and the other in the Rookie draft.

those players would be

1. Gaertner - was stunned he wasn't drafted - a 198cm key defender with athletic capabilities and an AIS scholarship - selected by many "phantom drafters" to be taken as low as 19 or at least in the 20's or 30's - he would be an excellent pick up to our young backline

2. Tom Bellchambers - a 200cm - 96kilo 18 year old ruckman who averaged 30 hitouts a match for the tassie mariners. Already has some serious body mass, can drop forward and kick goals, but more importantly he could be the specialist tap ruckman we need

3. David Gourdis - 193cm, 89kilo quick leading, leaping center half forward - on the inside footy website he was seen as a first round selection - but again, failed to be drafted.

4. Clayton Collard - a highly talented small forward / midfielder, taken at pick 31 in the "super draft". the one position we probably didn't work on in the draft was our lack of small, pressure forwards - apparent bad attitude cost him at freo - which means it was no shortage of talent

5. Darren Pffeifer. - another player who was delisted due to an apparent poor attitude. taken with pick 17 in the 2005 draft - skills are apparently very silky, plays mainly as a winger or flanker - who can also have a spell in the midfield if needed to.

personally - if White has only one year left on his contract - i would be satisfied with he getting delisted, and taking Gaertner and Bellchambers in the PSD and then hopefull Collard slips though to the rookie draft (which may be a little hopeful if Ashley McGrath re-signs with Brisbane ). i see the what all of these three players could offer our list far more important that anything White could ever possibly add to our list.

surely Guy Richards would have to be out of the equation now - especially with 3 tall young talents still available from the National draft. Pfeiffer misses out for me as i think that we have several players already developing in that position - if he is still available with our 2nd rookie spot - i'm more than happy to rookie him. I think Gourdis will probably end up elsewhere through the PSD - i think he is a good pick up - but we already have several big bodies now who can play forward in schulz, reiwoldt, putt, hughes, pattison and of course richo.

thoughts everyone? i think if we can work our PSD well, we could really do well for ourselves. ideally getting 3 of these guys on our list should be our aim , and if played right - is very possible.

Gourdis for me... He has excellent pace and alot of upside. Also, it is commonly known that it is alot harder to develop defenders into fowards then what it is to develop fowards into defenders. Therefore, he can put pressure on fowards line Schultz, Hughes and Riwoldt aswell as defenders like Rance, Thursty and McGuane.

Bellchambers is my second pick. From all accounts he is slow, however he will win you hitouts. In the future, if he could get a bit more agility and pace he could be a handy tap ruckman who can pickup 10 touches a game and maybe a goal

I think Pieffer and Collard will be there come the rookie draft so we should pick one of them up with our rookie pick. Then look to draft either Silvester or Neville and then two of these other kids that have come to train with us

Gourdis for me... He has excellent pace and alot of upside. Also, it is commonly known that it is alot harder to develop defenders into fowards then what it is to develop fowards into defenders. Therefore, he can put pressure on fowards line Schultz, Hughes and Riwoldt aswell as defenders like Rance, Thursty and McGuane.

Bellchambers is my second pick. From all accounts he is slow, however he will win you hitouts. In the future, if he could get a bit more agility and pace he could be a handy tap ruckman who can pickup 10 touches a game and maybe a goal

I think Pieffer and Collard will be there come the rookie draft so we should pick one of them up with our rookie pick. Then look to draft either Silvester or Neville and then two of these other kids that have come to train with us

i have to admit that i have heard the least about Gourdis than any of the others so i don't know much about him - so you could very well be correct.

those players would be

1. Gaertner - was stunned he wasn't drafted - a 198cm key defender with athletic capabilities and an AIS scholarship - selected by many "phantom drafters" to be taken as low as 19 or at least in the 20's or 30's - he would be an excellent pick up to our young backline

Not eligible.

He's too young to be selected in the PSD or Rookie Draft for 2007.

Gourdis has just flown over from WA to train with us. Terry has also narrowed his choices from 14 to 5-6 kids for the PSD.
I only know one other club who showed a bit of interest in Collard and that was Kangaroos, they are looking to replace Grant/Harvey when they retire.
Gourdis - PSD
Bellchambers Pick 1 rookie
others: Arrowsmith, Pfieffer, Neville, Howat (i love him, played for my club)

Gourdis has just flown over from WA to train with us. Terry has also narrowed his choices from 14 to 5-6 kids for the PSD.
I only know one other club who showed a bit of interest in Collard and that was Kangaroos, they are looking to replace Grant/Harvey when they retire.
Gourdis - PSD
Bellchambers Pick 1 rookie
others: Arrowsmith, Pfieffer, Neville, Howat (i love him, played for my club)

i'd have to think carlton would be keen on either of gourdis and bellchambers as well - surely they would be keen on a quick marking CHF or a big tap ruckman

would be surprised if bellchambers is still there at rookie draft.

SPINE'S OPINION ON ALL THINGS RICHMOND AND THE DRAFTS GONE AND COMING UP.

Saturday was a wonderful day. Australia's new slogan should be:

Australia as it should be: Labor in Power and the Richmond football club challenging for premierships again:

I am an avid watcher of Under 18 football and Both Rance and Cotchin were in my top 6. To get Rance at 18, was the best surprise for a long time. Clubs that passed on him, (HAWTHORN, SYDNEY, W.B) WILL rue the day forever.

Rance is a standout F.B of this generation, I spoke to Miller on a number of occasions and said this bloke was better than Glass at the same age. He is the complete shutdown Full back we have lacked since - god only knows. Rance is like a shutdown corner in the NFL. You can do so many more things knowing you have a rock back there. Rance is a tough kid, not frightened to smack a bloke off the ball, or squirrel grip a player playing well. ASK MARIC ABOUT THE BACKHANDER.

West Coast as they have Glass can push their Wingman and HBa little more forward of the ball, we can now. We can match up against anyside, the stoppage kings and the POWER FORWARD - clubs of the world.

Pick 19 - I think I am the only person I know - that was rapt with the McMahon signing. It releases Newman in the middle, and allows McMahon to get the 5 - 6th best forward in the game. McMahon despite being small in stature is a little tougher than you think. HE IS Another LEADER TOO. A GOOD ONE.

We missed on Selwood, The younger Selwood = Daniel Jackson Notte (12 kilos wringing wet) and Callum Ward who can't kick. I was not at all impressed with him or McEvoy at the champs. McMahon - is 24. But the way he plays is realistically '22' with 100 games of AFL under his belt. McMahon is a great get, as is Morton at 35. Think of McMahon as our Leon Cameron - I would have preferred McMahon than David Myers who went at 6.
DEAN PUTT - Will not be a ruckmen, but will be a similar player to Paul Salmon. He is quick, Reminds me of Clint Bizzell with his marking (great grab) and has won a premiership (Calder) knows how to win big games.

I am rapt we did not select Morton. He is not a leader of men, is quiet and our group needs more extroverts as we know. Morton is seriously outside, and with Casserley, Oakley - Nicholls developing why get another utility?

From here: PSD - Gourdis - I had Gourdis in my top 20. Is tough and the similarity to Fanklin (hopefully not offield) is there. Is tough. Can be a Defender I reckon.

I would drop either Hyde or Moore of the list now. In the PSD - I would take 2 players: Gourdis and Guy Richards. Why Richards? 24 played in a good program, and will save us 500,000 in development costs. Richards can ruck, Simmo and Patto rotate out of the square / FP. ALLOWS GRAHAM, PUTT time to get stronger.

So Moore off the list: PSD 1: Gourdis: PSD 2 = chf /fb: Richards. Ruck.

ROOKIES: We can not get any Jeremy Humm's here.
wink.gif

ROOKIE 1: Jarrod Silvestor: Will not be there in round 2. Kanga's keen, as are Port Adelaide. Allows Rance 2 years to mature. GOOD PLAYER SILVESTOR. With Polak will get gorialls. Thursfield and McGuane to get the 3rd tall and most dangerous small forward respectively.

ROOKIE 2: Paddy McGinnity: I love this bloke. Had him top 25. Good tagger, Cotchin wants him at Richmond.

Rookie 3: A surprise here: Steven Foster - Coburg Tigers Reserves. Geez - Jamie Charman like attributes, taller than Jamie. Tough / Crash and bash. Winner of award in grand final. Knows how to play well in big games. Keep Coburg interested.

Rookie 4: Simon Phillips / Joe Gazzo. As Gerry Gee 'Pelchan' says. Nearly the last thing on the shopping list. I like Phillips, was good as was Swallow in the 05 carnival. Gazzo - is a favourite, howver being only one sided will hurt. O.K Phillips for me. Dangerous - will be a similar get to Rhan Hooper (who I love for defensive pressure). Phillips has been in a good program, and will come back home. A DANGEROUS / SMALL DEFENSIVE FOWARD IS A MUST.

You may have to swap Rookie 3 and 4 around. Phillips might not be there in round 4.

We should get 2 more ruckmen: Richards and Foster and it is a position we will not have to worry about for 10 years.

Player Concerns: Meyer(Last chance) Schulz (I dislike Shulz and he is dumb.) Real dumb. Will make it in Defense or not at all. Hughes: Soft: Needs to smack bodies, not prance around like a Vogue model (a women) . I like Oakley - Nicholls. He was not a wasted pick. He will be a damn good player. Rest assured on that.

I am not racist, but no - more aboriginals now. They are hit or miss. Cyril Rioli is a big ? from the Dawks, I doubt he makes it.

A wonderful day - was Saturday. Nearly fainted after Rance was a Tiger. Mark his name down as a vital cog in Richmond's premiership successes.
beerchug.gif

No more - disrespecting our players. McMahon is good, Morton is good and our ability to get players to come to us after a wooden spoon year says wonders.
We missed nothing on giving up pick 19. Nothing. Selwood is just a player, Notte = a piece of spaghetti and Ward = pick 40 - 50 on my list.

Great to see everybody happy. Richmond supporters are the best in the land. And when we are happy all together we can move and make the AFL take notice of a club - who is just coming out of hibernation.

THE LIGER IS BORN: L STANDING FOR LABOR:

smile.gif
Keep positive and buy your membership now as ther tigers are a comin... and comin... for the next decade.

SPINE:

Re: SPINE'S OPINION ON ALL THINGS RICHMOND AND THE DRAFTS GONE AND COMING UP.

No Gaertner - Can't kick and is a pea heart.

NO Arrowsmith = just a pea heart. Tivendale and Hughes are hercules compared to this curly haired softy... Pink Marshmellow is no longer Miller it is Arrowsmith.

Both players are softer than the Meadow Lea institute.

Carlscum will take Gourdis at 2 in PSD. Take Gourdis and Richards PSD: Drop Moore of list. DON'T DARE LETS CARLSCUM GET GOURDIS HERE. If Miller wants Richards (Get him with 2nd pick in PSD) Drop Moore / or Hyde off the list. And or both. Don't get Cam Howat again = soft / dud.

Silvestor: r1

Paddy McGinnity / AARON JOSEPH r2.

Rookie 3: A surprise here: Steven Foster - Coburg Tigers Reserves.

Rookie 4: Simon Phillips / Joe Gazzo. As Gerry Gee 'Pelchan' says. Nearly the last thing on the shopping list.

Ryan Hobbs - Geez I like the way he attacked the footy for the countries in the carnival. Was the only Power forward who had the W.A side looking around a bit in all 3 games. Played well and kicked 2 long goals.

Gourdis > than Hobbs but if we pick up both in the PSD or Rookie draft our spine is set and (read my post on PSD picks and the like) and Ruckmen will be solved for a decade or more.

Do it Miller and Jackson.

2008 National draft - KEEP A CLOSE EYE ON THESE 2 PLAYERS.
Michael Hurley (VM) Gun Spine player.

Chris Yarran. (W.A) Think Motlop, Steve Johnson, Alan Didak all in one.

Would love 2 first round picks next year to select these boys.

Woah... My head is spinning at our developing side coming through.

Both of these players are better than Naitanui, Rich et.al... by a very long way in my opinion.

Hurley is a future Stephen Kernahan type. And a future Captain.

I love Hurley nearly as much as I loved Rance this season.
grin.gif

One down One to go... Do it Miller / Jackson.

yeah i read that somewhere else today - was he eligible for the ND? as i saw his name mentioned in newspaper articles
He was elligible for the ND because he was bottom aged.

Players who are born after April, 1990 aren't able to be rookied or taken in the PSD (I think?)

i'd have to think carlton would be keen on either of gourdis and bellchambers as well - surely they would be keen on a quick marking CHF or a big tap ruckman

would be surprised if bellchambers is still there at rookie draft.

Gourdis would be handy, but I don't think Bellchambers would be on our radar anymore.

Word is Ryley Dunn, Aaron Joseph are firming as our PSD pick - unless there is something better on offer.

I expect the Tigers to take Gourdis.

Collard will end up at the Roos.

Keep an eye on Ben Rutten, I believe he has not signed with Adelaide yet and the list lodgment is only 2 days away.;):cool:

Preferred option would be to go with Gourdis in the PSD, then take Collard, Sullivan, Silvester and Horne or Gazzo in the Rookie draft. Think that would be a great off season effort by our recruiters.

Gourdis would be handy, but I don't think Bellchambers would be on our radar anymore.

Word is Ryley Dunn, Aaron Joseph are firming as our PSD pick - unless there is something better on offer.

I expect the Tigers to take Gourdis.

Collard will end up at the Roos.

i think ryley dunn would be a good pick up for carlton in the rookie draft - had some injury issues, but if they can get over those he will be a good player

the more i look at it the more i think we should have delisted a few more players and taken a few more in the National draft

possibly ashley mcgrath, clayton collard, darren pfeiffer, belchambers and gourdis will all be available in the PSD - and all those blokes are probably better prospects on our list than the likes of hyde and white. even angus graham perhaps should have remained on the rookie list, just so we had more chance to place someone on the list.

does anyone know if Ash mcgrath has signed yet?

the more i look at it the more i think we should have delisted a few more players and taken a few more in the National draft

possibly ashley mcgrath, clayton collard, darren pfeiffer, belchambers and gourdis will all be available in the PSD - and all those blokes are probably better prospects on our list than the likes of hyde and white. even angus graham perhaps should have remained on the rookie list, just so we had more chance to place someone on the list.

does anyone know if Ash mcgrath has signed yet?
Why the **** would he want to play for Richmond. We are shit!!!!!!

Being reported today that Ash McGrath is about to re-sign with Brisbane for a year.

Really wanted to get home to his sick dad, but the fear of an unsympathetic Victorian club picking him up appears to have scared him into signing.

Being reported today that Ash McGrath is about to re-sign with Brisbane for a year.

Really wanted to get home to his sick dad, but the fear of an unsympathetic Victorian club picking him up appears to have scared him into signing.

Carlton, Melbourne or Bulldogs?

I think our sympathy with McMahon's situation showed we arent unsympathetic.

he should re-sign - it would be ridiculous to expect Melbourne clubs to pass up a good talent like Ash out of "sympathy".

In reality, Brisbane should have arranged a trade for him to go to Perth in the trade period - it's their responsibility to do the right thing by their players - not the Melbourne clubs. (even if it was a trade to freo for Collard - two similar types)

shame, he won't be in the PSD though - i like how he plays and he would have been a good crumber option for us.