Our rookie draft selections

Originally posted by ImperialPurple
Is that official?? When? That sucks.

I agree.... I have always supported the mighty West Perth Falcons... who are Joondalup anyway?

I am starting to worry about this consistant level of agreement I have with you Imperial...

Its doing my head in....

Originally posted by Sera
Not called West Perth anymore, called Joondalup :(

Look I'm not a West perth supporter so what I say is not emotionally tied ( which is not a bad thing in football). But surely if you relocate then why not be called the Joondalup Falcons.
I'm sure it was worst when they changed from the Cardinals to the Falcons and Fitzroy Lions to Brisbane Bears to the mor acceptable Brisbane( where they are) Lions.
Sera is this official?

Originally posted by southjoy
Look I'm not a West perth supporter so what I say is not emotionally tied ( which is not a bad thing in football). But surely if you relocate then why not be called the Joondalup Falcons.
I'm sure it was worst when they changed from the Cardinals to the Falcons and Fitzroy Lions to Brisbane Bears to the mor acceptable Brisbane( where they are) Lions.
Sera is this official?

I'm not a West Perth supporter either (so you're safe on that count bankteller), but I reckon just because they are now playing out of a different area, they shouldn't change their name.
They are West Perth and always have been. Why change?

(OK, I'll admit to having a very soft spot for the cardies... ever since Brian Adamson told me that I kicked and marked better than the boys I was playing kick to kick with at the time. It was about 1980 (the year the Mighty Bulldogs won the flag) and I was about 11. It is possible to feel "quite strongly" for your second team!!)

Originally posted by Sera
Yep, it's official. Last time they tried it was over-turned but I can't see that happening again this time... :(

I think you'll find that they are still the West Perth FC trading as the Joondalup Falcons.

Originally posted by YAKUZA
I think you'll find that they are still the West Perth FC trading as the Joondalup Falcons.

As a West Perth fan, I can assure you that the singing next year will revolve around the shouting of "West Perth!", rather than "Joon-da-lup cha-cha-cha" or some gay variant. Not happy with the way the board sneaked that one through. Joondalup Council would need to come up with a lot of money in sponsorship (fat chance of that in their current situation) to convince us apprentice diehards. (And hello to Waltzing Woof Biscuit, if you're still listening).

Originally posted by YAKUZA

They can put any spin on it they want but it won't work. Its like saying we are changing from the West Coast Eagles to the Perth Eagles but its OK because we are still Indian Pacific. It doesn't matter what the company name is, it matters what the football club is called... the team name the supporters barrack for...

Originally posted by Voice of Reason
Joondalup Council would need to come up with a lot of money in sponsorship...

Joondalup Council and their Liberal cronies were just sacked en masse. I wouldn't be counting on anything just atm...

We must be seriously considering rookie listing a player from over east. West Coast communications manager Gary Stocks claimed that the Eagles would not rule out taking a player outside the club's training grounds or even W.A.

Players who did not get drafted:

Jacob Surjan
Will Gayfer
Aaron Davey
Ben Clifton
Jake Furfaro
Adam Hartlett
Joel Campbell
Dylan Pfitzner
Brett Jones
Chris Stewart
Paul Duffield
Brett Robinson
Ben Cosgriff
Michael Johnson
Dylan Harper
Craig Jovanovic
Jarrod Silvester
Andrew Ericksen
Luke Jackson
Robert Douglas
Brent Hartigan
Phillip Georgios
Jeremy Everett
Luke Buckland
Nathan Foley
Jarrod Kayler-Thomson
Pat Travers
Shaun Daly
Matthew Sharkey
Rowan Williams
Nick Potter
Rowan Bonson
Ronald Smith
Darren Rochford
Lachlan Smith
Brett Robinson
Murray Boyd
Cameron Gauci
Clint Dubieniecki
Stephen Kenna

Duffield would be the better option if we were looking at a bit of game time for next year whereas Surjan is a longer term prospect. With Matera getting older Surjan might be a good replacement down the track. I like the idea of drafting someone like Furfaro, Gayfer or Cosgriff simply because I believe they could have an impact next year, given the right environment. I would also like to see us take some taller players such as Hunt, Clifton, Pfitzner or Johnson just on the off chance they develop into a decent player.

Jacob Surjan

Details:
Club: South Coogee/South Fremantle
DOB: 15 Aug 85 Hgt: 179cm Wgt: 75kg
Position: Onballer/Half Forward Flank
Natural foot: Left

Honours:
Westen Australia 2003
National Draft Camp Invitee 2003

Profile:
Fairly small onballer who loves to go forward and kick the impossible goal. Surjan has been touted as a top 10 pick by some people, I'm not sure if he worth that much but he should definitely be picked up.

Had a pretty good carnival for WA, in particular the first game against Vic Country at the G. Both of his goals were fantastic snaps, really knows how to find the big sticks. He always looks dangerous with the ball and is so elusive he would be hard to close down.

Jacob hits the ball at pace and also has a massive leap on him for someone not that tall. Took one of the marks of the carnival against SA. He is very good at reading the play in close, just one of those kids who knows where the footy will end up.

Some great results at draft camp, number 1 for agility and in the top 10 for the sprint and vertical leap. Like Farren Ray, he probably needs a little bit of time in the gym and to work on his defensive game, but he looks a pretty good prospect.

Paul Duffield

Details:
Club: West Authur/South Fremantle
DOB: 5 Feb 85 Hgt: 185cm Wgt: 80kg
Position: Flanker
Natural foot: Right

Honours:
Western Australia 2003
Half Back Flank in WAFL Colts Team of the Year
National Draft Camp Invitee 2003

Profile:
Duffield is a flanker who played at either end of the ground for WA in the carnival. He was easy to spot in his lairy white boots.

Paul was a solid performer, showing flashes of class at times. He had a very good ability to find space where there was none, and he was always very balanced when disposing of the footy. His disposal by foot was very good.

Kicked a nice goal from the pocket against Vic Country.

I don't believe that in most cases the club recruits a rookie to have an impact next year. It has to be a longer term (2 years out) proposition that they are worth promoting to the main list. A late developer perhaps, such as a large ruckman who needs time to learn the role (eg Cox and maybe Beeck).

I have no idea who it would be this year. Don't know what happened with Surjan - everyone had him taken in the draft, except the clubs.

Originally posted by Voice of Reason
I don't believe that in most cases the club recruits a rookie to have an impact next year. It has to be a longer term (2 years out) proposition that they are worth promoting to the main list. A late developer perhaps, such as a large ruckman who needs time to learn the role (eg Cox and maybe Beeck).

Historically, the Rookie list was there mainly for "projects" and also in case you had an appalling run that season (i.e. heaps of medium-long term injuries in your main list). Because of the much smaller "salaries" to rookies, you could afford to take that 6'6" beanpole who might never put on the necessary weight or, if he did, might lose the athleticism, say, that appealed to you. You accepted that the kid may very well never make it and, even if he did, it would probably take some years but you felt he had good upside that made the relatively low risk worthwhile. Similarly for a shorter player who had significant deficiencies (maybe even just being tiny) at the time but who you thought he might be a chance once he gained experience and had worked on his defiencies and had had a chance to show form against men. So, theoretically, the "best available" doesn't have to be "immediately available / ready to play". A kid could be deemed "best available" because he is considered to have greater upside / potential, especially in the context of the type of player your list needs, down the track than someone else who will "mature" much earlier but is deemed to have less potential.

However, if we look at what has changed since the early days of the Rookie List:-

1. Main lists are shorter so you don't need so many injuries before you may need to call up a rookie to cover the immediate long-term injury hole(s). By definition, such a rookie needs to be at least able to step up immediately without being an embarrassment.

2. Recent changes to the veteran rule enable a team with fewer that 2 vets to elevate a nominate rookie(s) at the start of the season to be on the main list all that year. Obviously the only rookies who could be used would have to be pretty much ready, especially physically. That rules out the beanpole project rookie.

3. Footy has become somewhat akin to "scrumby". With serious flooding and a floating scrum of 16-22 plays at stop plays, there is greater requirement now for a player to be a "strong body" build. That is not the description of a typical Rookie from earlier years.

4. Costs of developing players have risen enormously. Coaching staff sizes (and cost) have risen enormously. A Rookie still takes up his proportion (maybe more) of their time and overhead cost. Ditto for Player Welfare, Football Manager, etc staff.

5. Monies directly attributed to Rookies have also increased.

Of these 5 factors, the most important are the first 3.

In short, you can still afford to have traditional project rookies but you must also balance it with virtual "ready to run" options.

There should always be a place on a Rookie List for a project. However, the Rooke List is no longer just a virtual nursery. It should now be seen as very much a resource for the season. Some clubs seem to have embraced this paradigm shift in player list management more than some other clubs have.

Thought an inside midfielder like Bentick would be more along the lines of Freo's wishlist. I really like his work ethic but his speed would be of a little concern.

There's no such entity as Joondalup - never has been, never will be.

There's only ever been West Perth - the mighty fighting Cardies.

Anything else is utter heresy.

I invoke the names of Dempsey, Whinnen, Fong, Menaglio, Knell, Duckworth, Dyson, O'Dwyer, Watling, Harris, Trewellha and a legion of champions as testimony to that fact.

Duffield has better skills than Surjan and not such a big head
but you guys dont have to worry cause he will probably end up at Geelong or Fremantle.

Originally posted by Exeter

There's only ever been West Perth - the mighty fighting Cardies.

Anything else is utter heresy.

I invoke the names of Dempsey, Whinnen, Fong, Menaglio, Knell, Duckworth, Dyson, O'Dwyer, Watling, Harris, Trewellha and a legion of champions as testimony to that fact.

Joondie Woondies. Nah nah na na nah.

Originally posted by Exeter

Just as there is no such entity as:

The Kangaroos
Brisbane Lions

Years down the track they will be saying, West who... never heard of them.

You will get used to it, old man.

Not only is there no such entity as Joondalup, I've yet to see compelling evidence that the so called "City of Joondalup" exists.
It's chimera in the mind of some deranged urban planner.

"Never give in--never, never, never, never, in nothing great or small, large or petty, never give in except to convictions of honour and good sense. Never yield to force; never yield to the apparently overwhelming might of the enemy."

Our rookie draft selections