Over 50's Clique - Nostalgia, Memorabilia, Reflection and Opinion for the Mature Lion.

To answer your questions, I'm expecting big things in 2018 from Matt Eagles - reminds me a bit of Johnny Duckworth - and Claye Beams, just 'cos brothers often make each other play better (Graham Osborne was a better player than he's given credit for IMO)

I hope he can kick it like Duckworth.

Yeah, I remember a game at the Junction against Richmond. The tiges had heard he could kick it a fair way and they congregated around the centre after a behind. Three times in row from the main scoreboard end, Ducky lobbed it at CHF on the fly from the kickout.

Going to see Paul McCartney tonight at AAMI Park. He has been granted Life Membership of the Over 50's Clique in recognition of his stage times, which are particularly sensitive to the needs of the 'mature' rock fan. Doors open at 5.00pm and on stage at 7.00pm.

We went years ago when he played at the MCG in '93...

...it was packed, but happened to just take a look around our immediate area and sitting 2 rows behind me was a favorite cousin I hadn't seen for 15yrs+. That added to the enjoyment of the night.

The concert was brilliant, absolutely brilliant. Not sure he'll still be as good, we watched a concert a few years back and he seemed quite out of tune.

...but you can give your opinion, will be interested to hear how it went.

Mr MM calls himself a Beatles officiado....at least once a day, he'll play one of their songs, to the point I've gone off them!

Enjoy!!:thumbsu:

We went years ago when he played at the MCG in '93...

...it was packed, but happened to just take a look around our immediate area and sitting 2 rows behind me was a favorite cousin I hadn't seen for 15yrs+. That added to the enjoyment of the night.

The concert was brilliant, absolutely brilliant. Not sure he'll still be as good, we watched a concert a few years back and he seemed quite out of tune.

...but you can give your opinion, will be interested to hear how it went.

Mr MM calls himself a Beatles officiado....at least once a day, he'll play one of their songs, to the point I've gone off them!

Enjoy!!:thumbsu:
I always thought you were more of a Rolling Stones girl.

I saw him with Wings at the Myer Music Bowl in 70 or 71. I think it was the "Venus and Mars" tour. Not really a Wings fan, but it was free (like most of the concerts I've been to)

I always thought you were more of a Rolling Stones girl.

Not so much in the 60's.....didn't start to like them until years later. Reminiscing I think they call it!;)

Like quite a few of their songs ... but I reckon they'll drop on stage one day! Time to give it away.

I was more into the Aussie singers/bands e.g. Merv Benton:hearts:, EasyBeats, Billy Thorpe, Dinah Lee etc..

:D:thumbsu:..yep, one of my favorites. Love Under the Boardwalk and Little Red Rooster too.

How was the concert? A huge success according to the paper.

Wow, sounds a fantastic night again....that was a terrific write-up too. He sure knows how to put on a show!

We've had a music morning this morning. Mr MM has played all the oldies, Beatles, Wings, Stones and EasyBeats.

My personal favorite overall bands would be EasyBeats, BeeGees and Abba. (much to Mr MM's disgust!) oh, and ACDC with Bon Scott, wasn't keen at all after he died.

Interesting discussion on Eagles with some saying that he won't make it. Personally I think that he will get a chance and could be a solid player. He has agression which is a key attribute.

There's been many players over the years that play better in the top team and I think that the Lions will just have to try and see.

Wandering down the corridor at work and overheard the man loading up the snack machine mention Fitzroy to a colleague. Naturally I stopped and joined the conversation and ended up having a good chat to a very friendly and fit looking Jim Christou (Fitzroy 1972 - 1976). After Fitzroy, Christou went on to have a stellar career at Port Melbourne. He also managed to squeeze some District Cricket for Northcote into his sporting career. He explained how Kevin ‘Bulldog’ Murray got his nickname. Very funny. Great to see another Royboy out and about.

Just making my way back from Tassie on the Ferry. Had a great two weeks touring around. Did Corinna, Huen Valley, Hobart and finished up in George Town. Saw Brad Green back in his home town and out to dinner with his wife, kids and what I presume were his extended family and friends. Geez he still looked like he could play. Looked very well. Never minded him as a player and admired his loyalty as a one club man. Got me thinking and I hope as many of our young guns as possible become 200 + gamers at Brisbane. If they do, we are set for an amazing decade at the Brisbane Lions. On other matters, apparently it’s been hot in Melbourne. ☀️

Sounds like you had a really good break. We keep saying we are going over there, just never seem to get there.
You should do it. Tassie is beautiful.

Gday guys n gals ....lets enjoy a great 2018. I have found that after watching videos on the lions.com site, the highlight package comes up for our number 1 draft selection.........does anyone see a similarity in Raynor to one finalist specialist...... D. McMahon?

It'll be six years before Rayner can grow a mo like Macca's

I
Yeah, I remember a game at the Junction against Richmond. The tiges had heard he could kick it a fair way and they congregated around the centre after a behind. Three times in row from the main scoreboard end, Ducky lobbed it at CHF on the fly from the kickout.
I wonder if that was the game Sheedy allegedly kicked Dean Farnham in the knee and ended his short yet very tall VFL career.

Wandering down the corridor at work and overheard the man loading up the snack machine mention Fitzroy to a colleague. Naturally I stopped and joined the conversation and ended up having a good chat to a very friendly and fit looking Jim Christou (Fitzroy 1972 - 1976). After Fitzroy, Christou went on to have a stellar career at Port Melbourne. He also managed to squeeze some District Cricket for Northcote into his sporting career. He explained how Kevin ‘Bulldog’ Murray got his nickname. Very funny. Great to see another Royboy out and about.
Pls explain

I

I wonder if that was the game Sheedy allegedly kicked Dean Farnham in the knee and ended his short yet very tall VFL career.
Could have been, although Ducky had been playing for us for a while before Farnham went down in '75. Can't say I remember the incident, though. It was a very tall career, wasn't it?

I think the funniest thing I ever saw at the footy - aside from Gary Wilson cleaning up Jim Jess - was in round 17, 1983, at the Junction. Fitzroy lost to St Kilda 138 to 149 (don't worry, my memory's not that good; I looked it up, including the round number), but I'll never forget this.
Down in the members' side forward pocket at the cricket scoreboard end, Saints ruckman Alan Sidebottom grabbed the ball from a boundary throw-in and heard a call. It must have been a pet name or nickname he knew well, because he just turned and blindly handpassed towards the voice. Standing in the Lions goalsquare with no-one within 15 metres was one Gary Sidebottom, who gratefully accepted the ball and duly goaled from 1 metre. He gave his brother a thank you and a nice round of applause. I don't think I've ever seen anyone quite as angry as Alan was at that moment. Reading this now it doesn't seem as funny as I remember it. Maybe you had to be there; but I was, and it was REALLY funny.