Ricky_15

south dragons
Can someone convince me and make me feel happy with out picks this year?

I am stoked with picks 1 and 17.

But angry we didnt take Trengove or Lisle at 19.

Also not so happy with Jetta at 51 when Michael Walter was availible.

Tell me guys why i should be happy with strauss and jetta?

otherwise im feeling good about the future

Yes you should be happy. We got an awesome mix of pace and skill. I'm ecstatic.

Our midfield is going to be so good in 3/4 years time.

Rebuilding our football club is going to take more than one draft. We have rectified a couple of really big weakness in this draft which is leg speed and foot skills. We will look to draft more KP next year and continue to build. Pick 1, 17 and 19 were excellent. Jetta at 51 could be a steal. I must say I was hoping we would take Cornelius but overall we have done well.

So Juice and Miller might not be the greastest forwards and it would have been nice to get Shoen or someone to back up Watts, but hey with 5 quick running players we can get it down to them quick enough that we can kick a big score. No more sideways running backward kicking Cam Bruce!

As for why Jetta over Walters I'm not sure, but if you look at Jetta's highlights he probably has a bit more physicality and marking ability.

I'm also not sure about Strauss, but hey atleast the dude can kick!!! Put's him ahead of half our team.

The number 1 weakness on our list might still big key forwards but we took one with the number 1 pick.

Also our rucks are average, but good ruckman don't grow on trees and at least our rucks aren't horrible. Could be an area to look for in the PSD draft and rookie draft.

But Jetta will most likely play his football in the forward line as a crumbing forward and with wona, maric and davey. will he make our side ?

I am reasonably happy but I think we have unnecessarily missed out on at least one more good tall whether it be a ruck or KPP forward. Pace and skills are great in the mids we got but Watts was really the only tall we got out of 6 picks. We got one or two smalls who are a bit unknown and may not make it in future at AFL level at the expense of a tall who probably would make it. Either way, the club outlined a strategy and they stuck with it.

Originally I wasn't overly excited about the idea of drafting Jetta, but he does look a quality player. He's quite athletic, a good kick and seems to have a really good defensive side to his game, i think he could play back, midfield or forward. I actually think Jetta will end up playing more as a running defender or midfielder rather than a Small Forward, which is good cause we needed a couple of those...

I do think Jetta was a better pick than Walters TBH, seems to have better athleticism, and i don't know, Neville seems a really determined kid and can really add to our side defensively as well as creatively...

I don't know much about Bennell, but obviously he's very talented, West Coast would've picked him at 36 i'm led to believe.

Rohan Bail is from left-field, but he looks like another quick outside type which is good, came from the same side Dayne Beams played for.

I'm really happy with Blease, but I was surprised like many others that we didn't go for a McKernan or Trengrove at 19, but yeah Strauss does look quality though, and addresses our MF needs..

Obviously J Watts is a freak so stoked to get him...

Overall, pretty happy, but would have liked another KPP...

I cannot understand for the life of me why we continue to draft these 179-182cm small forwards/midfielders, when it's quite obvious we need as many KPP as possible. I'm actually surprised we didn't target a ruckman as well. I don't know whats going on down there..:confused:

Strauss and Blease, yes you should be happy.

Thought you may have taken Redden instead of Jetta, in saying that Jetta is a bloody good player, just thought you might have wanted a ruckman.
Yeah i thought the same, i rate Jetta and i thought he'd go 3rd round so 4th round was a good get, but at the same time i'm bemused as to why we think we didn't find it necesary to pick up a ruckman, especially with Redden available there.

My only explanation is that either Bailey has a lot more faith in Meese coming good then we collective do (and even that's not much, or the more likely that they think Spencer will develop next year

I'm pretty happy with the draft, glad we got Blease and Strauss looks pretty handy. We needed speed and skill and we got plenty of it. Maybe could have used another KPF, but we still have the rookie draft and the preseason.

With 4 rucks on the list,. it might have been a good idea not to get one this year, and if one of Meesan or Jamar struggle next year, they can be delisted and we can draft one then.

I cannot understand for the life of me why we continue to draft these 179-182cm small forwards/midfielders, when it's quite obvious we need as many KPP as possible. I'm actually surprised we didn't target a ruckman as well. I don't know whats going on down there..:confused:
I'm also surprised we didn't invest in a ruckman, but I'm not too worried about not getting another key forward or back, because they are no use if they are no good. With 5 promising key defenders Trengove at 19 would have been a bit of a waste, and I'm not sure what big forwards we should have snapped up, maybe McKernan but I don't rate him.

As for all the small blokes, I think we haven't gone too overboard. Maric and Wona can play forward whilst Davey and Jetta are more midfielders in the future. We certainly need the skill and pace. Collingwood work it pretty well with Thomas, Didak, Neon Leon and others in a rotation.

I'm also surprised we didn't invest in a ruckman, but I'm not too worried about not getting another key forward or back, because they are no use if they are no good. With 5 promising key defenders Trengove at 19 would have been a bit of a waste, and I'm not sure what big forwards we should have snapped up, maybe McKernan but I don't rate him.

As for all the small blokes, I think we haven't gone too overboard. Maric and Wona can play forward whilst Davey and Jetta are more midfielders in the future. We certainly need the skill and pace. Collingwood work it pretty well with Thomas, Didak, Neon Leon and others in a rotation.
Yeah good points, but iv'e just found in the last 2-3 drafts we havent drafted enough bigger body players that we would have liked... We should have really set our sights on getting KPP this draft.

I'm happy - yet apprehensive. Having seriously blown Craig Cameron in the last few years, I for one, am not going to celebrate picks that are yet to see park time.

However, its a very faint silver lining to such a shit 2008 season to get Watts.

I reckon if you get 3 good players out of a draft you are happy. You would think and hope that our first 3 players will be that plus more. If we get 1 or 2 from the last 3 picks its a bonus. The two aboriginal boys are around 180cm. At their pace that is not to bad. We have at least drafted players to the game style we are trying to play. I do agree we need mor KP but it is going to take 3-5 years to rebuild our list. We will not win the flag ext year, probably bottom 2 or 3 so we will get access to more KP talent next year and there are some beauties. If Bennell becomes like a Wirra or Johncock we will be very happy. At least we have some players who can break lines and finish with the pill. Nathan Jones for example becomes a lot better player I feel with players like Blease, Grimes, Strauss and possibly Jetta to give it to.

I'm very happy.

The club addressed two main areas we need improvement on and drafted to them (Pace and skill). Watts was a given, it isn't like we only drafted him because he plays KP forward, the kid is a freak.

Overall Happy? I AM FREAKING ECSTATIC!

JACK WATTS= Perfect replacement for Neita! Could possibly be captain someday just like the great man.

SAM BLEASE/ JAMES STRAUSS= Footskills and Pace injected into our midfield, which compliments Baileys style of play.

JAMIE BENNELL= Haven't been able to find any footage of him (if anyone has found some can you please post). But if he lives up to the johncock tag some people have given him, he will a very handy pickup for our defense.

NEVILLE JETTA= Absolute steal at 51. The thing that gets me excited about Nev is the fact he has a bit of mongrel in him, a small fella but would take on blokes twice his size. We need a bit of mongrel in the team and Jetta can bring that.

ROHAN BAIL- If he isn't playing round 1 i will be very surprised. Looking cherry ripe and itching to play some senior footy at the highest level!

NEVILLE JETTA= Absolute steal at 51. The thing that gets me excited about Nev is the fact he has a bit of mongrel in him, a small fella but would take on blokes twice his size. We need a bit of mongrel in the team and Jetta can bring that.
Agree with your mongrel statement, laid some ripper bumps in those vids:thumbsu:

If anything we'll be a bloody exciting team to watch in the coming years. I spose we just have to sit back and watch but i feel we could have grapped a good KPP but chose a smaller, quicker player instead. Whether this pays of or not we'll wait and see.

We can get another gun KPF next year, no point getting an average one when there is a quality midfielder available. It's all a part of the plan.

super happy with our picks, would have thought we would have gone some more talls but the pace we now have looks fantastic the clips of Blease and Strauss are amazing seeing all those strauss to watts gets me excited. I also think melbourne have done really well with aboriginal kids in the past so looking forward to hear more about these kids in the near future. looking forward to 2009 and seeing how these kids come along

I was very suprised St.kilda chose Lynch at pick 13, i rate Blease higher than Lynch.

I think the Saints wanted a player that was ready to go, as they think they're close to winning a flag..

Lynch will probably step straight into the Saints lineup and will have an impact, whereas Bleasey will probably take a bit more time to come through for us (although I agree that Blease looks like the player with bigger potential of the two...)