Overrated Food Items

• Thread starter Thread starter DTRAIN87

Nutella (Don't hate it but really sweet and the way everyone raves about it is ridiculous)
Nando's (Nice but way overpriced for what you are getting)
KFC (Used to be good but as above)
Krispy Kreme (I like all donuts but there is nothing extrordinary about these. gimme a jam filled choc with sprinkles anyday)
Licorice (disgusting. really the only food i genuinely don't like)

I'm sure I will think of more

eggplant, broad beans, mushrooms, spinach/silverbeet, squash, grapes, olives and as Mantis said, McChucks, HJs, Red Rooter, KFC etc.

Thai dishes that are full of coconut cream / milk.

Crayfish / lobster too, much prefer yabbies.

Most of the stuff is semi-normal but just cooked in an excessively finicky way.

Like for example when he cooks mashed potatoes he has a special probe to ensure that the water stays at an exact temperature. He also cooks them twice, at two different temperatures, chilling them in between and changing the water and saucepan. He has all sorts of scientific justifications for this, but at the end of the day you basically have mashed spuds that took three times as long to make.

He had friends over for Melbourne Cup Day and bought a special mould to make gelatin strawberry balls that look like salmon roe to go in the girls' champagne. Apparently took him all morning and made a complete mess of the kitchen. He was boasting to me how much they tasted like real strawberries and I asked him why he didn't just use real strawberries and save himself the angst. He looked at me like I was some kind of neanderthal.

I have to say that I am more from the Jamie Oliver 30 Minute Meals school of cooking, so perhaps some of the nuances are lost on me.

The way he cooks chips is great though, most of what he does is utter crap but par boiling and double frying is where it is at

wagyu beef

Angus..... proper Black Angus is good in steak form if its from a good farm ect.

this shit being passed off as some sort of "Angus" half breed in maccas, HJ's every other burger place is carp, not Angus and probably just as average as every other beef you buy without some loose breeding to make it some strain of "Angus".

even worse, good grain/grass free range beef is great doesnt have to be "Angus" just good and aged properly ect

Lamb, nothing wrong with it, but not as good as beef, i mean roast and burger ect beef is better but frowned upon, has the fat and the flavour and the age imo

I don't really understand the whole 'wagyu' process, but there is a massive difference between the wagyu beef you get at the pub and the wagyu you get in a fancy restaurant.

I have never had it, but everybody tells me shabu-shabu is massively overrated. Despite it tasting great the price is astronomical, and it seems to be mostly limited to corporate hospitality because nobody actually wants to fork out for it out of their own pocket.

You know what? I hate people who worry about calorie intake. I hate people who fret about kilojoules. If it tastes good friggen EAT IT.
But everything tastes good. :(

Risottos can be horrible, gluey things. But a good risotto is amazing. Shame they're so full of kilojoules.

Reckon you can pretty accurately judge a restaurant on the basis of its risotto.
Had THE best steamy risotto when I was on tour in Europe. Just amazing.

I also despise energy drinks and people who drink them every day.

Yeah do not understand energy drinks - The only time I ever drink them is on long haul drives (Adel to Melb/ Melb to Syd etc) which would account for a couple of drinks a year (if that) -

Years ago I bought a 6 pack of vodka-energy drinks at the bottle-o because they were only $10 and I was broke and I don't think I fully realised they were just red bull mixed with vodka - It was the most f*cked night of my life.. I only drank three of them then spent the rest of the night having heart pulpitations thinking I was going to have a heart attack or something... truly awful...

There is a guy in my politics class at uni who has a giant 500 ml can of mother EVERY time I see him - We had to do a group assignment together... he is nuts. Seriously reminds me of Tweak from South Park (the one who drinks too much coffee) - He's only young (maybe 20, 21- ) so I guess he is still ignorant but these habits are going to be hard for him to break....

On an unrelated (i think) note, he is a fully fledged and signed up young Liberal - Loves Abbott, and ran in the student union elections for environmental officer on an anti-recycling compaign... (glass and aluminium is ok, but paper and cardboard is inefficient and only survives on govt subsidies.. according to him) -

to his credit, sort of, he never expected to win the spot, i think he was just filling out the ticket so that the conservative group (ironically named 'Action!') had someone running for every spot -