Owners

I know us Aussies love ourselves a good Parma, but how about some pasta to go with it? Guido Barilla has taken over the club.
Just to be clear, I should say that my comment was not at all intended to come across as a criticism of either of you guys, so I hope you didn't take it that way! You guys clearly know your stuff and I do try to read bits and pieces (when I can set aside an hour or two :p)! Post away!

Well, glad to see that you're getting some kicks out of it. I'd like to think there's something in there for everyone, including developments that are only going to come up later. (Like a guaranteed Euro and WC spot for League D teams, meaning all glory to Lithuania!)

...I just post in here to make it look like I'm doing something as a mod. :D

By the way Fryer, will try and respond to your latest post today if I can. Last few weeks have been brutal! :)

And may I say you're doing a bang up job, Mr Mod? Lol.

Looking forward to it! In the meanwhile, let us rejoice that Parma has officially completed its rebirth as Parma Calcio 1913. It should be noted that there was competition to resurrect the club: http://www.foxsports.com/soccer/sto...d=625768896960708608&adbpl=tw&adbpr=119593082

barilla_guido220508_adn-400x300.jpg

You may know him best for well... Barilla pasta:
BARILLA%20PASTA.jpg

The official pasta supplier of Parma FC, look for the new spaghetti bar to hit stores:
27096_spaghetti_bar.jpg

In the case you didn't get it, Barilla is a product of Parma, so the club is not only locally owned, but is backed by a very big brand as well. Ticks all the boxes for the local club, but can they get back up there like Fiorentina?

The president of the club is this grump old man:
R25hD.jpg

Yep, Nevio Scala, the man that made Parma one of Italy's Big 7. What actually interests me is that he's actually younger than Guus Hiddink, but unlike Guus, Scala gave up the management game in 2004. He wouldn't look out of place as manager, but I guess his appointment would be like giving the manager position to Gary Lineker. Yes, he wanted to return to coaching, but he was happy with his position as a pundit. No matter, it should be interesting to see how Parma fare in their club back up to Serie A.

Oyston responds:

http://www.blackpoolfc.co.uk/news/article/response-to-bst-proposal-2575395.aspx

It is a week after the deadline, but a response has been given. To be fair, there are some valid points in there from Oyston, like what exactly are their plans for the football club? Is it more than just merely 'saving' the club from the Oyston family? I mean, what would be the worse fate, letting your club be run like it is under the Oystons? Or letting your club die since you're unable to pitch in the required funds?

At the same time, Oyston does use past references for what he has done and claims he has done more for the club that just buy it out for a measly pound, such as clearing the debts. That falls flat when you see the current state of the club. One can't hang onto old achievements if the club's running is amateur (see the state of the ground and the fact they can barely supply kits to their players).

It does raise an interesting point considering the state of the English game. As noted in our look at all the fan owned clubs in the country, the highest ranked of these clubs are Portsmouth and Wimbledon, and even then it's a real struggle to avoid relegation. The notion of fan-owned clubs is an admirable one, but considering how much money is leaking down the pyramid, it seems that unless a wealthy fan donates a lot (and would likely take over the club anyway), that club will have an extremely tough time maintaining their position never mind climbing up the ranks. With the new TV deal on the way, it could make it an even harder slog. As things stand, it will be virtually impossible for Porthsmouth and Wimbledon to ever see the Championship let alone the Premier League.

Blackpool are at the crossroads. League 1 now, and they certainly don't look like promotion contenders. If the Fans Trust were to step in, could they actually afford to keep the club in League 1? Then again, how much care does Oyston have for the club? It almost seems like it is out of pure spite now, making it slow and painful without actually killing off the club.

Let us hope the Fans Trust do have some serious plans to not only take back their club, but to make it a successful one as well. It also should be important to note the progress of Blackpool if they become a fan owned club, because they will become the highest ranked club, and with a competitive league like League 1, it's going to be a very brave fight. If they want any chance of getting back up, they really need to be promoted this season somehow, because that gap between Championship and League 1 is going to really widen up.

You are correct, they have a basketball team which is a part of the Greek Basket League. Since they are a good enough team, they also take part in the Eurobasket. Their rivals Panathianakios is also in the Euro Basket. Honestly, if you look at the Eurobasket, you have to think twice if you were viewing the football or the basketball, because many of the teams are named after their football clubs.

Maybe you guys are just too passionate to just completely break away, and well, like you said, it is their club regardless of who owns it. And there you are Gateshead is the best you guys can use as a substitute. Manchester have a lot of good teams in its area. Bolton, Wigan, Bury, Rochdale, Oldham, and that’s just those in the FL. Liverpool only have Tranmere.

Ah, now that I can see that… although isn’t that like choosing to live in East Richmond because that was the closest you could get to Richmond, or supporting North Melbourne because, no, I won’t finish that, lol. It’s too bad, if you waited only a season more, you could’ve played as the proper Stirling (Stirling Albion), since they have been relegated and are now playing in League 2. Ah… well, though technically speaking, I don’t think that’s cheating since they should be professional now. Then again, you’re meant to be supporting the Rangers, not William Wallace East! Lol.

LOL. You moved Tynecastle to Wales?! Now why did you do that? Lol. I mean, Tynecastle is actually closer to Belfast, Northern Ireland than Wrexham. Actually, I think Dundalk, Ireland is closer than Wrexham. That’s like having a Brunei sending a team to Malaysia or Singapore… oh wait, DPMM, lol. Oh god, I’ve just seen this… you know where exactly Tynecastle is in? An area called Gorgie… which means, you could call them Gorgies! Lol. Is it me, or does Tynecastle really want to be part of Newcastle? Lol. May I ask how did that little adventure go?

It’s actually more their broadcaster, or well, lack of. You see, for the longest time, Liechtenstein never had their own broadcaster, which is one of the requirements of Eurovision. To sum it up, San Marino and Andorra has their own TV stations, the Vatican City has their TV station, and only in 2008, did Liechtenstein finally get its own TV Station (1FTV). Of course, that’s not enough, the broadcaster must be part of the European Broadcasting Union. Guess what? 1FTV had no interest in getting membership. In fact, over the years, funding has been a problem, which is why they never took part. Just so you know, if the Vatican ever decided they want to send a contestant to Eurovision (Which won’t happen on religious grounds) they would have no problems. In a lot of aspects, Lietechstein just seems to be a very ‘cheap’ country. I’ve already mentioned they’re the only nation without a league, which means their teams can never compete in the Champions League, even if Vaduz wins the Swiss League. The weird thing is, Liechtenstein can actually do alright on a league and international basis (As things stand, they’ve gotten points in half of their games), it’s just it seems they’re rather content with what they have, because why do an inferior job yourself when you can get the best of German, Swiss, Austrian, and Italian goods? Then again, I think pre-2008, I think it's very clear why Liechtenstein didn't have a league. Then again, it's a small country, go out there an watch your team!

Maybe I should replace Israel with Australia, and teach Europe a lesson!

It’s pretty much virtually the first thing you notice when you hear of it, unless you call it Scun-thorpe.

Well, he did have a small loan stint to PSV in 2006, but otherwise has stayed on the lists since day one. After that, he seemed very happy to just stay with the Victory.

You would think so, but looking at the articles, it seems clear that nobody really cares. It’s just accepted that Canadians suck at football. There were reports that the U20 team that was qualifying for the U20 World Cup was the Golden Generation, but after crashing out, it just didn’t even register. As I mentioned before, unlike Aussies, immigrants that move to Canada don’t support Canada. In that match against Costa Rica, there were probably more Costa Rican Canadians supporting Costa Rica over Canada, even the 2nd and 3rd generations. You’re not going to get a Canadian version of this board talking about Canadian teams (I really should throw a comment or two in the A-League). You’re going to hear them talk about La Liga and the PL, and perhaps even the Costa Rican leagues.

OK, more on the coaching issue. I’ve just learnt that the fee to take a Provincial B license is $1000 (I’m using Aussie dollars for all here). Not a national B license, a Provincial B License, which is required to be a coach in only the providence you got that license in. Better yet, you need to sit the pre-test, and I can’t find anything on how one actually goes about sitting it, nor the cost involved. I do know there’s a $100 fee to be paid for cancellation for all levels. The Canadian B national license is another $1250, and I’m not sure if you could coach in the US, then again, the main issue is to get these guys into coaching.

In comparison, the Level 1 Certificate of Coaching in England is around $200, the Level 2 is $580, and at this point, I can coach anywhere in England, not just a province. The UEFA B License is $1900, but by this point, it would be club funded, and this would allow you to coach anywhere in Europe, and pretty much anywhere in the world. So basically, you could coach anywhere in England for virtually half the price (I’m getting the Pre-test is like $400 or something) of the Canadian B Provincial License. If you’ve a got a club that will back you, I think it’s entirely possible to become a manager of a PL club spending less from your own pocket than in Canada.

If that doesn’t sum up the current coaching situation of Canada, and why they seem to be hopeless no matter the age group, than I don’t know what would. I mean, by the time you reach a decent level in England, you’re thinking about it being your career whereas in Canada, this is just the first step. It also looks like the most power is at the grassroots level rather than any actual benefit up the line. Football clubs only want those that are ready made and can deliver victory, they don’t want to develop a player. You’re either good enough, or you better search around for a club that will take you.

And that’s why Julian de Guzman made a poor choice. This Philippines team is finally getting its act together and is showing some signs of footballing competence. Sure, it may have taken a while since he started his career, and Canada is usually closer to qualifying for the World by virtue of just being gifted a spot, but at least he would’ve had more chance of victory with the Azkuls. At least the Philippines have to fight for their wins, not be gifted a spot like Canada has. Too bad for Canada that they won’t be involved in Copa America next year. If Canada had to qualify for the Gold Cup, it would do them a lot of good.

Tis a very good nickname, much better than their neighbours Turkministan, the Green Man, lol. Interestingly, the last time the two nations met was 2004. Of course, just take a wild guess who leads the H2H just based on the nicknames.

On the note below, that is some ambition indeed from Mr Vince, What a wonderful park in more ways than one. Might also be good for the new businessmen and ladies to check out the team and perhaps kick it around a bit after work.

Also, have to say, that picture of him, that’s exactly what I expected him to look like:
Dale Vince. Ecotricity.jpg

This is truly the face of a Greener UK.

Alright, finally got around to responding FT! Sorry for the delay mate - work has been crazy and I've just started uni up again...too much fun as you can imagine! :p

I thought as much! I was so sure I’d seen Barca, Panathaniankios, CSKA Sofia and a few others with Euro Basketball league teams! Maybe it’s a sign of prestige? A bit like the old Superleague Formula – an open wheel racing league where some of the biggest clubs had their own teams! https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Superleague_Formula

My dream is to see Gateshead enter the FL (alongside FGR of course). That would be great. Plus even those Smoggies (Boro) can join us in the PL. I might even tolerate the Mackems in there as well – provided they go back to dreading this fixture! I actually added Gatehead to the PL on my last FM career and loaned them Darlow, Lascelles and a few other reserve players to flesh our their squad. I even gave them Iron Mike Williamson on a free transfer. Sadly, the club (under Chrissy Hughton) was unable to stave off relegation going down with a GD in excess of -100! :eek:

Yes, that is a good point. I guess it fundamentally comes down to me being easily attached and sentimental lol. In France, my 2 favourite teams are Le Mans (due to the famous car race) and Metz as I recall one of the characters in Age of Empires 2 was Jean de Metz who helped Joan of Arc lol.

Oh wow! So People from Tynecastle can be called Gorgies? I think I may need to move them to England and make them a rival of Newcastle now. Those Mackems can piss off, the Tyne-Tyne derby, Geordies v Gorgies will be where it is at!

When I relocated Tynecastle (starting to feel like I might be in the same vein as MK Dons’ owners haha), I gave them a sugar daddy owner and a 40k seat stadium. While I romped Welsh top flight, we struggled to make an impact on the continent – though I seem to recall making the quarter finals of the old UEFA Cup once. Despite the money, we struggled to attract genuine quality who could threaten Europe’s elite – though we did comfortably account for the likes of Rhyl, Airbus and Bangor City lol.

Wow, that is quite surprising about little ol’ Liechtenstein. Aren’t they considered a tax haven (similar to Luxembourg I think?) and have a royal family as well? Maybe they are just happy to exist with their existence and have no dreams of upstaging their bigger continental brethren.

Haha, yes – I think I never picked up on it as I pronounce it (probably wrong) as Scun-thorpe.

True about Archie – I remember Gus wanted to take him to PSV and he might have even gone on strike to force the move IIRC. In the end he only played 5-10 minutes I think but at least he can say he did it!

Wow, surely there must be some hardcore Canadian fans? Must be very frustrating for them. They can certainly produce talent but can’t seem to harness it on the international stage or capture it and implement into their domestic league or clubs.

Wowee! Certainly not cheap for any Canadians looking to become the next Bob Lenarduzzi. Speaking of which, they seem to turn over managers quite regularly. 21 or so since 1980 I think (I only chose Lenarduzzi as he seems to have bucked the trend – lasting 5 odd years haha). I shed a tear for all those young kids who saw the management prowess of John ‘the best coach in the PL’ Carver in his brief stint there and now need to find the coin to follow in his footsteps. :)

Can only hope that the Philippines gets stronger and stronger now that the foundations are in place so the next de Guzman sees playing for the Azkuls as a viable alternative…or dare I say, more preferable option! So Canada get guaranteed entry into the Gold Cup? I tend to think that playing qualifiers (regardless of who you are and your nation’s standing in the game) is something that everyone should do. Even if it is a cake walk for some, its still good to ‘earn’ your spot. Canada playing more fixtures with importance attached to them could surely only be a good thing right?

The White Wolves v the Green Man. That hardly sounds like a football match does it? :p

Maybe Vince will give the business men and women bonuses such as tickets to see the team play, a free vegan meal of your choice from the club’s canteen or even to take a spin in one of the electric cars lol. Those are the kinds of incentives to treat employees! :cool:

NUFC Tiger, I'll get to the post on Friday, got a few things to sort out.

If I can just get the attention on Blackpool again for just a moment. They've got some big news! http://www.blackpoolgazette.co.uk/s...atest/pool-name-ferguson-as-skipper-1-7392499 Yep, it's a new Captain! David Ferguson, 21 years old, and has played 10 games for the club!

Wait, what? Surely there's got to be some better candidates at the club, right? Well, let's see... so far, they have 21 players on their books. Of that 21, 7 were at the club last season. The longest that any of them have stayed at Blackpool? 1 season (We're talking at the senior level, although two of their players is from the youth team). Which of those players is the most capped? Nile Ranger, at 14 appearances for Blackpool. 14 out of a possible 88 regular season games.

Of course there are more experienced heads at the club that they bought in, and you would think that considering the most that any of the players have spent at the club in a senior capacity is only a season, it should be easier to elect a new captain. Then again, let's not forget who we are dealing with here. You've also got to love the fact that their number 1 is a career number 2, 30 years old and only 48 appearances after 12 years at Birmingham. The only difference is at least he represented Ireland, so I regret to say that he has Conrad beat. That one is the 'club captain,' or I suppose the 'leader off field, the face of the club.' (Got to love that team captain and club captain business.)

Then of course there's the fact that only now are the club deciding that the pitch needs to be relayed for the new season. Good thing their first home game in only mmm... 9 days. You remember, this pitch from last season?
blackpool.jpg

Let's be honest, is any of this surprising any more? Blackpool is one of the favourites for relegation, and who knows what the future holds for the club if that were to happen? The Fans Trust still need to outline their plan for Oyston if the want to take over.

chef whats the story with abramovic why did he take ownership of cfc?

Many reasons, we were for sale at the time, affordable, in London(and a pretty great part of it), a Champions League club, a team that with the right kind of investment could be turned into a global giant etc.

Rumours go he was going to buy Spurs but our 2-1 over Liverpool in the last game of the season(helping us clinch a UCL spot) changed his mind. Plus he was also a big Zola fan.

Many reasons, we were for sale at the time, affordable, in London(and a pretty great part of it), a Champions League club, a team that with the right kind of investment could be turned into a global giant etc.

Rumours go he was going to buy Spurs but our 2-1 over Liverpool in the last game of the season(helping us clinch a UCL spot) changed his mind. Plus he was also a big Zola fan.

I still vividly remember that game. Bloody Jesper Gronkjaer of all people scored the winner. Possibly Chelsea's most important ever game.

Fryer Tuck

Mighty Forest Green starting to get noticed! We're becoming big time Charlies now! :D

http://www.reuters.com/article/2015/08/05/us-soccer-england-greenest-club-idUSKCN0QA1RG20150805

Vince has also said he thinks we can win the league. :cool:

http://www.stroudnewsandjournal.co....ce_wants_to_win_the_Vanarama_National_League/

Oh and despite their being no red or white meat available on the menu, seems the fans are buying into his vision slowly but surely! :)

"With a week to go before the first home game, the club has sold over 400 season tickets for the first time in its history, a rise of more than 250 tickets and 168% since Dale Vince’s first full season as chairman in 2012/13.

Ticket sales have been supported by a price freeze on last year and the introduction of new away travel arrangements, which mean season ticket holders will save £5 on away match-by-match travel tickets"

http://www.forestgreenroversfc.com/...on-ticket-sales-up-25-ahead-of-promotion-push

Fryer Tuck

Mighty Forest Green starting to get noticed! We're becoming big time Charlies now! :D

http://www.reuters.com/article/2015/08/05/us-soccer-england-greenest-club-idUSKCN0QA1RG20150805

Vince has also said he thinks we can win the league. :cool:

http://www.stroudnewsandjournal.co....ce_wants_to_win_the_Vanarama_National_League/

Oh and despite their being no red or white meat available on the menu, seems the fans are buying into his vision slowly but surely! :)

"With a week to go before the first home game, the club has sold over 400 season tickets for the first time in its history, a rise of more than 250 tickets and 168% since Dale Vince’s first full season as chairman in 2012/13.

Ticket sales have been supported by a price freeze on last year and the introduction of new away travel arrangements, which mean season ticket holders will save £5 on away match-by-match travel tickets"

http://www.forestgreenroversfc.com/...on-ticket-sales-up-25-ahead-of-promotion-push
There we are, the number 1 in being green! Also, considering you were a playoff team last season, you better be giving it a red hot go, or be doomed to be stuck in the Conference further more!

I think this is a club glenferry23 can really get behind, lol. Look at Vince converting the FGR fans into vegans for match day!

It's good to see the club further expand upon making life easier for the fans. Especially for those trips to Gateshead and Dover! Actually, your link does highlight something important, the league is now known as the National League after signing a new TV Deal. In the previous deal, home clubs would receive £5k and away clubs £1k. Of course, thanks to an increased interest in 5th tier footy, that deal could be potentially more. They even released their own TV station that covers everything from the 5th and 6th tier called NLTV. That's right, in England, you can watch 6 tiers of football action at the comfort of your own home!

Part of that deal means 30 live games will be shown on BT Sports. Perhaps you might be able to watch some games live!

Yes, this means you can watch Wealdstone vs Whitehawke on your TV! (Delayed, but still, on your TV!) You want some?
The_Wealdstone_Raider.jpeg

I have decided that I wish to own a football club.

Just need the billions of net worth, but once I do...

Who said you need billions? There are many fan owned clubs that would you to buy a share of their club. Teams can be found from League 2 and below. I have a map right here that will help make choosing the club of your choice all the more easier:
Just a quick post, because it is relevant to our interests:
england_june-2015_map-of-supporter-owned_football-clubs_36-clubs_w_.gif

A map and guide to all the fan owned clubs in the English system. Click to enlarge.

Who said you need billions? There are many fan owned clubs that would you to buy a share of their club. Teams can be found from League 2 and below. I have a map right here that will help make choosing the club of your choice all the more easier:

I have been looking into that. They seem to be less profit-oriented than I am though :p

There we are, the number 1 in being green! Also, considering you were a playoff team last season, you better be giving it a red hot go, or be doomed to be stuck in the Conference further more!

I think this is a club glenferry23 can really get behind, lol. Look at Vince converting the FGR fans into vegans for match day!

That really is brilliant, thanks for pointing that out to me. Haven't read about him as much as I should have, but he's a pioneer for the vegan cause in football.

Fantastic stuff. I now have another team to follow!