Vic P Plate Rules

scott_pendlebury

Can anyone please clear up the P plate rules in Victoria. Im only a few months off getting my license, so P1 or red P's. Now I've seen on the Vic Roads site the rule about only being allowed one passenger between the ages of 16 and 21. Is this during all times or specific times? Because I remember when the rules were first coming in that it was rumoured to of only between the hours of 10 pm to 6am. I found that on a site but it was quite old. Then my mate recently tells me that its going to be a new rule coming in July with the specific times. Could someone please help? Is it between a specific time or not?

I have P1 plates myself (should have been green as I got my P's half a year late) and the law states it is during all hours of the day.

That sucks. I guess anyone on P1's thinks it's a stupid rule while anyone not on it thinks it's a smart rule. Just have to deal with it :thumbsd:

Yeah its at all times, don't worry though most people I know just carry more passangers anyway, none of them have ever gotten caught.

Yeah fair enough then. Whats the penalty if you get caught but? And also has anyone heard of the rumors my mate was talking about with the rule being restricted to certain times coming in this year?

Its 3 demerit points (out of 5) and a find thats about $300. So getting caught would suck. Not sure if those rumors are true, im on greens so doensnt effect me.

Nothing wrong with taking more than one person, I'd rather get my mates home safe than have them pass out on the road somewhere...

Dude if you dont break any rules and the other passengers lie down you'll be right.

And I dont suggest cross country trips, Im talkin like a suburb or two...dont wanna risk it that much lol.

Im on green P's aswell so it doesnt effect me but why would you even risk it.

We only have 5 demerit points and say if you get caught with more than 1 person in the car and not displaying your p's you can kiss your p's goodbye.
Its just not worth the risk.

What a shithouse rule, what is it supposed to achieve? Will not having your mates in the car actually reduce the likelihood of a crash?

I've only had 2 'incidents' (10 ks over in a school zone, didn't see the sign, reversed into a tree, didn't see the tree) and both times I've been sole occupant of the car. If anything I might pay more attention when I've got a lot of friends in the car.

It really is a crap of a rule, yes it might save 3 lives in a crash but with all the extra traffic on the road I don't see how there are going to be less accidents and deaths. When I am driving with mates I always pay more attention as you are under pressure to not **** up as you will cop some flack for it.

A better rule would be stopping younger drivers driving around in "souped" up Commodores. Seriously Commodores are bad enough to drive normally, no grip to the road when you are are driving normally let alone going 90k around corners.

It really is a crap of a rule, yes it might save 3 lives in a crash but with all the extra traffic on the road I don't see how there are going to be less accidents and deaths. When I am driving with mates I always pay more attention as you are under pressure to not **** up as you will cop some flack for it.

A better rule would be stopping younger drivers driving around in "souped" up Commodores. Seriously Commodores are bad enough to drive normally, no grip to the road when you are are driving normally let alone going 90k around corners.
Thats actually true.
When i got mates or family in the car i drive more responsible as i have to look after others safety but when im by myself i guess thats a whole different story:rolleyes:

I don't know how I could've survived on my P plates if I was only allowed one passenger. I can't even count the amount of days I've driven my mates to the footy or to the movies etc, gee it would be tough not being able to do any of that, not to many inconvenient.

What a shithouse rule, what is it supposed to achieve? Will not having your mates in the car actually reduce the likelihood of a crash?

I've only had 2 'incidents' (10 ks over in a school zone, didn't see the sign, reversed into a tree, didn't see the tree) and both times I've been sole occupant of the car. If anything I might pay more attention when I've got a lot of friends in the car.

Only incident I had involved me being distracted by multiple passengers. Its a pretty harsh rule but there is merit in it.

Your comment just shows the stupidity of today's youth.
Oh shit im sorry I forgot how terrible it is to carry more than one passanger in a car :eek:

I mean its not like they were designed to transport more than 2 people or anything.... and with petrol prices so low why would anyone carpool?

Stupid rule. Cant have a designated driver anymore, Cant drive mates to tafe, Cant take mates to the footy, Cant take proper road trips.

Really it only means there will be more cars and people on the roads, possibly more drivers under the influence aswell.

Bloody shit rule. QLD has been slowly following the southern states as we now have to show out P's, 1 non family member under 21 between 10-6 etc etc.

I am always more careful when driving with my mates anyway.

Its 3 demerit points (out of 5) and a find thats about $300. So getting caught would suck. Not sure if those rumors are true, im on greens so doensnt effect me.
Holy crap thats harsh. Someone was telling me the penalty was just a $40 fine, and no demerit points.

Yeah im on my P's, and it can get quite annoying if I'm going out with friends since we're all 19 I can only drive one of them around.

It really is a stupid rule though, you can still have 4+ people in the car if they're under 16, over 21 or family, so it's not like you have a lower chance of causing a fatality than you normally would.

Only incident I had involved me being distracted by multiple passengers. Its a pretty harsh rule but there is merit in it.
Kids are pretty distracting too, and mates over 21 aren't any less distracting then those under it.

I can see where they're coming from but still reckon it's a joke. Agree with the guy above, I drive more carefully with my mates or girlfriend in the car cause you have to think about the safety and comfort of passengers.

Not to mention all the many many disadvantages it carries (higher chance of drink driving or other drinking related injury for mates who can't get a lift being the main one).

Just seems pointless, does as much harm as it would good. Very glad they don't have it in Tassie.

Yeah im on my P's, and it can get quite annoying if I'm going out with friends since we're all 19 I can only drive one of them around.

It really is a stupid rule though, you can still have 4+ people in the car if they're under 16, over 21 or family, so it's not like you have a lower chance of causing a fatality than you normally would.

Ohh yeah thats right. That whole family part. Man its a stupid rule. Does family member include cousins or what?