Pagan to St Kilda?????????

• Thread starter Thread starter Da Bull

I think Grant Thomas would be a great acquisition for Carlton in a football manager type role.

Pagan to StKilda, Mark Harvey in as Carlton coach, Thomas in as football mgr, remove half the board, trade Fevola for 2 top10 picks, couple of decent 2ic coaches to Harvey, and I'd be very happy with the club again.

Won't happen. Pagan will stay and Carlton will go nowhere.

Lol you are kidding right .. trade fevola ** bing bing ** mate you have just won joke of the year . Now tell me why would we trade Fevola ? We already have pick 1 , 17 , 19 i think thats good enough ill keep the coleman medallist

RiCHii said:
Lol you are kidding right .. trade fevola ** bing bing ** mate you have just won joke of the year . Now tell me why would we trade Fevola ? We already have pick 1 , 17 , 19 i think thats good enough ill keep the coleman medallist
I obviously don't rate Fevola as high as you do, he struggles to take contested marks, he's only 191cm, has a suspect attitude still, very high quality draft, Fevola's value sky high right now, many pros to trading Fevola.

Con - you lose your most marketable player, lose main avenue to goal, lose a club leader.

My opinion of those cons: marketing the club as young guns is better than marketing us as Fev, losing main avenue to goal creates chances for others to step up (waite, fisher, kennedy), losing a club leader well if fev is the best leader the club's got then that's why we have bad leadership problems at carlton.

Deej said:
I obviously don't rate Fevola as high as you do, he struggles to take contested marks

Rubbish.

Throughout the whole season he was in the top 5 contested marks. He's taken plenty.

Trading our best player with many years left will hurt the club, and it's not worth trading a very good player for a couple of picks who may either turn out good or turn out to be duds. Work with what we have, and use the picks we have wisely.

Fevola is too valuable to the team to trade.

Thrawn said:
Rubbish.

Throughout the whole season he was in the top 5 contested marks. He's taken plenty.

Trading our best player with many years left will hurt the club, and it's not worth trading a very good player for a couple of picks who may either turn out good or turn out to be duds. Work with what we have, and use the picks we have wisely.

Fevola is too valuable to the team to trade.
Would you trade Fevola for Hall?
Tredrae, Brown, Hall, Rocca, no coincidence the clubs they play for have dominated GF's for years. Fev isn't in their league in my opinion, he's shorter, less intimidating, not as mobile, not as able to swing a big game against the very best, strongest opponent.
Kennedy should be persisted with as a focal point. What about Waite as a FF?
I just reckon this is a punt worth taking. Too many positives to ignore. Potential upside for the club as a whole far outweighs what we will get from keeping Fevola, in my opinion.

Deej said:
Tredrae, Brown, Hall, Rocca, no coincidence the clubs they play for have dominated GF's for years. Fev isn't in their league in my opinion, he's shorter, less intimidating, not as mobile, not as able to swing a big game against the very best, strongest opponent.
I just reckon this is a punt worth taking. Too many positives to ignore. Potential upside for the club as a whole far outweighs what we will get from keeping Fevola, in my opinion.
yeah put Fevola in a club such as sydney west coast ect and he will you the Grand Final single handedly winning the coleman in a wooden spoon team seperates you from the best .. and yeah in a way your right fevola isnt in the same league as the likes of Hall , Tredrea , Brown , Rocca because Brendan is in a league of his own much more to offer than all these players !

Deej said:

Umm... no.

Deej said:
Tredrae, Brown, Hall, Rocca, no coincidence the clubs they play for have dominated GF's for years.

Rocca? Dominated grand finals? I beg to differ.

Deej said:
Fev isn't in their league in my opinion, he's shorter, less intimidating, not as mobile, not as able to swing a big game against the very best, strongest opponent.

Not as intimidating? Ask Matty Whelan from Melbourne, he was packing himself when Fev was pushing him straight into our cheer squad at half time when we won.

Not as mobile? He would have the best mobality out of all of those forwards. Tredrae and Rocca can hardly move.

Swing a game? Any Coleman Medalist swings games.

Deej said:
Potential upside for the club as a whole far outweighs what we will get from keeping Fevola, in my opinion.

Your opinion is very ordinary.

Deej said:
You only say that because you lack my vision.
please , just give me one VALID reason why fevola should be traded ? and dont say crap such as not big enough , not mobile enough , has a bad attitude because he proved this year that all that was bull!

Deej said:

Mate ... You have no ****ing idea about footy.

Please don't pollute our board with this ****.

If big Fev had of had silver service like most other forwards he would have kicked well over the ton!!!!

Some of the goals he kicked this season verged on the Daicos:D

After finishing 16th for 2 years running, everyone is trade-able at the right price.

In this years draft .....
Fevola would command 2 top 10 picks. Start bidding.
Whitnall would command 1 top 10 pick and another round 2 pick or player.
Thornton similar to Whitnall.
Fisher round 1 pick.

If the price is right.
I've had enough of this .... time to act. The players have let us down just as much as everyone else.

I think Carlton would release Pagan from his contract, if the deal involved Carlton not being liable for his contract.

I think we'd be better off with Chris Bond.

I've got nothing against Pagan, he could take St.Kilda's list to a flag. I'd just prefer to have a younger coach working with all our kids going forward.

Deej said:
I obviously don't rate Fevola as high as you do, he struggles to take contested marks, he's only 191cm, has a suspect attitude still, very high quality draft, Fevola's value sky high right now, many pros to trading Fevola.

Con - you lose your most marketable player, lose main avenue to goal, lose a club leader.

My opinion of those cons: marketing the club as young guns is better than marketing us as Fev, losing main avenue to goal creates chances for others to step up (waite, fisher, kennedy), losing a club leader well if fev is the best leader the club's got then that's why we have bad leadership problems at carlton.

We are already being marketed as young Blues- Murphey was the centrepiece f this years campaign - Fev barely featured in the something Blue promo - we didn;t know if he would cut it or sulk.
Waite as FF - talking about guys who don't take contested marks - you are an IDIOT.
Yes Kennedy should be a focal point, when he puts on about 10 kg in muscle and it should be in a Reiwoldt / Gehrig style forward set up.
Thomas would be a great player manager - can't see him working with Pagan though.

Bluebear said:
We are already being marketed as young Blues- Murphey was the centrepiece f this years campaign - Fev barely featured in the something Blue promo - we didn;t know if he would cut it or sulk.
Waite as FF - talking about guys who don't take contested marks - you are an IDIOT.
Yes Kennedy should be a focal point, when he puts on about 10 kg in muscle and it should be in a Reiwoldt / Gehrig style forward set up.
Thomas would be a great player manager - can't see him working with Pagan though.
I suggested Waite as a FF, posed it as a scenario, why call me idiot for that? Am i dealing with bluebear the keyboard samurai? Waite has the potential for improvement still in him, if he became a monster in the gym and dedicated himself bigtime his potential upside is above whatever Fev is now. That is what i was basing my suggestions on. Look if you're going to simply judge the situation on what is happening right now we will never be on the same level, so pointless even talking to each other.

Re marketing, Fev is our face now, and I don't think he's a great face to have, Murphy Kennedy Bower Jackson Gibbs Thornton Fisher Simpson, they should collectively be our face. Carlton is better off promoting the club brand as a collective anyway, relying on one or two individuals is fraught with danger in so many ways.

C4[2]Yo`DooR said:
Mate ... You have no ****ing idea about footy.

Please don't pollute our board with this ****.
If you rate Fevola right up with/as good as Barry Hall or Jonathon Brown or Tredrae in his prime, it is not me with no idea about footy believe me.

Deej said:
I suggested Waite as a FF, posed it as a scenario, why call me idiot for that? Am i dealing with bluebear the keyboard samurai? Waite has the potential for improvement still in him, if he became a monster in the gym and dedicated himself bigtime his potential upside is above whatever Fev is now. That is what i was basing my suggestions on. Look if you're going to simply judge the situation on what is happening right now we will never be on the same level, so pointless even talking to each other.

Re marketing, Fev is our face now, and I don't think he's a great face to have, Murphy Kennedy Bower Jackson Gibbs Thornton Fisher Simpson, they should collectively be our face. Carlton is better off promoting the club brand as a collective anyway, relying on one or two individuals is fraught with danger in so many ways.

Re-read the first part of my last response - Murphey is already there, and the others will join him. Apart from the Laughing Monkey's show (aka Footy show - described by its demographic), where is Fev the Face of the club. Waite can't mark with anyone on him and can't kick from a set shot - not great credentials.
And you're right, I shouldn't have called you an idiot - just misguided.:thumbsu:

RiCHii said:
please , just give me one VALID reason why fevola should be traded ? and dont say crap such as not big enough , not mobile enough , has a bad attitude because he proved this year that all that was bull!
Valid reason would be, Fev IF he doesn't go back to being an up and down headcase sooky la la, will probably give Carlton another 5-6yrs good footy. If we trade him for 2 top 10 picks in what is supposedly the best draft ever, we are quite likely to get 2 excellent players that will give carlton 10+yrs service, and more importantly will be pivitol in building a SUSTAINED flag attack.

I don't rate the National Draft that high, Deej. If even one of those "top 10 guns" doesn't make it, then we lose.

If you're gonna give up a superstar (and a superstar he is), then you want picks 1 and 2 everytime. Seeing as how we already have pick 1, we really shouldn't bother.

If someone offered us a top ten pick for Fisher, Thornton or Whitnall we better take it and run. But clubs won't do trades for first round picks in the wake of Laidley's stuff ups unless the buyers are prepared to pay through the nose.

Fevola is off the table and I don't know how you could even suggest trading him.

We'd be shot without him and his best is still ahead of him.

Unlike Whitnall.

If you are going to discuss trading Fev, then get off this board ffs
I am so sick of this **** (pardon my language)
Fev won the coleman medal and kicked 30 something per cent of carlton's goals this year. Against st kilda he kicked 4 goals, all of our goals for the game. HE MUST STAY AND WILL NEVER LEAVE. He also said himself that he wants to be a one club man.

Waite will never play ff because he can't kick, simple as that and Kennedy is still developing and isn't very kick. He will be a CHF. Fev on the lead is very hard to beat and kennedy won't be a leading forward.

Thank you

if we still had Wayne brittan fev would been gone thank god we sacked Brittan
and pagan kept Fev best thing he's done :thumbsu:
so no hope of pagan ever trading fev or he wouldnt have kept him in the first
place . fev like whitnall kouta are a man club players going from one club to another can;t keep up with em wish they stay at the one club

Deej said:

No, Fevola is younger than him and naturally more talented. Not to mention the better FF at the moment.

Tredrae, Brown, Hall, Rocca, no coincidence the clubs they play for have dominated GF's for years.

I'll give you Tredrea and Hall, but Brown and Rocca (laughs) never had dominant years and are terribly overrated. Either due to suspension, injury and no consistency.

Fev isn't in their league in my opinion, he's shorter, less intimidating, not as mobile, not as able to swing a big game against the very best, strongest opponent.

Fevola kicked 80 odd goals in the wooden spoon side. He has the capacity to kick 100+ in a good side, EASILY. Being a little bit shorter is totally irrelevant if you can take contested marks, lead well and actually do what your role demands - kicking goals. I have nfi what you are on saying Fevola isn't mobile - where'd you pull this from? From all the games I've seen he's a very fast lead, can run down opponents and certainly can snag a goal from a snap kick (which requires plenty of agility).

And it's pretty hard to swing a game when the rest of your side plays like total crap, or your midifeld is a shambles and can't get the ball to you. Depsite that, he still gets a bag and beats off the likes of Scarlett, Glass and Carrol to name a few decent FBs.

Kennedy is still developing so we'll see what happens. Waite can fill in FF but he'll never be as good or as consistent as Fevola. He can't kick too well, drops marks more often and is better suited on a flank anyway where he can use his agility and pace.

What positives? You're trading arguably our most marketable and best player for a couple of picks YOU hope will be good but in reality it is just all hope and not certainty.

If our midfield improves, we have a 100 a year goalkicker if he keeps his form. One that brings supporters and opposition supporters alike through the gates... getting rid of Fevola will rob us of a potent attack, get rid of any excitment we've had since Kouta of old and giving us more pressure from not only the media but from our own supporter base.

He worked his arse off for the club to get where he is and you want to trade him? Do you have any idea what you're saying? Yes let's trade our best player, and tank for next year because until Kennedy and Waite/Fisher can actually start performing rather than just work with what we have now and keep our potent attack and Gibbs/Murhpy.

If you rate Fevola right up with/as good as Barry Hall or Jonathon Brown or Tredrae in his prime, it is not me with no idea about footy believe me.

I rate Fevola as good as those CURRENTLY.

In more recent times Fevola has been better than those players, and this year it shows. I'm going to pick the player who's in form and is coming off a fantastic year, and potentially, can do better. Being a bit more accurate and more support/better midfield will help. The above three players have been surrounded by good support and a great team, Fevola hasn't been through this stage yet. And I reckon he'll get better if he even has half of the support these guys got during their premiership years.

BTW, Brown is not in the league of Hall or Tredrea. All Brown has done is been in premiership winning sides (without actually doing much in the GF) and dominating a few games here and there. He has not won an AA yet, he has not dominated a season yet, he has not won a B&F yet, he is not consistent (if he were he'd easily surpass them). Extremely overrated until he can peform to the overinflated reputation he gets.

Deej said:

Shows how much you know......not!! At this point I wouldn't trade Fev for any of them. No guarantee at all 2 first rorunders would be anywhere near as good. Thye's wanna be real good. If he had a remotely half decent side in front of him he'd top the 100! I suggest you up your understanding a notch before making stupid "trade Fev" statements.