AlphaBlue

Another shocking performance tonight, doesn't have the strength and skill to survive at afl level. Id rather Thornton in the team. Im sure his spot will be up for grabs next week.

Agreed...

Missed too much footy this year and he is making too many mistakes...

Problem is, Walker is making just as many!

Didn't want to go with the heading 'roast'???:p

Agree he needs to put some size on & get stronger in the core.

His left foot kicking lacks any distance & cost us tonight.

However not sure he goes out for Thornton.

Anyway just goes to show how desperate we are for a strong CHB.

Bower is way out of form right now, and right now Thornton is a better option.
Although Thornton has many knockers on this board, he is still in our best 22 in a average defence, he certainly must have upset Ratten in a major way not to be getting a game.
Bower should be dropped next week, he is totally out of form.

Been saying for two years that he needs to be locked in the gym and not let out. Need muscle and strength. Still quality at creating run and drive off the back half but needs to improve his one on one efforts.

Bower's 2nd effort is pretty much non-existence. He only goes for the ball within 1 meter of his proximity. He really needs work a lot harder in the pre-season.

Bower and Jamison they are useless.Bower has gone backwards and Jamison has stagnated. Jamison is good one on one sitting under a ball and thats it he cant kick for shit. Bower looks like he shits himself every time he goes near the ball. We are in desperate need of at least 2 good defenders. Tarrant and Drummond would be nice.

Bower's 2nd effort is pretty much non-existence. He only goes for the ball within 1 meter of his proximity. He really needs work a lot harder in the pre-season.

Bower is down on confidence I think but I reckon the whole back line is, other than Gibbs. I've been saying for a few weeks that Thornton is a must to get a cool head in there. Wouldn't drop Bower just yet, Davies is the guy who shouldn't be there now, no point giving a bloke "experience" games when you're playing for finals positions.

Davies out and Thornton in or we're not fair dinkum

Some are being far too critical on him. Yes he's playing some shocking football at the moment and shouldn't be in the team but to be questioning his future at AFL level is ridiculously over the top.

The guy was our best defender last season. Played out the season with a bung shoulder and if not for him, we wouldn't have made it as far as we did.

Has struggled badly with the quads this year and his fitness and confidence have suffered as a result. I'd drop him next week or at the very least bring Thornton in as support but with a full preseason (hopefully a fair portion of that in the gym) I'd expect him to come out fit and firing for 2011.

He is horribly out of form.

When fully fit is a very good player but he hasn't been fully fit at all this season, except for the first 2 rounds.

I'd be amazed if he was dropped, because when he's fit and firing he is an asset to the side, but in an ideal world we'd have someone like White or Austin coming in for him now - which won't happen for various obvious reasons.

Must get a good preseason into him before the 2011 season. He's strong enough but needs to work hard and get back to the form that saw him start the season in brilliant fashion.

As for the poor disposal line - absolute rubbish. I don't particularly feel like proving this to be one of the biggest myths roaming around this board, as I've done it plenty of times throughout the past year or so. Bower is one of the best users of the football in the team.

Thought Davies has been very good since his debut game against the Dons. In fact I'd say our backline has been quite solid, especially considdering the pummelling it got tonight.

The big hole lies at CHB and with Pauly's form. Pauly needs to muscle up, and we need to trade for a player who can play CHB.

Very very average backline.
Bower is a fumbling bumbling fool. Jamison is average at best. Russell has stopped dead in his tracks. Walker massacres the ball by foot. Bringing back Thortnon is nearly as bad as bringing back Fisher. nearly.

Bower and Jamison they are useless.Bower has gone backwards and Jamison has stagnated. Jamison is good one on one sitting under a ball and thats it he cant kick for shit. Bower looks like he shits himself every time he goes near the ball. We are in desperate need of at least 2 good defenders. Tarrant and Drummond would be nice.

Facepalm.

Bower and Jamieson are possibly the two dumbest footballers on our list with the ball in hand..they simply always take the wrong option..Bower was horrible tonight ...our backline was under seige for most of the night due to our midfielders not getting first hands on the ball..but their decision making is woeful ...can't see us winning a final with that backline.

Mind you Eddie betts and to a degree Yarran were just as bad up forward ..if Eddie held his marks and kicked straight we would have won the game.

Bower and Jamieson are possibly the two dumbest footballers on our list with the ball in hand..they simply always take the wrong option..Bower was horrible tonight ...our backline was under seige for most of the night due to our midfielders not getting first hands on the ball..but their decision making is woeful ...can't see us winning a final with that backline.

Mind you Eddie betts and to a degree Yarran were just as bad up forward ..if Eddie held his marks and kicked straight we would have won the game.

Who is Jamieson?

Because I know that Jamison is a good young defender who was far from our worst tonight.

Our backline was under siege, yet it was all our backline's fault. :rolleyes:

Bring back Setenta and Fisher, and put either one of Setenta or Waite in the backline to help out our defence. Our backline is seriously out of form!

I'm sure the leg injuries haven't helped him, but his past couple of weeks have been terrible. Looks to be really lacking any sort of confidence, and his place in the side has to be up for grabs. Thornton is the obvious replacement, but i'm not sure what his form is like with the Bullants.

Bring back Setenta and Fisher, and put either one of Setenta or Waite in the backline to help out our defence. Our backline is seriously out of form!

Kicked 5 last week, so you could bring him back in, and maybe move Waite back. Or Henderson could go back also.