Pavlich

Are the Crows planning on a wooden spoon in 2007???
It'd be the only way they'd have any bargaining power if the fictitious scenario of Pavlich wanting to leave did arise.
Pav could end up playing with TLo.

sinepari said:
Seriously, what would the Dockers want from WC for Pav. All hatred aside, lets be rational and work out a realistic demand.

Kerr and 1st pick?

To me that's giving up a lot. Don't think I'm trying to con you. That is not my objective,.

Judd. At least. And that aint going to happen.

I doubt any high calibre player that genuinely defected to the other team would enjoy living in WA.

pav_is_god said:
I mean lets face it, Kerr is a very good player but he's hardly a game breaker.

I think that's a bit silly. I've seen enough of Kerr to know that while he doesn't kick the goals himself he's dead set champion material -- at least on field.

If Eagles were going to target anyone it would be Polak. They don't need Pav, they just need to get Hunter into the forward line. Hunter, Brad Smith, together with Hansen's development, and Matera and Sampi, you've got a potent forward line.

And if they were willing to give up Kerr it would be Polak plus draft pick. They have other midfielders coming through including Beau Waters so they might be tempted. My only reservation is Kerr's character.

pav_is_god said:
How'd he go in the rest of the season? Bench player if I remember correctly. :)
Yeah, can't see him making your starting 18, just too many quick skillful in and under premium midfielders ahead of him at freo. :)

Dr Ralph Dagg said:
I think that's a bit silly. I've seen enough of Kerr to know that while he doesn't kick the goals himself he's dead set champion material -- at least on field.
Pavlich is a game breaker - one of few in the league. Kerr is a very good midfielder - one of many in the league. Whilst I'd gladly have Kerr in our side, it would not be at the expense of Pavlich. Polak on the other hand...

pav_is_god said:
Pavlich is a game breaker - one of few in the league. Kerr is a very good midfielder - one of many in the league. Whilst I'd gladly have Kerr in our side, it would not be at the expense of Pavlich. Polak on the other hand...

I'm given to playing these sorts of games, but hypothetically what do you think Pav is worth? My guess is a player like Kerr, a first round pick and possibly a second tier established player, or a blooded youngster.

James23 said:
ok have to wait n see, fremantle have made some stupid trades over the years.. worst comes to worst.. u can have him for 2 more years.. i guess

I find it amusing how everyone always brings up Freo's bad trading history, but it is really only from the long past (first couple of years) and probably only the Croad and Adam Mcphee trade since that have been bad. IMO people ignore what player had got in various trades and the draft picks.

Here are some good Freo trades:

-Koops for Pick 19 (David Mundy)
-Daniel Bandy for Troy Simmonds
-Troy Simmonds for Health Black
a few others that I can't remember.

I don't know if this is relevant, but I just drove past the Seaview (as I do at least twice a day), and there's a sign out the front that Pav and Hase will be there at lunch time today for some Footy Show thingy. I reckon if he were leaving, he'd be keeping a pretty low profile around town right now.

ImperialPurple said:
I don't know if this is relevant, but I just drove past the Seaview (as I do at least twice a day), and there's a sign out the front that Pav and Hase will be there at lunch time today for some Footy Show thingy. I reckon if he were leaving, he'd be keeping a pretty low profile around town right now.

You're grasping at straws IP.

You know Pav wants to wear the blue and gold.

ImperialPurple said:

Are you going down to provide a bit of glamour for the footy show segment?

RIPPER_46 said:
Are you going down to provide a bit of glamour for the footy show segment?

Aaaah.... that would be - No.

Is it actually for The Footy Show, as in the Eddie Show? Well there ya go. Saw the sign, but didn't connect.

ImperialPurple said:
He'd be lynched from the top of the Freo Town Hall if that ever happened! He'd never even make it onto the field...

you're probably right - it'd be enough to trigger sectarian football violence in Perth.

Doesn't hurt to dream though.

Exeter said:
you're probably right - it'd be enough to trigger sectarian football violence in Perth.

Doesn't hurt to dream though.

Dream?? Pavlich dressed in bluenyella, having it hit him on the chest, 40m out from goal, multiple times each game, from the likes of Judd and co?

That's not a dream. That's a freaking nightmare.

petmax said:
I find it amusing how everyone always brings up Freo's bad trading history, but it is really only from the long past (first couple of years) and probably only the Croad and Adam Mcphee trade since that have been bad. IMO people ignore what player had got in various trades and the draft picks.

Here are some good Freo trades:

-Koops for Pick 19 (David Mundy)
-Daniel Bandy for Troy Simmonds
-Troy Simmonds for Health Black
a few others that I can't remember.

My memory is hazy and so the Pope might need to correct me:

Modra for two second round picks -- went on to kick over 50 goals a season
Matty Carr for Craig Callaghan -- and Matty was rated as the best pickup for season 2001
Jeff Farmer for pick 17
Troy Cook for pick 34.

I still think given what we had seen of McPhee giving him away to Essendon for pick 55 suggested that Connolly/Schwab had no idea of the talent they had on their hands.

But getting pick 73 for Troy Longmuir will be considered by many as a real win for us.