HowieD

I'm sick of this "rivalry" with Geelong. It's built up by Geelong players who just hate losing to a team they consider inferior. As a Fremantle supporter, there is no real rivalry there. I see us having more rivalry with West Coast, Saint Kilda and even Richmond more than Geelong. More-so because we normally catch those three teams twice a year. I'm just sick of this "they hate each other" commentary from here in Victoria. I really don't think the Fremantle players care about Geelong or hate them more than they do any other side.

And, to be completely honest, I'm happy we beat those no-hope toilet rags and can now actually move on to playing decent teams who are coached by men instead of whiney little school boys.

Bank the win. Move on to a real team.

Can't agree with you, it's definitely a real rivalry which is now continuing to grow as the clubs continue to meet each other in finals and since 2008 more often than not our games have produced some great footy and a shitload of on and off field controversy.

I also reckon the two sides despise each other. It's more of a rivalry than the Derby as well now for me, they've been insipid for some time now.

It's a massive rivalry and I actually hate them more than West Coast so that says something.

Ever since 2008 there has been controversy in our games and frankly, given the genuine hatred on display yesterday from both sets of players, there's a rivalry there for sure.

Geelong hate losing to Freo in finals as well :D

Can't agree with you, it's definitely a real rivalry which is now continuing to grow as the clubs continue to meet each other in finals and since 2008 more often than not our games have produced some great footy and a shitload of on and off field controversy.

I also reckon the two sides despise each other. It's more of a rivalry than the Derby as well now for me, they've been insipid for some time now.

Maybe I just can't feel it. I just shrug every time we beat them now like I do most other teams. I love beating the Saints and West Coast, though!

Yeah it is a rivalry.
The players on both teams always play out of their skins, they are generally close and always physical too

it was a fledgling rivalry during those close games we played at subi, a bit of spice added when solomon took out ling, it went up again when chris scott went to coach the cats, enter ballas who ratcheted up a bit further taking on johnson and scarlett, it became full blown when we beat them in the final last year and now it's at another frenzied level. we are well and truly up in their shit.

I love the rivalry we're developing and they've easily overtaken the Saints now. The derby is a different sort of rivalry with the local factor.

The Geelong thing has all the ingredients except geography really:

- 3 finals in 4 years (of which we won 2, surely one of the best finals records against Geelong of any team since 07). That will do more to forge a rivalry than 2 games a year against Richmond.

- the players clearly don't like each other, with numerous suspensions from both teams the last few years, and constant niggle and aggro even after the final siren

- off-field controversies like the venue switch and the fall-out from Balla/Scarlett etc

- a big portion of their fans seem to hate us, scarred by Ballas and Crowley and 2 consecutive finals defeats. They carry on like ferals in threads about Freo, more than they do for any team besides Hawthorn

Speaking of their supporters, I hope someone has put that catsinamerica knob on suicide watch. If we end up winning the granny I might bump a few of his posts over the break

It's most definitely a rivalry and probably our fiercest one over the last few years - yes, even outranking the derby at times (though naturally this may change if the Eagles get a coach with some tactical nous).

I think it dates back even further than what has been suggested, and I would start in 2005 when we had our first victory at The Cattery. After all, it was the then struggling Geelong battering us by 66 points in 2006 that was the catalyst for the infamous player meeting that sparked our surge to third place; then the famous Len Hall Game on Anzac Day 2008 really kicked it into high gear.

When we have our full complement available, we match up Geelong about as well as any team in the league - don't forget, most of our losses to them since 2008 have occurred with key players injured or unavailable (and the one which wasn't was due to that horrendous non-HTB decision on James Kelly when McPharlin ran him down).

I can't agree with the OP either. A rivalry usually occurs because of two things. 1- location, usually neighbours. 2- a continued and long history of significant/ important battles, usually close. IMO Geelong is the first team we have a rivalry with outside of West Coast. I don't really expect Geelong supporters to see this like me as their rivalry with Hawthorn is far greater than ours.
Just because Lyon was coach of St kilda doesn't give us a rivalry, they made the first few games more interesting, but nothing more. It's an honour to have rivalries, it means we are relevant. In this case it's taken 20 years but we have relevance outside of West Coast for the first time. Who, for example would be the rival of Adelaide or Port?( except each other) its great that the best team of the past 6 years hates playing little old us... Bring it on!

Yes a rivalry but not one that will with certainty be enduring like the one with WCE will be. A case in point would be WCE/Sydney which has now somewhat petered out only 6 or 7 years after it was at its most fierce.

i have a feeling we will be playing them twice next year ... so yeah, definitely a rivalry is brewing

Yep, lock them in. We'll be playing three top six sides twice, as is the AFL's new proposal, next year. We'll have them twice for sure. Sydney too I reckon.

It's funny, I find the WCE to be so irrelevant now, I couldn't care less about them. I just want us to beat the best, in the best games. Definitely Geelong would feel like they owe us now. Imagine the hate we would feel towards them if results of the last two years were reversed? I love it.

Freo vs Geelong game is a rivalry So is the Saints vs Freo as well.

Its sad about the western derby as only one side cares about that rivalry and that is Freo. West coast wont take it seruously until they are decent again. Judging by the eagles squad, that could be in another 2-4 years time

Yeah nah, these two teams don't like each other one bit.

Mid way during that 2nd quarter, things were really starting to get edgy. It only would have taken 1 big or shady hit, and it would have been on for young and old.

It started for me when they came from way behind after Crowley stomped on Gazza's foot.

the carry on it about made me crook.

Cross town rivalries are like family, they're just things you're born into and they'll always be there but it's great to see us starting to build some rivalries with other clubs. Like West Coasts with Essendon and Sydney they'll come and go and we're really just starting to build something with Geelong but it's something that only happens when your team's relevant, when they're a threat and Fremantle are looking more and more threatening nowadays :)