Bockchoy67

(From www.afc.com.au)

Adelaide's Ian Perrie wants to make centre half-forward his own this year.

Having finished the 2004 season on a positive note, the 25-year-old left-footer has put in a big pre-season, adding an extra five kilos to his already solid frame.

"I want to cement my place at centre half-forward and play a minimum of 20 games," Perrie said.

"I have to make the most of this year. There is nothing standing in the way of me playing well. I have to make the most of my opportunities."

A Norwich Rising Star nominee in 2000, Perrie finished last season in excellent form, averaging 15 possessions and seven marks over the last five games from the tough centre half-forward position.

Without regular forward-line members Wayne Carey and Mark Stevens, he admits he enjoyed the challenge of filling such big boots.

"It was good to be the main focal point in the forward line," he said. "The players up the field tend to look for you more, rather than being the second or third option.

"It gave me the opportunity to get my hands on the footy and take some marks. I enjoyed myself up there contributing to the team."

Perrie, who has played 69 games since his debut in 2000, believes he is
best suited to playing across half-forward, but says he doesn’t mind being shifted down back when required.

"I don’t mind being shifted to different positions," he said. "I think it gives you variety to your game and it keeps you thinking all the time.

"However, I would like to settle at centre half-forward. I know there are people out there who still have their doubts about me, but I am working hard to improve my game.

"I hope to be given the chance to be a regular member of the forward line in 2005."

Noted for his attack on the football and competitiveness in the forward line, Perrie says there is a huge responsibility for whoever lines up in the forward 50.

"You need to give a genuine contest and try to keep the ball in the forward line," he said. "It can be disheartening to the midfielders and defenders when you give a weak effort or get outmarked because they are doing their best to get it to you.

"A lot of hard work goes into getting the ball to the forwards so we need to work hard to either win the ball or create a stoppage."

Asked whether there were any aspects of his game he had paid close attention to over the pre-season, Perrie said: "My skill level is something I've worked hard on. I can improve on my decision-making and be more precise and efficient with the football.

"With Neil (Craig) taking the reins over the last six months, it has been a real learning curve for me because he has made me think hard about my footy and where I can get better."

Now an imposing 193cm and 102kg, Perrie is just one of a number of players who have 'bulked up' in recent months, and he says the football focus implemented this pre-season has been a contributing factor.

"Because we haven’t been doing quite as much running as in previous years, a number of players have been able to bulk up a bit," he said.

"When you are running hard each day, it can be difficult to put on weight during pre-season. We have been doing plenty of weights and football training where we need lots of power, and our bodies have adapted to that."

102 kilos...talk about bulking up. :eek:

"However, I would like to settle at centre half-forward. I know there are people out there who still have their doubts about me, but I am working hard to improve my game."

He must have been reading your posts Stiffy;)

Bockchoy67 said:
Now an imposing 193cm and 102kg
:eek: Talk about a monster. With the way he attacks the ball I am sure players in his vicinity will feel it when he bumps into them. Man, 193 cm / 102 kg is HUGE

topjars said:
"However, I would like to settle at centre half-forward. I know there are people out there who still have their doubts about me, but I am working hard to improve my game."

He must have been reading your posts Stiffy;)
I think I am one of a small number of posters here who had him as their starting CHF in that thread where we put up our side. I had Sarge @ CHF and M. Stevens @ FF

He will never be a star or a sharpest tool in the shed but he will always be a workhorse key forward that will give you 110%. As long as he is as consistent as he was in the last 5 games in 2004, I would be VERY happy.

Linky ;)

(From www.afc.com.au)

Perrie, who has played 69 games since his debut in 2000

Does the club deliberately get these figures wrong or is it just sheer incompetence?

Perrie was drafted in 1997 and made his debut way back in 1998.

Coming into his eighth season and proclaiming he'd like to cement his place in the side? You'd bloody hope so.

crowsarethebest said:
Man.. he sure has bulked up .. hope he doesnt become into whitnall though.. but geez.. this guys is a monster now

No good bulking up c.a.t.b. if you can't get the ball. IMO, CHF is the most important position in attack if not the field, and if the Crows are planning their forward line around Perrie at CHF, then I think they will struggle. With all due respect, the guy has been tried and failed regularly and I think the Crows could use the year trying to develope a young up and coming CHF in Watts.

Mitch Power said:
No good bulking up c.a.t.b. if you can't get the ball. IMO, CHF is the most important position in attack if not the field, and if the Crows are planning their forward line around Perrie at CHF, then I think they will struggle. With all due respect, the guy has been tried and failed regularly and I think the Crows could use the year trying to develope a young up and coming CHF in Watts.

No offence, as you make some good points, but it would be a big mistake to have Watts at CHF and build the forward line around him.

Fergus is far too skinny and inexperienced at the moment, and this became increasingly evident towards the end of season 2004. Even now he is not strong enough to be a force at CHF. It would not be wise to give him such a large job at this stage of his slow development.

While Perrie is definitely not perfect, his strong body and experience will help us. He's not going to win games, but his endevour will be much more helpful than using a rangy, 86kg teenager.

Mitch Power said:

No doubt Watts is being penciled in for a kfp some where in the future but i along with Stiffy had Perrie in as chf with M Stevens in a fp.

Sarge always had the ability (in my opinion) but was very easy to drop his bundle if things were not going his way, 05 will be a defining year for quite a lot of players on our list & Ian Perrie will be just one of them but as it now stands he is still our best option for chf until someone else can stand up.

dyertribe said:
Does the club deliberately get these figures wrong or is it just sheer incompetence?

Perrie was drafted in 1997 and made his debut way back in 1998.

Coming into his eighth season and proclaiming he'd like to cement his place in the side? You'd bloody hope so.

I spotted that error as well DT......surely it's not that hard to get it right.. :rolleyes: (3 games in 98 and 2 in 99.)

....or maybe they're just trying to mask the fact he has been around for ever.

I never thought I'd say it but he looks frightening and very imposing at training...I reckon he's in for a consistant year at least.

Mitch Power said:
A few weeks ago I might have agreed with you but Watts is way off the mark for this year. If he stays at the club he will develop over the next couple of years, but as far as '05 is concerned....Perrie is certainly putting his hand up and looks the most imposing player at training...something I thought I'd never say.

Mad Dog said:
A few weeks ago I might have agreed with you but Watts is way off the mark for this year. If he stays at the club he will develop over the next couple of years, but as far as '05 is concerned....Perrie is certainly putting his hand up and looks the most imposing player at training...something I thought I'd never say.

Any concern re slowing him down. Perrie seems pretty quick for a big fella running straight ahead - you would hope this wouldnt be diminshed too much

Overall sounds like Sarge and The Count have been the 2 stand outs this week at training to Crows Analysts

Bockchoy67 said:
(From www.afc.com.au)

Adelaide's Ian Perrie wants to make centre half-forward his own this year.

Having finished the 2004 season on a positive note, the 25-year-old left-footer has put in a big pre-season, adding an extra five kilos to his already solid frame.

"I want to cement my place at centre half-forward and play a minimum of 20 games," Perrie said.

"I have to make the most of this year. There is nothing standing in the way of me playing well. I have to make the most of my opportunities."

A Norwich Rising Star nominee in 2000, Perrie finished last season in excellent form, averaging 15 possessions and seven marks over the last five games from the tough centre half-forward position.

Without regular forward-line members Wayne Carey and Mark Stevens, he admits he enjoyed the challenge of filling such big boots.

"It was good to be the main focal point in the forward line," he said. "The players up the field tend to look for you more, rather than being the second or third option.

"It gave me the opportunity to get my hands on the footy and take some marks. I enjoyed myself up there contributing to the team."

Perrie, who has played 69 games since his debut in 2000, believes he is
best suited to playing across half-forward, but says he doesn’t mind being shifted down back when required.

"I don’t mind being shifted to different positions," he said. "I think it gives you variety to your game and it keeps you thinking all the time.

"However, I would like to settle at centre half-forward. I know there are people out there who still have their doubts about me, but I am working hard to improve my game.

"I hope to be given the chance to be a regular member of the forward line in 2005."

Noted for his attack on the football and competitiveness in the forward line, Perrie says there is a huge responsibility for whoever lines up in the forward 50.

"You need to give a genuine contest and try to keep the ball in the forward line," he said. "It can be disheartening to the midfielders and defenders when you give a weak effort or get outmarked because they are doing their best to get it to you.

"A lot of hard work goes into getting the ball to the forwards so we need to work hard to either win the ball or create a stoppage."

Asked whether there were any aspects of his game he had paid close attention to over the pre-season, Perrie said: "My skill level is something I've worked hard on. I can improve on my decision-making and be more precise and efficient with the football.

"With Neil (Craig) taking the reins over the last six months, it has been a real learning curve for me because he has made me think hard about my footy and where I can get better."

Now an imposing 193cm and 102kg, Perrie is just one of a number of players who have 'bulked up' in recent months, and he says the football focus implemented this pre-season has been a contributing factor.

"Because we haven’t been doing quite as much running as in previous years, a number of players have been able to bulk up a bit," he said.

"When you are running hard each day, it can be difficult to put on weight during pre-season. We have been doing plenty of weights and football training where we need lots of power, and our bodies have adapted to that."

102 kilos...talk about bulking up. :eek:

This confirms what I HAVE BEEN SAYING all along.

Perrie is the preferred option now. He only needs to beat his mind and we will see just what Ian can do.

"You don't need to win the game off your own boot son" - Knuckles Kerley.

Ian is going to play it - I think Adealide looks more comfortable with him up forward because he always makes the contest and he is capable of taking 10+ marks in a game which isn't a strength of adelaide at the moment,

saying that Mark Stevens look a lot more natural as a CHF but I cant see him slotting in there I would put him as FF so he can just kick goals

saying that I wouldn't mind seeing a Rotation of Rutten, Mcgregor and Hentschel through CHF to see how that looks

Mitch Power said:

I'm with the others, Mitch. Perrie would have to get the gig before Watts whose body is far from ready for the CHF position.

I'd take 15 possessions and seven marks from a CHF every day of the week, and that's what Perrie averaged over the last 5 games.

Perrie's physique is awesome, and his hair is shocking. ;)

He's a monster in every respect. :D

If Perrie can stay consistent and average 15 possesions and 6 or 7 marks per game, kick 30-35 goals this year he would be a MAJOR bonus. If Stevo can stay fit and kick 40-50 from FF we could well sneak into the 8 :eek:

Mad Dog said:
I know it'sa only training but in very simple terms Perrie looks every bit an AFL player - Watts does not!

Perrie looks super confident, carries the extra bulk well without any apparent loss in speed. And his hands were super!!

Stiffy_18 said:
If Perrie can stay consistent and average 15 possesions and 6 or 7 marks per game,

That's Wazza/Bustling/JB/St. Nick territory...

I doubt Pez could manage that.

My brother and I enjoyed the movie Muriel's Wedding and really laughed when the dad yelled over the balcony to his son who was playing football with a milk carton in the backyard. He yelled, "Perry, Wake up to yourself." When we are watching the Crows on TV or are at a game where the Crows are playing we yell out "Perry, Wake up to yourself."
It is not an insult to the player it is just because of his name. We think it's funny anyway. You may be able to introduce it to Crows games over there, it may catch on, especially to those who know the movie.

PS By the way we have had mark Bickly on the radio over here all week on SEN (Sport station) and he has been very good. I would not be surprised if they are preparing him for when the station gous to Adelaide. It is a great station with sport 24 hours. I don't know when you will get it in Adelaide but by their website it is on its way. (www.sen.com.au) You would love it, especially in football season as there is heaps on footy.

I hope you don't mind my visit to your board.