macca23

Adelaide Crows
Heard this rumour on the rumour file on 5AA late this week. By a Power supporter too.

His rumour was that Perrie, who is a WA boy, would be traded to Freo for Croad, who would be happy to come to Adelaide because it's much closer to Melbourne.

Croad's form since Hawthorn traded him to Freo certainly suggests that WA is not his most loved state.

Perrie is a battler who tries his guts out but is very limited in skills and footy smarts. Croad has a lot more ability but doesn't seem to always put in and also lacks the footy smarts.

It's only a rumour but do you think that Croad could add something either to Adelaide's defence or attack that Perrie couldn't, and would you do the trade??

Originally posted by macca23
Heard this rumour on the rumour file on 5AA late this week. By a Power supporter too.

His rumour was that Perrie, who is a WA boy, would be traded to Freo for Croad, who would be happy to come to Adelaide because it's much closer to Melbourne.

Croad's form since Hawthorn traded him to Freo certainly suggests that WA is not his most loved state.

Perrie is a battler who tries his guts out but is very limited in skills and footy smarts. Croad has a lot more ability but doesn't seem to always put in and also lacks the footy smarts.

It's only a rumour but do you think that Croad could add something either to Adelaide's defence or attack that Perrie couldn't, and would you do the trade??
We had this discussion on the PA board.
I actually like Croad as a CHB, but to get him a team must be prepared to fork out big big dollars. Heaps more than he is worth, and more than better player than he is get paid.
All in all he suits Freo more than any other team, apart from Richmond who also like to overpay players.

Interesting choice. Is Croad 100% commited to football like Perrie. No doubt Croad has huge potential, but will he reach it? Also, like PAfolwr, I believe Croad is best suited to CHB. We already have Kenny, so I can't see much point in getting him.

No way!

As PAfolwr and Kane McGoodwin said IMHO, Croad is best suited to CHB and we have Kenny that does a great job. I also see Croad as possibly a running HBF and would probably be a very good replacement for Smart.

Having said all that, he would cost an arm and a leg and Perrie alone will not be enough. If Croad can play consistent footy he would be great at either end of the ground. Thats a big IF.

Can Ayers get the best out of him??? I am not too sure.

Worth considering but on surface value the answer is no

Originally posted by Stiffy_18

Having said all that, he would cost an arm and a leg and Perrie alone will not be enough. If Croad can play consistent footy he would be great at either end of the ground. Thats a big IF.

When Hawthorn traded him his value was pretty high.

The trade was draft picks 1, 20 and 36 for croad and Luke McPharlin. The latter has turned out to be a real asset to Freo while Croad has seemed like a fish out of water, and hasn't been able to make Freo's side in recent weeks.

His trade value would have to be very much less than it was. He wouldn't command a first round draft pick now on this year's form.

As for his contract value, any side that took him on would do so only on the basis of some financial input from Freo for the balance of his contract, and an understanding that his next contract would be substantially lower. You can't command high money for poor performances.

He definitely needs a change of scenery to produce anything like his best, and I think he would.

I'd do the trade on the basis above if it did become a real option, but I would play him up forward because he can take a contested mark, and kick a mile.

When Hawthorn traded him his value was pretty high.

The trade was draft picks 1, 20 and 36 for croad and Luke McPharlin. The latter has turned out to be a real asset to Freo while Croad has seemed like a fish out of water, and hasn't been able to make Freo's side in recent weeks.

His trade value would have to be very much less than it was. He wouldn't command a first round draft pick now on this year's form.

As for his contract value, any side that took him on would do so only on the basis of some financial input from Freo for the balance of his contract, and an understanding that his next contract would be substantially lower. You can't command high money for poor performances.

He definitely needs a change of scenery to produce anything like his best, and I think he would.

I'd do the trade on the basis above if it did become a real option, but I would play him up forward because he can take a contested mark, and kick a mile.
All valid points macca23 but I have never been convinced that Croad is a key forward. he can take consistent mark and kick a mile but I just don't see him as one. IMHO, Croad is best suited across HB where he can run off his opponent and provide plenty of run for the side.

Definetly is worth considering

I don't buy this logic. If Croad is homesick in Perth, he isn't going to be any less homesick in Adelaide.

So far all he's shown is that he's just an overpaid waste of potential.

I wouldn't touch him with a ten foot pole.

If we are to trade Perrie, then we should do it to get a player we need in return. eg. I would prefer to do a 3-way deal to get Ottens as a forward/ruckman. I realise we would have to throw in more players/picks. I do not see much benefit in trading for Croad.

if there is one KPP from the West that interests me its Quinten Lynch. 193 cm, 104 kg and 21 yo. How he missed selection this week I don't know. Anyone know if he is available?

Trade Perrie = No way.

I wasn't at the ground so it was impossible for me to gauge his run and work off the ball, but I reckon we saw the birth of a brutal, athletic, fearless CHB with the potential to become one of the very best in the competition yesterday.

I'd do this trade, and Croad can play up forward, didnt he boot over 40 goals last season?

Put him in a side of veterans like Adelaide where he doesnt have to do everything on his own and youll see what he can do.

Hes not my fav player but if Freo would say count 30% of his salary to their cap for the next 2 years, we would be getting an absolute steal.

Look what Carey has been able to do with Perrie, imagine if he guides Croad and teaches him all the tricks at CHF.. we got our KPP for the next 10 years.

And with most sides carrying 2-3 talls in their forward line, im sure we can find a system that can accomodate MC Kenny, Trent Diddy and the rest of them.

NO WAY.

We don't want Trent Croad. NO NO NO. He is not worth the time and effort.

Good looking - yes. Can he play good fotyy - no.

end of story. Perrie is a much better proposition.

k
xx

I walked past Croad at the Vic Markets when I was in Melbourne a fortnight ago...

What a surly sad b@stard he is...

Had that pouty 'everybody hates me' look on his dial... could be just the way he is but geez.