Perrie for Croad??

• Thread starter Thread starter macca23

Originally posted by Kane McGoodwin
Stiffy, I think your confusing mine & Dave's posts.

I mentioned that it may be a good time to trade Perrie as his value is up.

I just don't want Croad, as I don't rate the pretty boy. Also, his best position is already held by Kenny.

If we are to trade Perrie who has been more than handy this year, we must get something we need in return.

Agreed.

Would you trade Perrie +3rd round pick for Jamar+ 2nd round pick.

Give us a young ruckman and improves our draft choice.

West Coast need a key position player. Would you trade Perrie for Cox??

Originally posted by Carmelo Anthony
How about a first rd pick and a fringe midfielder for Croad?

Have to agree with Dave. He's not worth a first round pick. But neither is Perrie.

Doughty and second round pick for Croad - yes.

Originally posted by macca23
Agreed.

Would you trade Perrie +3rd round pick for Jamar+ 2nd round pick.

Give us a young ruckman and improves our draft choice.

West Coast need a key position player. Would you trade Perrie for Cox??
My rating of Cox has gone down a bit, as I reckon he is a little one-dimensional. How old is he now?

Not sure of the Jamar trade. Is he worth giving up Perrie for? What if we reversed the 2nd / 3rd round picks & tried for White instead. Gives us another ruckman, who can also play a key forward position. His trade value is probably at a low & Dees seem to be persisting with Jolly & Jamar. Though the salary cap may be an issue, unless we can get Benny on the vets, with Bicks retirement.

I think you might be estimating the trade value of Perrie. You think he could fetch Cox or Jamar (and with Melbourne sweetening the deal with draft picks!)

I'd go for both of those.

Forget about Croad though. The Melbourne homesickness alone is enough reason not to touch him.

My rating of Cox has gone down a bit, as I reckon he is a little one-dimensional. How old is he now?

Not sure of the Jamar trade. Is he worth giving up Perrie for? What if we reversed the 2nd / 3rd round picks & tried for White instead. Gives us another ruckman, who can also play a key forward position. His trade value is probably at a low & Dees seem to be persisting with Jolly & Jamar. Though the salary cap may be an issue, unless we can get Benny on the vets, with Bicks retirement.
Cox 22 years old.

You would trade for a bloke that has chronic shin problems and is as hot and cold as they come but you wouldn't trade for Croad????:confused:

Is he worth giving up Perrie for? What if we reversed the 2nd / 3rd round picks & tried for White instead.
Adelaide will have a late-ish pick in the 2nd round, Melbourne will have an early pick in the 3rd round. So there's not a lot of difference between the two picks.

You're effectively trading Perrie for White in a straight swap.

Originally posted by Stiffy_18
You would trade for a bloke that has chronic shin problems and is as hot and cold as they come but you wouldn't trade for Croad????:confused:
White is a far better player than Croad. If we are to trade Perrie, ideally we would get someone who can play in ruck & a key position.

Personally I would prefer to trade away some our fringe midfielders, as that is where we have depth.

Originally posted by DaveW
Adelaide will have a late-ish pick in the 2nd round, Melbourne will have an early pick in the 3rd round. So there's not a lot of difference between the two picks.

You're effectively trading Perrie for White in a straight swap.
Ok, that won't happen ... unless the Dees still have cap problems.

White's had a terrible year because of shin problems. He'd be too much of a risk injury wise IMO.
So you rate Croad higher then?

With both at their very best - hell no.

If we traded Perrie who is relatively young still, I would only trade him for a young ruckman on the way up. One for the future. Not one that's going to retire at the same time as our others.

Our other need long term is KPP's. Hence the interest in Croad.

There are heaps of other KPP's that I'd pick before Croad, but they just won't be available.

On the other hand, it's looking like Croad might well be, and I really do think his best footy is yet to come if he applies himself.

I do for a number of reasons.

* White has chronic shin injury and will nver be able to continue being as dominant as he once was

* White is 26 (from memory) and Croad is about 23.

* Both are inconsistent

* IMHO White is not as good a KPP as many say he is.

* White would be more risky as far as injuries are concerned.

Still reckon we should make a big play for Ottens. Still young & he would solve our ruck & forward problems. Reckon he needs a fresh start. ;)
I am with you on that one ;)

However, that will be highly unlikely until next year. He is contracted till the end of next year and I would be extremely surprised if Richmond would want to trade him.

Even if he was out of contract it would be a very big ask and would cost an arm and a leg.

Still reckon we should make a big play for Ottens. Still young & he would solve our ruck & forward problems. Reckon he needs a fresh start. ;)

No problems at all with this one.

Now we are talking class.

But he wouldn't come cheap. What would you offer Richmond as atrade??

No problems at all with this one.

Now we are talking class.

But he wouldn't come cheap. What would you offer Richmond as atrade??
Reckon it would probably have to be a 3-way deal similar to the Carey trade. Would we trade both Perrie & Biglands away to get Ottens?

Originally posted by Stiffy_18
OK here is a trade suggestion for everyone. If Perrie gets traded it will most likely be to the Eagles.

Ian Perrie to Eagles
Mark Seaby to Crows

Thoughts?????

Going by the following article - yes. But I don't think West Coast would do the trade.

Mature Seaby a Sandover favourite
By MICHAEL PLACE
07sep03
IT seems everyone who has traced Mark Seaby's steep development this season believes he can win next Wednesday's Sandover Medal.

Everyone except Seaby.

The West Coast Eagles have rated Seaby a blue-chip investment since netting him at pick No. 22 in the 2001 national draft.

Seaby, 19, has been pivotal to the Falcons' fortunes with his silver platter ruck service and superb mobility. Not to mention experience beyond his years.

West Perth football manager Rob Malone said the Falcons had been taken aback by Seaby's remarkable maturity.

"For a 20-year-old to carry the ruckload like he has is a terrific effort," Malone said.

When asked about his Sandover prospects, Seaby replied: "I don't think I can win it. I probably haven't been consistent enough."

A harsh call given that Seaby figured in the Falcons' best on 12 occasions this season.

Included in that batch is a sprinkling of best-afield displays.

He also has a positive omen. Two of the past four Sandover winners – Gus Seebeck (1999) and Ryan Turnbull (2001) – were ruckmen.

Seaby is not the only big man in contention for the WAFL's highest individual honour. South Fremantle's Ricky Mott and East Fremantle's David Dwyer are also strong contenders.

Subiaco's David Lucas has had a dominant season but is ineligible after falling foul of the WAFL tribunal.

Other top contenders are Kris Miller (East Fremantle), Luke Toia (Subiaco), Brent Cowell (East Perth), Callum Chambers (West Perth), Shane Beros (Swan Districts), Brad Dodd (Claremont), Craig De Corsey (Swan Districts), James Byrne (South Fremantle), Matthew Clucas (South Fremantle), Matt Connell (Subiaco) and Chris Bossong (Perth).

For the time being, Seaby has the more pressing matter of today's second semi-final showdown against Subiaco.

Despite successive losses to Perth and East Fremantle in the past fortnight, Seaby was adamant the Falcons remained a flag threat.

He said the Falcons were a markedly improved outfit to the one that motored through last year's finals before stumbling at the final hurdle.

"Going into the finals last year we were a little raw and rough," he said. "We just sort of scraped in.

"This year we are a lot more confident. We've got a lot more belief in ourselves to do better and, hopefully, we can take that into the next few weeks."

Seaby attributed his own progress to faith shown by coach Darren Harris.

"I've been given the opportunity to hold down the main ruck position which has allowed me to play my own game," Seaby said.

Reckon it would probably have to be a 3-way deal similar to the Carey trade. Would we trade both Perrie & Biglands away to get Ottens?

That is a tricky question. I'm in the not sure category now. Clarke and Biglands are a great team.

Yes, our 1995 B&F winner is still going strong. :D

Geez, James Byrne is up there too apparently. What an indictment on the current standard of the WAFL. :p