Society & Culture Perth - Lad Central

Would be interested in reading a detailed comparison of perth and adelaide for anyone that knows a fair bit about the two cities.

Everyone always mentions adelaide as a hole, but perth seems to be on equal terms from what i've read. For what it's worth, in terms of family lifestyle and not the single lifestyle, I think adelaide is great.

Also, perth has no pokies? :thumbsu:

Would be interested in reading a detailed comparison of perth and adelaide for anyone that knows a fair bit about the two cities.

Everyone always mentions adelaide as a hole, but perth seems to be on equal terms from what i've read. For what it's worth, in terms of family lifestyle and not the single lifestyle, I think adelaide is great.

Also, perth has no pokies? :thumbsu:
Adelaide in in South Australia, not even a part of Australia

And yes, one of the biggest ticks is no Pokies in pubs, its absolutly fantastic, bands playing and its a much better atmosphere

Why is everyone mentioning "the moon", thought only asians went there.

There's quite a few Moons, so you might be getting confused. Having said that, asians only ever frequent Metros City anyway.

The Moon Cafe on William St: Late night cafe, pretty cool place to chill. Have nice dessert pizzas there.

Moon and Sixpence on Murray St: average English pub. I think they always play live sports.

Woodvale Tav (also used to be called the Moon), obviously in Woodvale: Only been there once and it was during the day. It's alright though, went there to watch the drawn GF. Filled with older people which is to be expected but has great food. Probs wouldn't ever go there for a night out.

There's quite a few Moons, so you might be getting confused. Having said that, asians only ever frequent Metros City anyway.

The Moon Cafe on William St: Late night cafe, pretty cool place to chill. Have nice dessert pizzas there.

Moon and Sixpence on Murray St: average English pub. I think they always play live sports.

Woodvale Tav (also used to be called the Moon), obviously in Woodvale: Only been there once and it was during the day. It's alright though, went there to watch the drawn GF. Filled with older people which is to be expected but has great food. Probs wouldn't ever go there for a night out.

Ah, I was referring to the Moon and Sixpence in the city.

But I live very close to Woodvale so often frequent the moon in woodvale too. Its not really a place I would go if I wasn't in the area.

The moon n 6 in N/B was always known as the oldies hang out. It has levelled out in recent years interms of the age bracket but it is still a haunt for the odd cougar or 10.

The Woodvale (old moon n 6) was my local for years as i lived 200mt from it. It is nothing special at all and i only frequented it as it was a 1min walk.

Northbridge isnt too bad...at least there's somewhere to go if you get kicked out but shit bouncers who can't do their job.

City is the best. Capitol/tiger lils/queens/brisbane etc etc.

Subi is a hole, trying to be fancy but just shit in general.
Freo metros is alright but full of "lads" ... as well as metros

cott is awesome on sundays despite the amount of pretty boys.

Joondalup is full of deros...but women are alright. Unfortunately they love deros :confused:

I haven't clubbed in Perth in probably 3-4 years. There were a couple of places open at 4 but they were more the exception than the rule. Most gave us the arse at 2.
Isnt this only friday nights?

As far as i'm aware most clubs will go till about 5:30 when they'll start ushering you out. I've been to clubs till sunrise quite a few times.

Northbridge isnt too bad...at least there's somewhere to go if you get kicked out but shit bouncers who can't do their job.

City is the best. Capitol/tiger lils/queens/brisbane etc etc.

Subi is a hole, trying to be fancy but just shit in general.
Freo metros is alright but full of "lads" ... as well as metros

cott is awesome on sundays despite the amount of pretty boys.

Joondalup is full of deros...but women are alright. Unfortunately they love deros :confused:

Northbridge is shit. The fact that The Shed is one of the less shit places there pretty much sums it up.

The city is average at best, and the Queens and Brisbane Hotels are not in it anyway. They are both in Mt Lawley which is closer to Northbridge than the CBD.

Subi is good on footy days, but in reality is just a couple of OK pubs and a few rubbish clubs.

Metros Freo is utter rubbish.

Cottesloe is a lovely place but the Cott Hotel is full of tarts and pretentious morons. The OBH was great a few years back but is slowly becoming more and more like the Cott.

Joondalup was developed as a purpose built bogan habitat. The nightlife is as expected.

In terms of genuinely good areas to go out I'm struggling to think of any in Perth. Anywhere that is good is eventually overrun by the aggressive, self-important bogans that Perth continues to churn out and becomes shit.

Northbridge is shit and always has been, the sort of place you end up going at the end of the night when you're hammered or everywhere else is shut. The nightclubs there are full of bogans and expensive as f***. Can't remember ever having a good night out there.

Prefer to go to more local pubs and clubs, which for me is The Paddington, Oxford, Leederville and Hip-E Club. All pretty much within walking distance from home, which is handy when you're too broke or pissed to get a cab home.

Freo is nice for the odd pub crawl, some great pubs there but always a mission getting home.

The Paddo is always a good night. The its The Oxford, Leedy and Hippy club just around the corner. The Paddo and the Hippy never seem to have a down night.

Some people here are probably just boring. I can have a good time in any of these places (no i've been over 18 for a few years so it's not all new) just that some are better than others.

I find the shed one of the worst places in northbridge?

Subi is shocking i would actually prefer northbridge there is more to do imo.

Agrred obh is definitely just like the cott now.

Anywhere with more than three pubs or clubs in the space of a square kilometre in Perth basically guarantees hordes of Elwood-shirted w***ers.

The best places are the Pubs that are seperate from Perth/Freo/Subi etc but close enough to Cafes and other places to ensure you can kick on later if you're keen.

The Saint, The Paddo, The Windsor, The Flying Scotsman, The Brisbane, The Rosemount and Mojo's all pretty good in that regard. Still get your w***er quotient but the fact they're semi-decent venues makes up for it.

Some of the small bars are pretty good as well (although we're a long way off Melbourne in that regard). Like Helvetica and Ezra Pound in particular for downing a few Old Fashioneds Don Draper style. Pricey though.

Northbridge is shit. The fact that The Shed is one of the less shit places there pretty much sums it up.

The city is average at best, and the Queens and Brisbane Hotels are not in it anyway. They are both in Mt Lawley which is closer to Northbridge than the CBD.

Subi is good on footy days, but in reality is just a couple of OK pubs and a few rubbish clubs.

Metros Freo is utter rubbish.

Cottesloe is a lovely place but the Cott Hotel is full of tarts and pretentious morons. The OBH was great a few years back but is slowly becoming more and more like the Cott.

Joondalup was developed as a purpose built bogan habitat. The nightlife is as expected.

In terms of genuinely good areas to go out I'm struggling to think of any in Perth. Anywhere that is good is eventually overrun by the aggressive, self-important bogans that Perth continues to churn out and becomes shit.

Joondalup gets shitter and shitter by the year, no class. Agree with all your observations and locations.

I remember going there in 1990. Wasn't that hungry so ordered a salad. At the time I was thinking "gee, $10 for a slad is a bit steep but what choice do I have". They brought out the slad and it was a small bowl with one big lettuce leaf lining it with a small amount of vegetables in the middle. I did a runner on principle.