Society & Culture Perth - Lad Central

have to agree that the 'danger' of going to northbridge is over-stated.

yeah, there's ********s there. but there's ********s everywhere.

subi sucks. but if you like shit music, shit people and shit shoes, go there.

I was out in Northbridge the last week pretty much (The Deen and Paramount, Metro City on the last night) didnt feel threatened at all. Not particularly brilliant places, but then im not really the clubbing type unless blind, but hardly dangerous. Good vibe actually, although that might've been because everyone was there to have a good time, and from all over the place, not just locals. Plenty of solo walks home and I was fine. Bouncers in Perth were much better than those in Wollongong as well, I think we have the worst in the world.

I dont mind Perth, CBD is like any other city and surrounds are nice, Scarborough is a decent beach. Was just shocked at the amount of lads around.

What do you guys mean when you say it's behind other cities? Is it like a town from the wild wild west or something?
Clubs close early, stupid liquor restrictions on Sundays and public holidays, no late night shopping, restricted trading hours on weekends. I like Perth plenty but in a lot of ways it's pretty much thirty years behind the rest of the country.

They're loosening up the liquor laws but it's a slow process. Once they get some of the more draconian license and retail restrictions lifted, institute daylight savings, and sort out their criminal justice system I'll move there in a flash.

Clubs close early, stupid liquor restrictions on Sundays and public holidays, no late night shopping, restricted trading hours on weekends.

I like Perth but in a lot of ways it's pretty much thirty years behind the rest of the country.

30 years, care to put that into context.

Perth is like a 1 million + bogan sized Broadmeadows

Clubs close early, stupid liquor restrictions on Sundays and public holidays, no late night shopping, restricted trading hours on weekends. I like Perth plenty but in a lot of ways it's pretty much thirty years behind the rest of the country.

They're loosening up the liquor laws but it's a slow process. Once they get some of the more draconian license and retail restrictions lifted, institute daylight savings, and sort out their criminal justice system I'll move there in a flash.

No thanks. ;)

Not sure what you mean by liquor restrictions. Most bottle shops are open on Sundays and pubs are open till pretty late here on a Sunday now. Late night shopping during the week (other than Thursdays) starts in November and many of the restrictions in retail and such are being slowly relaxed.

Daylight saving is rubbish, I hate it as does the majority of the state.

Agreed to the criminal justice system, needs sorting out big time.

Licence laws are crazy over there. I see from this thread that you're getting more licences in cafes which has been desperately needed for a long time. Also, I was in Perth for the WC final in July - the only place I could find showing it in the entire CBD area was the Elephant & Wheelbarrow because the cost and security for extended hours was too prohibitive. When I was in Melbourne the previous week for the semis there were a dozen places showing the matches.

Clubs are the worst though. They invariably close earlier than their east coast counterparts. And do you still have that stupid rule where the minute it ticks over til midnight it's classed as part of the next trading day? I couldn't believe it when I was kicked out of a pub at midnight because the next day was a public holiday and they weren't allowed to open.

It's easy to blame general cost of living and lack of pokies, but I swear the shortened trading hours are half the reason alcohol prices are so insane in Perth.

Otherwise, I love the place. It's small, but because its so far from anywhere else it has plenty of amenities. The proximity to South East Asia is a massive positive as well.

I thought Alcohol was more expensive, 8-8.50 for a spirit is pricey as hell.
No Pokies is an excellent bonus about Perth however, means the pub atmosphere isnt ruined AND never tempted to slap 20 bucks through like you would be in NSW

Licence laws are crazy over there. I see from this thread that you're getting more licences in cafes which has been desperately needed for a long time.

Clubs are the worst though. They invariably close earlier than their east coast counterparts. And do you still have that stupid rule where the minute it ticks over til midnight it's classed as part of the next trading day? I couldn't believe it when I was kicked out of a pub at midnight because the next day was a public holiday and they weren't allowed to open.

It's easy to blame general cost of living and lack of pokies, but I swear the shortened trading hours are half the reason alcohol prices are so insane in Perth.

Was out clubbing on the weekend till 4am, the club I went to was still going at that time. I also have friends who work in clubs and they regularly work till 5/6am. When was the last time you were in Perth? I've also never been booted out a pub at midnight either, 1am perhaps but definitely not midnight.

Alcohol is expensive though I'll give you that, the various taxes tacked onto everything haven't made anything cheaper. A lot of people will pay those prices though as they simply don't care or are just used to it if it's a bottle shop. Personally I'll shop around a bit to save a few dollars.

When it comes to clubs/pubs, drunk people will pay for drinks anyway so prices aren't really relevent as long as they can drink more and get even more smashed.

I haven't clubbed in Perth in probably 3-4 years. There were a couple of places open at 4 but they were more the exception than the rule. Most gave us the arse at 2.

I think Macca's pays all the Melbourne venues to start booting people out when their breakfast opens.... BASTARDS!

More logically Macca's opens just when people are getting kicked out.

Doesn't Perth have ridiculous rules regarding what shoes you can wear to clubs? Also I hear people get much more dressed up to go clubbing (ie. shirt with collar is standard)?

Some clubs have restrictions on shoes i.e. no laces, no 'sneakers', but most will let you in as long as you have properly enclosed shoes.

As for the dressing up thing, that's not true. Most guys that I've seen don't get dressed up, it's generally just a t-shirt and jeans.

Perth is expensive, over-regulated and full of ********s.

If you go there for the pub/club scene you have rocks in your head.

CBD pubs...

My Place on Pier St - tables outside on the footpath - nothing unheard of. If you go to the bar and order a drink, you have to walk outside and find a seat then the girl will bring your beer to you. You are not permitted to walk outside with your own drink even if you have a table. Cheapest pint is $7.50 for local stuff.

The Generous Squire on Murray St - Half a dozen or so James Squire varieties on tap, $10 a pint. No idea what bottled beers, wine etc. costs.

Dirty Nelly's - $7 a pint beer of the month, everything else more than that. Run of the mill Irish Pub with occasional live music.

Moon and Sixpence - Murray St. Full of high-vis wearing ********s on Friday afternoons, no cheaper than any of the above, run of the mill English pub.

...now if you want to go somewhere more upmarket in a nice location like the Raffles then you are looking at $12 a pint. FFS I've drunk cheaper beers in Norway!

Why is everyone mentioning "the moon", thought only asians went there.

Shit beers, but a nice beer garden. Would only go there during the day.

No idea about the sort of people that go there, only been a few times.

Belgium beer cafe is the same in regards to taking beers outside, no idea why they wont let you walk out with it but then you can sit out there with a beer? Must be some sort of law because it doesn't make much sense to me.

As stupid as it might sound it could be because the path between the pub and the outdoor area is not apart of there venue. and you cant take beer outside the venue.

correct me if im wrong though.

wtf is the moon.

after work we sometimes go to the generous squire, its next to dirty nellys

Perth sucks. The people suck, the place suck and most importantly the people suck. People here are upthemselves and think they are better than everyone else. Well over 99.99999% of men are jerks (not including me) and most of the women are whores who always doll themselves up like a porcelain doll and wear ****ty clothes. People are arrogant, uptight and unfriendly. I cant wait till i leave oneday.

U-mad-brah.jpg