PGT: Melbourne v Adelaide

• Thread starter Thread starter Deestroy

For all the post-match general discussion.

Melbourne 4.10.34
Adelaide 7.9.51

Goals
Melbourne: Dunn 2, McDonald, McLean.
Adelaide: Tippett 2, Johncock, McLeod, Porplyzia, Stevens, Walker.

Thought they at least showed some heart in patches, but gees we are lacking a foward line.

Do you think the melbourne coaching panel has finally realised that Dunn is a forward!!!!!!!

If Newton had popped those two 10m goals away, as well as Jetta's late miss, and Petterds to an extent, we could have snagged a win there.

Adelaide's experience won out, but by gee, we hung in there. I'm pretty happy with that effort to be honest, still need Robbo and Watts in there but the defence held up brilliantly.

James Frawley and Jared Rivers were superb.

Frawley's run whenever he got the ball was Simon Buckley like without the getting caught.

Rivers' pressure and decision making were excellent, always knew what to do when the ball was near him.

Dunn goes forward, kicks 2 goals. Next week he'll be back in the middle without a doubt and I'll die inside a little more.

Bennell, MAN-CRUSH!!!!

Davey, excellent but is a shit actor and should give up his dreams of winning an Oscar it's not going to happen.

That is honestly the most bizarre game I have to been to in 20 years. The fact that we took 2 1/2 quarters to kick a goal but were right in it seventeen minutes into the last quarter was unbelievable. For a great swathe of that we actually matched up to them but couldn't get the job done on the scoreboard.

Batshit crazy, that's what that was. And it wasn't as cold as I expected.

P.S - Shoot Newton

definitely a frustrating game to watch, final qtr we finally started playing some half decent football, and tried to get back into it. only 17 points, so it wasnt too bad in the end.
Bennel, Davey, Rivers, Mclean and Bruce all did well. Dunn and Frawley also tried.

Juice- surely he played his last game for the demons, we have given him enough chances, he cant kick, mark, run.
PJ- he needs to be dropped, surely playing 2 inexperienced ruckman is better than playing PJ.

P.S - Shoot Newton
I have never known a player who kills his side as much as Newton. He does sfa, in fact he takes up the space of a player who may have at least 1 string to their bow. He had a small semblance of a chance to be relevant today and he totally muffed both chances from 5 - 10 meters out. He serves no purpose what so ever.

**** him off now!!!

I have never known a player who kills his side as much as Newton. He does sfa, in fact he takes up the space of a player who may have at least 1 string to their bow. He had a small semblance of a chance to be relevant today and he totally muffed both chances from 5 - 10 meters out.

**** him off now!!!

It's that one good game he to manages scrounger up every noun and then A.K.A last week that keeps him safe, and Im so sick of it! he is so inconsistent surely there are 20 players who could do a better job and he has had more opportunities than any other player I know. why are we wasting time and energy on this spud. ahhhh....Im glad i got that out.

On a brighter note I sat in about 10 seats from pia miller. highlight of my day.

also spoke my mate spoke with wheatley after the game and he said robbo will be back next week. lock it in

Before the game Clint Batram's father passed away unexpectedley which was sad and I send my condolences to the Bartam family and hope nothing but the best of wishes to Clint Batram and his family. But that was the most bizzare thing I have seen and heard. And a fair few of the diehard supporters that went to the game you deserve thumbs up :thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:.

And next week we have our own Mission Improbable: vs Geelong. From what I heard today the absolutely destroyed Brisbane down the Highway at Skilled Stadium/Kardinia Park. 18.18 126 to 5.3 33 was the final score.

And even though it is going to be at the M.C.G. it is still a tough assignment. If we do beat them, we will have to play out of our skin, bones, organs. Hopefully we can get Robbo back, sooner rather than later. We needed Green today.

Anyway this wraps up a cataclysmic round 5 of footy.

To all I say "Go Dees"
And "Good Afternoon Good Evening and Good Night"

Signing off

Marc Maverick

On a brighter note I sat in about 10 seats from pia miller. highlight of my day.

also spoke my mate spoke with wheatley after the game and he said robbo will be back next week. lock it in

i dont know which one of those made me happier :D:D

i'll say this: as disappointing as the boys were, adelaide are sure as hell going nowhere.

did anyone else hear brock say on sen that this is the firt year that melbourne has had a full time weights coach on board. Amazing in this day and age how far behind we can be due to our financial position

Nothing surprises me when it comes to MFC's resources in player conditioning. Taylor Walker made Cam Bruce look like Cale Morton at 15.

• Bennel was fantastic and Meesen again had a crack.
  • Is cale Morton that young still that he is kicking to the little league goals. Go straight FFS.
  • That was a shocking game of football.
  • Adelaide were shocking and played negative zone defensive SHIT football. We are just not a good football side and could not break it down.
  • Cam Bruce handballed to stationary players more times than I can count though did try hard. Why we did not move the ball quickly is beyond me.
  • Our backline was superb and Davey's foot skills stood out in an awful contest
  • Dunn has to play forward. He actually leads. Rather than running back with his hands in the air
  • Paul Johnson has the awairness of a pentioner at the pokies (looks around for the best machine but looks at so many forgets where he is)
  • The only reason I have ever remotely liked Newton was I shagged his cousin for a while. Even then she wasnt worth it.
  • We somehow had a chance to win with 10 minutes to play
  • Great to see Brock take over in the last quarter though he still looks like he is running on the spot.
  • Jones thinks he is Robert Harvey. He is not. In fact I think his shadow tackled him tonight his baulk was so obvious. However at least he has a crack.
  • Frawley is becoming a very good player and Warnock just keeps getting the job done.
  • Jetta looks Knackered every time he runs but thought his input was better tonight
  • Can someone tell me where Matthew Bate that used to play for Melbourne has gone
  • We missed Brad Green. A LOT

[*]The only reason I have ever remotely liked Newton was I shagged his cousin for a while. Even then she wasnt worth it.

Best thing ever written on this forum :D

• Bennel was fantastic and Meesen again had a crack.
  • Is cale Morton that young still that he is kicking to the little league goals. Go straight FFS.
  • That was a shocking game of football.
  • Adelaide were shocking and played negative zone defensive SHIT football. We are just not a good football side and could not break it down.
  • Cam Bruce handballed to stationary players more times than I can count though did try hard. Why we did not move the ball quickly is beyond me.
  • Our backline was superb and Davey's foot skills stood out in an awful contest
  • Dunn has to play forward. He actually leads. Rather than running back with his hands in the air
  • Paul Johnson has the awairness of a pentioner at the pokies (looks around for the best machine but looks at so many forgets where he is)
  • The only reason I have ever remotely liked Newton was I shagged his cousin for a while. Even then she wasnt worth it.
  • We somehow had a chance to win with 10 minutes to play
  • Great to see Brock take over in the last quarter though he still looks like he is running on the spot.
  • Jones thinks he is Robert Harvey. He is not. In fact I think his shadow tackled him tonight his baulk was so obvious. However at least he has a crack.
  • Frawley is becoming a very good player and Warnock just keeps getting the job done.
  • Jetta looks Knackered every time he runs but thought his input was better tonight
  • Can someone tell me where Matthew Bate that used to play for Melbourne has gone
  • We missed Brad Green. A LOT

Im afraid that pressure free youngster went the day we started having no forward line. And he became a main target.

I thought Your defence was great today we couldnt get it past half foward at any time very fustrating for us.

Im afraid that pressure free youngster went the day we started having no forward line. And he became a main target.

Agree. Think he will still be a good player but needs to be the 3rd or 4th option.

Did forget two other points
  • Our tackling and pressure was excellent
  • The umpiring was shisenhousen. I dont think any 3 teams tonight could have been much worse

Positives

- Our defence stood up very well today. Kept the opposition to just 7 goals, although the windy conditions helped considerably.
- We won the 3rd and 4th quarters. Shows we never gave up, despite the laughable circumstances.
- We could have stolen a win, had we maintained composure and kicked a bit straighter.
- McLean and Moloney both worked hard for 58 disposals and 16 tackles combined (although they weren't always effective).
- Davey was a shining light in the back half. Wish we had three more for the rest of the field.
- Dunn took his chances and kicked 2 from 2, something which the rest of the team failed to do.

Negatives

- 1 goal in three quarters, 4 for the entire match. Not good enough.
- Forward line had no structure. Miller, Newton and Bate combined for 0.6 goals and 9 marks.
- The midfield delivery was poor, which didn't help the forwards. At the same time, the lack of structure didn't help the midfielders.

I'd be tempted to make a couple of changes.

Out: Newton, Bate, Johnson

In: Robertson, Maric, Spencer

Can't do any harm bringing in the Spence seeing as they'll only be going up against Blake and Mumford/West.

Bate just looked terrible and Maric is worthy of a game.

Robbo in for Newton, no brainer.

Did anyone seem to think they must have forgotten to pump the ball up to correct pressure for the first bounce ? skills from both sides were disgraceful, but they definatley picked up after 1/4 time....

Wow, Newton, you have to go young man....who knows what sort of coin your on,but i honestly reckon all 14,000 that were there today could have slotted your 2 shots at goal for your contract fee!!!!:thumbsd::thumbsd::thumbsd:

Good to see Big meesen (spelling?) take a few solid grabs.Warnock,martyn and frawley were great. Hats off to the backline who were solid and linked well at crucial times of the game.

The OVERUSE OF HANDBALLING was extremely frustrating ... Jones,Bruce and at times maloney were the culprits of this one..Had to take the BRAINS and experience of Davey and Macca to actually let the guys know part of playing AFL is kicking the ball too.

Massivley evident today we are lacking height and bulk in that fwd line. Front and centers were also non existent at contests which is what needs to be emphasised if we are going to go into games with a small fwd line.

We fought hard till the final siren - a big factor to the 09 seasons improvement. Better luck next week dees :thumbsu: