Phantom draft now up

DJ75 said:
I know it's one out of the box, but then not many of us (me included) had heard of Johncock before either. To tell you the truth I'm not even sure Rischbieth has nominated, but I hope so.
The reason no-one else has mentioned him is because he played so little U17 footy. I can tell you this however, in the U17 prelim final, Tom played CHF against South Adelaide and literally tore them apart (bugger!). South senior coach Robert Pyman (who did scouting for Collingwood) marked him then as clearly the best player out there and, not knowing his running ability, as a player who is capable of AFL.
I guess I can only hope it's one of those ones Alan Stewart hides close to his chest and stuns everyone with later. I really hope we don't go through the Fantasia model of ignoring a player until he has a breakout season and then gets picked up before we have a pick the next year (Pavlich/Griffen anyone?)
Oh and he is old enough to nimonate, I'm just not sure if he did. Any way of checking?
Griffen??????

This is Griffen's first year where he is eligible for the draft. I know James Fantasia was raving about this kid when he was 15.

Stiffy_18 said:
Griffen??????

This is Griffen's first year where he is eligible for the draft. I know James Fantasia was raving about this kid when he was 15.
My apologies, other than down at Club South I hadn't heard any mention of Griffen from the Crows. Oh well, maybe that's what Fantasia had been hoping to do in the first place.
Anyway, I just wanted to go on the record with this kid so that next year I can say "see I told you so!" :D
Of course if he turns out a dud I've never heard of him....... :p

Stiffy_18 said:
Griffen??????

My naivety here but is there ANY WAY these quality locals can be hidden for a year or two, to then be drafted by us????

Hide them from the draft? What like Port did??
Nah, we're the crows we like to play safe and fair (even when everyone else is cheating)!
Still 8 premiership players paid not to nominate one year so Port could claim them the next and all they get is a 50 thousand dollar fine? Didn't Andrew Mackay, Robert Pyman and Brett Chalmers all get fined at least twenty grand each for draft tampering? Let's see 20 times 8 is.........well it's not 50!! Don't get me started.......... :mad:

Ahhh don't know about you guys but i'm feeling abit toey today. I wonder how Fanta and Co. feel knowing that the decisions they make tomorrow, will greatly impact mine and my unborn childrens future happiness. :D

Go You Crows

DJ75 said:
Nah, we're the crows we like to play safe and fair (even when everyone else is cheating)!
Still 8 premiership players paid not to nominate one year so Port could claim them the next and all they get is a 50 thousand dollar fine? Didn't Andrew Mackay, Robert Pyman and Brett Chalmers all get fined at least twenty grand each for draft tampering? Let's see 20 times 8 is.........well it's not 50!! Don't get me started.......... :mad:

It would've been a bit dodgy for the AFL to come down heavily on that, considering the AFL had already breached their agreement for Port to enter the league in 1996. If that had happened as planned, all 8 of those players would have been on our list anyway.

Porthos said:
It would've been a bit dodgy for the AFL to come down heavily on that, considering the AFL had already breached their agreement for Port to enter the league in 1996. If that had happened as planned, all 8 of those players would have been on our list anyway.
do you mean 96 or 90? Of course we all know the second license was given to prt in 1990, but hey we don't want to upset grandfather Max do we?
Ah you got to love port, back stabbers all of them and yet they want a fair go afterwards!! :eek: give me a break :rolleyes:

We don't expect a fair go from the SANFL, but we surely should from the AFL for helping them out with SA teams twice.

Porthos said:

We don't expect a fair go from the SANFL, but we surely should from the AFL for helping them out with SA teams twice.
Of course you wouldn't expect a fair go from the SANFL, you only had the largest and best recruiting zones for a hundred years...........
Oh and if by 'helping out' you mean "eroding away any strength the SANFL had to demand a fairer competition and entry requirements" then mission accomplished!

They were the best zones because we helped make them the best. Even when they were regularly reduced by the creation of other SANFL teams, we -still- won premierships.

Porthos said:
They were the best zones because we helped make them the best. Even when they were regularly reduced by the creation of other SANFL teams, we -still- won premierships.
I will give your club credit for working your zones well, but you have to have the players first and everyone knew which zones were the most productive.
Still I'm happy for you to cheat all you like, it's Crows 2-Port 1 and the more on both sides of the ledger the better...........at least it means the Vics aren't winning!

DJ75 said:

Honestly mate, would you have expected anything less from them. When you also throw in the harsh finals draw the AFL gave Brissie, you could say Ports win was the mother of all tainted premierships.

DJ75 said:
I will give your club credit for working your zones well, but you have to have the players first and everyone knew which zones were the most productive.
Still I'm happy for you to cheat all you like, it's Crows 2-Port 1 and the more on both sides of the ledger the better...........at least it means the Vics aren't winning!

When do you think it will be our turn for the AFL to gift us a premiership?

DJ75 said:

Imagine how good we could be if we could somehow keep Griffen,Wood, Meyer, Monfries, Russell, Grundy, Gibson and Eckermann out of this years draft. Sh*te mate, I would even be willing to chip in to help the AFC out with $50,000 fine.

And we all know there was never an SANFL retention scheme that helped the Crows out, don't we? Oh wait.

SpringChoke said:
Honestly mate, would you have expected anything less from them. When you also throw in the harsh finals draw the AFL gave Brissie, you could say Ports win was the mother of all tainted premierships.

*lol*

But dont try tell them that. You just cant rationalise with people from down the Port....