TheTrav

Orlando Magic, Horses that win
Well we got up in a tight one with pretty much no-one fit on the bench, and without Nick for the 2nd half pretty much. Good character building win, which we needed after our pathetic lose in SA. Still we need so much more contested ball or we will get hurt by the better teams in the comp.

Regardless, very happy with a win, just wish all our wins were not nail biters.

We were extremely lucky to win, nevertheless we could never have won if we hadn't worked so hard to keep ourselves in a position to win it.

We have been on the Richmond side of the result many times before. It is not fun, but they showed plenty of heart tonight and will continue to improve.

Our boys also showed plenty of heart and they will take a lot of positives away from tonight. They won without Riewoldt for much of the night, they had a depleted bench for much of the second half and nearly completely so due to injuries late in the match. We were smashed in the ruck and yet we were able to adapt and dominate the clearances.

All in all there were plenty of excuses why we might have lost, so we can be happy that we claimed the points and we will have a break and regroup for the next part of the season.

Mixed feelings about the win. On one hand we pulled it off despite having practically no bench and missing key players for the whole game. On the other hand it was same old for most of the match, I'm having trouble trying to convince myself it would have been any different even if we were full strength. Most dissappointing we were soft, not just that but we were made look soft by Richmond.

Hopefully we'll take heart from this win and get it together for the Pies, but I've been hoping we'll improve every week so far and we just haven't changed all year and I am losing faith, I think we're looking at a 40 odd point loss next week.

Anyway glad we got the 4 points so I can calm down, celebrate and look forward to collecting my $25 bet from my Richmond supporting mate on Monday :thumbsu:

Quick question, I heard this on Channel 10 a few weeks ago. Apparently, we haven't lost a Saturday night game at the Dome for many years now. Anyone know the exact stat?

I'm glad we won but I get this horrible feeling that we cannot rely on Milney to kick a bag of goals each week. Do we have the wrong approach, should Ross be setting up a three pronged attack of short forwards?
While it was good to watch I felt the game degenerated into a very undisciplined thing.

Missed the game, anything important to come out of it?
Any players play well, play poorly etc??
Just my thoughts
Good:
Milne - 7 goals BOG, but could have a shocker next week for all we know and we don't really want to be relying on him for goals
Harvey - Kicked a beautiful goal, roved the loose ball, shimmied and broke a tackle from Newman to kick one from about 25 out, reminded me why he's always been my favourite player. Saw a lot of it too, 2nd best on ground
Ball - Great effort, a bunch of contested possessions and clearances which none of our other players seemed able to do.
Dal Santo - Best game this year, I think Montagna copped the best tag though (and had a poor night by his standards)
Birss - Good job on Foley, wouldn't expect him to be dropped next week.

Poor:
Raph Clarke - A mixture of flashes of brilliance and a fair bit of shocking decision making and turn overs.
Goose - A shadow of the player he once was :( Hopefully he can get back to his Best-CHB-in-the-comp type form soon but at the moment he doesn't look up to it.
M. Gardiner and Koschitzke whilst in ruck (Kozi was good around the ground though) - Got absolutely dominated by Simmonds. We really need King back, he's miles ahead of M. Gardiner
Most of the team - got smashed in clearances, fair enough when a ruck is dominating, but worse they got smashed in contested possessions as well. Soft effort.

Hudghton late withdrawal, X. Clarke and Riewoldt out for a couple of weeks

What the hell,

Riewoldt out for 4?
Milney bagged 7?
Max late exclusion?
No bench in the last qtr?
Kosi reported?

Any news on the above?

What did Kosi do? If it was just that push and shove stuff, it will not go very far at the tribunal.

What the hell,

Riewoldt out for 4?
Milney bagged 7?
Max late exclusion?
No bench in the last qtr?
Kosi reported?

Any news on the above?

Only head on radio:
Roo injured his knee in a marking contest due to a deliberate free kick. Will be out about four matches, so MMM reported him saying.
Kosi was reported for charging or striking? Commentators recon he will go.
X Clarke did a hammy (I wonder if we can get the money for the FF licence back?)
Maguire's foot was sore, but he should be right for next match (in two weeks)
Baker got a bump on his knee but will be okay
Dal went up the race at 3/4 time but got back on the ground
Milney was isolated in the forward 50. Good move by RL as he was hot today.
Not sure what happened to Max.

No bench last quarter (including Kosi going off to spew!) so good to hold on against an in form side and an in career form Richo.

Hopefully we can hit some form soon and looks like the Gehrig solution will present itself as Kosi may be out and Roo will be for a month.

If we hit form, it could be great, we are in the top eight having played terribly.

good work by the boys to hang on to the win tonight.

Kosi will get a week, but woulda got off if he played for the swans.... wish the afl looked after us like they do the swanies.

good work by the boys to hang on to the win tonight.

Kosi will get a week, but woulda got off if he played for the swans.... wish the afl looked after us like they do the swanies.

Ah the Sympathy Swans. Still getting salary cap concessions even though Perth is more expensive. Pick the favourite child...

Im with you Tassie Saint this might not make sense but i thought we showed less fire in the belly for that win than we did in the first couple of quarters of the previous losses . Richmond have found a nice structure but looked more like how weve played recently plenty of purpose and posessions but too many poor disposals lost it for them . We looked a bit flat or tired or slow or something and got out of jail against an average team (thats improving) but we'll take the 4 points, hope that we got something else out of it like maybe some confidence but we will definately need to do better than that against the top sides and your saying Matt Maguire not in form ive never liked him or Raph Clarke . For a couple of nice marks and runs out of defence the clumsy free kicks they give away and turnovers they constantly do that result in goals against us aren't worth it and they just have such a poor awareness of being run down when they have the Ball.

First up, well done on the 4 points, our own turnovers mostly to blame.

Thought it was great seasoned warrior used his time after the game to go over to Jack and have a chat to him. As the opposition he didn't have have to, could've just shook his hand and wandered off again but he stopped, had some words, and Jack looked better for it.

Had a great game last night too.

But yeah, just more respect for Harvey if I could have any more.

? dal was great..

good hard win by the boys!
Maguire, frazer and rah clarke are finished however..
it was very sad watching them play last night. they were a liability all night. imo they should be droped to casey untill they find form, but i dont think they ever will sadly..(i hope they do but i dont think they will)
it was like being 3 men down before the game even started.
I think we need to give geary and allen a run, maybe they can give us a more even contribusion..

I was pretty pleased with the win -

Harvey and Milne were excellent as were a few others like Dal and Ball and they didn't play that boring chip-it-around-all-day type footy, they got it moving forward as much as possible..

I struggle to see how Raph Clarke continues to get a game.. I know he was a late replacement but surely younger players like Geary would produce and develop much more. He just makes so many errors and is too slow and always getting himself into bad positions.

Lucky to win with that poster at the end, but they deserved it IMO without Riewoldt for a bit and Hudghton, who could have taken Richo a bit better then others..

is nicole dal santo the softest player going round, seemed to here many footsteps sat night:(

Clutching at straws there mate.

You should look with the other eye at how you get your soft free kicks.

Richmond were ALWAYS in front in the free kick count. Players like Jake King and Richard Tambling deliberately play for free kicks. This isn't football.

Dal Santo was playing injured and still outperformed almost every player on the field. I would have Robert Harvey, Steven Milne, Richardson and Nathan G Brown as the only players who had a better night.

As I said - clutching at straws.

P.S. Is your spelling and punctuation a true reflection of your education?

is nicole dal santo the softest player going round, seemed to here many footsteps sat night:(

Yes, we were all soft and we still beat you. Hilarious. We could put a bunch of under 10s in St Kilda jumpers and they'd knock you off. You are our b1tch.

I had some loser sitting behind me at the game last night sating stuff like this. Firstly he was very good and secondly if your mob could kick half as accuratly as him then you might have hit a few more targets.