Pick 5

• Thread starter Thread starter CrazyQ

We need goal kicking midfielders like Harvey and Grant, the reason that team like Geelong and St Kilda are doing so well is that apart from having a core group of exceptional players in their specialist role, majority of their team can double up and play a secondary more compitently then most of other teams' specialists. Most of the Geebung mids can rotate forward and play as really good small forwards or move back and play as small backs it's the versatility that makes the Geelong have 'more' players at any time. If we look at NM, our mid are just mid, cant do much else.

Go and get the best there is no questions asked.I dont care if the kid comes from tim buck 2 as long as he can use the ball and go hard thats all i want.I dont care about his teeth or hair.North go for the player that goes in and gets it and takes no prisoners.With Brad Scott at the helm he will go for players with balls.

Cunnington for mine. He's a ferocious gut-runner who knows where the goals are. There are better kicks(Martin, Tapscott) but put enough goal kicking ball magnets in a team together and special thinks happen.
Scott has indicated that winning the contested ball is what he's about. Cunnington seems to have real need for the ball and fills the bill. He'll make it as a player.
And it is this that could very well see Cunnington become a Roo. However if Martin is still available at pick 5, I think he'll be our man. He has great kicking skill and Bryce Lewis loves that shit.:thumbsu:

We need goal kicking midfielders like Harvey and Grant, the reason that team like Geelong and St Kilda are doing so well is that apart from having a core group of exceptional players in their specialist role, majority of their team can double up and play a secondary more compitently then most of other teams' specialists. Most of the Geebung mids can rotate forward and play as really good small forwards or move back and play as small backs it's the versatility that makes the Geelong have 'more' players at any time. If we look at NM, our mid are just mid, cant do much else.

Ziebell - Can play forward.
Swallow - Kicks goals for a midfielder.
Boomer - Could be a small forward, but kicks goals for a midfielder.
Wells - Can play as a running back or midfielder.
Levi - Can play defense.
Adams - Can play as a HFF who plays most of his time in the middle.
Jesse Smith - Can play defence.
Urquhart - Can play defence.
Wright - Can play forward or in the middle, or even as a half back.

That's a fair few guys who can do more than just play on ball. I no doubt missed a couple as well.

yea cunnington would be pretty nice too

his junior career sounds a lot like ziebells
played a fair bit of senior footy in the country, kicked a few bags playing as a key forward

from what ive seen id say he is very similar to ziebell but probably a bit quicker and with nowhere near as good kicking

yea cunnington would be pretty nice too

his junior career sounds a lot like ziebells
played a fair bit of senior footy in the country, kicked a few bags playing as a key forward

from what ive seen id say he is very similar to ziebell but probably a bit quicker and with nowhere near as good kicking
I think his similarity to Ziebell and Swallow too to a lesser extent, could mean we don't look at him as favourably as we should. If Morabito and Martin are gone and we are faced with a decision Cunnington or Rohan, I think we will take Rohan.

Unfortunately for you guys it seems that Scully is the only one that would have gone in the top 10 of last years draft. At best Trengove may have snuck in. Struggle to see you getting a good player at pick 5:(

Lucky we got Sammy Wright in the 2nd round and Liam Anthony at 43 last year hey.

Pick 5 will get you a player of undoubted talent in any draft.

Whether that player turns to be AFL quality, or suffers injuries etc is another matter, but to pretend that having the fifth pick at the best talent isn't gunna get you quality is madness.

What?

So, your opinion holds more weight than countless others involved in the trade, and our own opinions from what we've seen, heard and read?

We'll do fine with pick 5 PearsLair!

See Marty?

This is what happens when old Biff gives young Biff the Sports Almanac, who then hands it over to some Essendon flog.

I've heard there is only one player that is of AFL level in this draft, he will sneak through to the third round and in 2015 there will only be two teams... whoever drafts him and Gold Coast.

What?

So, your opinion holds more weight than countless others involved in the trade, and our own opinions from what we've seen, heard and read?

We'll do fine with pick 5 PearsLair!
Not my opinion as I don't know much about the draft. More what I have been hearing. Think of the 2003 draft is what I've been told. Of course that information could be rubbish.

Good luck in any case.

You can never have enough Ranga! Turner was adamant. In fact, he stressed "this kid (Rohan) is THE most exciting kid I've ever seen with our club!"

Cunnington, he said, was "a mix between Bartel and Hodge. A future leader and a franchise player who's THE toughest kid I've ever seen in any junior club, not just ours!"

Both ringing endorsements.

My only concern with Rohan is the body shape, he has the chicken legs similar to Wells or Matera. His speed and acceleration is a huge part of his X factor, most players just can't generate burst of speed like that.

My concern for players like that is when they bulk up or if they suffer a leg injury. Speed isn't important for someone like Ziebell, it is for someone like a Wells or Rohan.

My only concern with Rohan is the body shape, he has the chicken legs similar to Wells or Matera. His speed and acceleration is a huge part of his X factor, most players just can't generate burst of speed like that.

My concern for players like that is when they bulk up or if they suffer a leg injury. Speed isn't important for someone like Ziebell, it is for someone like a Wells or Rohan.

I hear ya Zvim but Micky Turner won me over yesterday morning with what he said. It wasn't just what he said but the way he said it.......very passionately. He's not a spruiker type. He's a straight shooter.

You guys should just hand us your first rounder for Sam Power and Daniel Harris if this draft is so awful. Guaranteed that someone other than Scully will turn out to be an All Australian player.

I hear ya Zvim but Micky Turner won me over yesterday morning with what he said. It wasn't just what he said but the way he said it.......very passionately. He's not a spruiker type. He's a straight shooter.

The point is, Rohan is going to be drafted without a doubt. If Turner was indeed on a spruiking mission, it would be on behalf of a borderline kid who may or may not get picked up. With Rohan, he's just telling it the way he sees it as you say. I think we are going to have a cult hero with either of these kids. Would be a dream to somehow scam both.

You guys should just hand us your first rounder for Sam Power and Daniel Harris if this draft is so awful. Guaranteed that someone other than Scully will turn out to be an All Australian player.

And no guarantee Scully will. Could be the new Travis Johnstone.

The point is, Rohan is going to be drafted without a doubt. If Turner was indeed on a spruiking mission, it would be on behalf of a borderline kid who may or may not get picked up. With Rohan, he's just telling it the way he sees it as you say. I think we are going to have a cult hero with either of these kids. Would be a dream to somehow scam both.

Yep, which brings me back to what Turner was suggesting had the Demons interested. He's won me over, on both of them. Rohan's height and speed interests me alot, but even moreso after hearing Turner say what he said!

"The most exciting kid we've ever had" is a fair endorsement!

I like Rohan, but isn't he a little bit of a risk?

He's not a full-time midfielder, he only averages 14 disposals per game at TAC level and doesn't fill an important need. Speed isn't as important as having a well-rounded Ziebell type midfielder in Martin.

I like what I've seen, and that goes for all of the top prospects. I'm a Cunnington/ Rohan fan now, but I'll love whoever we end up choosing.

From what I've seen of Rohan he's an absolute gun! Yep, not an accumulator but hell he looks like a match winner. Turner's words were very definite, and that was after he'd been waffling on about Hodge, Bartel and Ablett. Remember though that he was also blown away by Cunnington.

He reckons teams are absolutely crazy if they don't take these blokes as early as possible, and his track record of recognising talent is pretty decent you'd think.

Apparently he copped a huge amount of criticism for selecting a young G. Ablett Jnr for a junior rep team, as he was an immature average player compared to his peers at the time. He was their best player of the carnival and now has a Brownlow.

I don't see any more risk in selecting Rohan than any other kid.