Votes: 10 3.6%
  • Aiden Bonar

Votes: 15 5.4%
  • Nathan Murphy

Votes: 3 1.1%

Apart from his injury riddled year, and the fact that he is being drafted on potential not performance, Fogarty seems the obvious choice, but it's not the kind of selection you really want to make at pick 6. We took Scharenberg at pick 6 whose toes were subsequently all but amputated. Why not take someone this time with a clean bill of health? Or is pick 6 going to become our Groundhog Day, destined to repeat the same error again and again and again?

I reckon we took a bit of a "risk" on Scharenberg given that we also had pick 10.

This is in line with my theory as to why St Kilda will take a punt on Stephenson at 7 or 8, because the other pick can be a safer bet.

I reckon we took a bit of a "risk" on Scharenberg given that we also had pick 10.

This is in line with my theory as to why St Kilda will take a punt on Stephenson at 7 or 8, because the other pick can be a safer bet.

Good theory but implying Freeman was a safer bet blows that out of the water

Imagine having to listen to it.
It'd be "like" talking to like a teenager.

It's way better than the 'you know what I mean' or 'sort of a thing' us Greeks tend to say at the end of every sentence wouldn't you say?

Good theory but implying Freeman was a safer bet blows that out of the water

Enough torture guys that Freeman pick will go down as our worst 1st rounder ever :(

We traded him for decent value two years later and therefore recouped back some losses, so Chris Egan still has Freeman covered. Egan didnt even have injury as an excuse!

Is he good too go next yr?

Saint's gave us pick 23 or some shit for him didn't they? For a bloke with a cactus hamstring. Did he play any games this yr?

I think we got away with it a lil given we got that pick. Got rid of him at the right time.

We traded him for decent value two years later and therefore recouped back some losses, so Chris Egan still has Freeman covered. Egan didnt even have injury as an excuse!
Is he good too go next yr?

Saint's gave us pick 23 or some shit for him didn't they? For a bloke with a cactus hamstring. Did he play any games this yr?

I think we got away with it a lil given we got that pick. Got rid of him at the right time.

Trade price two years later means nothing to me. The pick stunk. For good measure though we pissed that up the wall on Aish so again enough of the torture...

Gimpy I have no idea on his fitness, but I do know that he’s just not that good a footballer. Think Josh Smith with pace, but with a complete lack of footy smarts.

FWIW Timmy Freeman makes Egan look like Ablett. It’s just a shame you’ll never get to see why!

Trade price two years later means nothing to me. The pick stunk. For good measure though we pissed that up the wall on Aish so again enough of the torture...

Gimpy I have no idea on his fitness, but I do know that he’s just not that good a footballer. Think Josh Smith with pace, but with a complete lack of footy smarts.

FWIW Timmy Freeman makes Egan look like Ablett. It’s just a shame you’ll never get to see why!

Many people wanted us to take Aish instead of Freeman in the first place!!!!

The current criticism of Aish is the kind of 20-20 hindsight I am talking about. Highly rated by many on draft day and now nobody rates him suddenly. (Freeman not so much, many criticised his recruitement from day 1)

Wasn't impressed by his character/personality either.

There was a CTV clip of him and Scharenberg a while ago.. thought he was a bit of smart ass.. up himself. Wasn't a big fan of his character from the get go.

He played 4 VFL games this yr.. hamstring issues once again.

4 yrs in the system.. has yet to play a senior game.

Kreas.

Many people wanted us to take Aish instead of Freeman in the first place!!!!

The current criticism of Aish is the kind of 20-20 hindsight I am talking about. (Freeman not so much, many criticised his recruitement from day 1)

And many people were wrong. It happens. At least Aish isn’t the bomb Freeman was. Aish doesn’t want it enough and wasn’t worth the price paid.

It’s actually a really straight forward discussion. There’s grey in most on here, but this one is seriously cut and dried everyone knows it as well except Pies supporters it seems...

Edit: don’t feel bad about it the same happened with Toumpas. When he was traded to the Power and even post 2016 Power fans still thought he had it. The problem is the system got the talent ID wrong on them.

He played 4 VFL games this yr.. hamstring issues once again.

4 yrs in the system.. has yet to play a senior game.

Kreas.

Precisely. A little part of me wants him to get a few games before he’s delisted post 2018 to show just how poo the selection was, but knowing him he’ll injure something just as he’s about to get a game!

Oh well all aboard the Fog express. From a list build perspective it makes so much sense and hints at bigger things to come post 2018 ;)

Precisely. A little part of me wants him to get a few games before he’s delisted post 2018 to show just how poo the selection was, but knowing him he’ll injure something just as he’s about to get a game!

Oh well all aboard the Fog express. From a list build perspective it makes so much sense and hints at bigger things to come post 2018 ;)

Well said file

The God's have bought him to us.. at last!

And many people were wrong. It happens. At least Aish isn’t the bomb Freeman was. Aish doesn’t want it enough and wasn’t worth the price paid.

It’s actually a really straight forward discussion. There’s grey in most on here, but this one is seriously cut and dried everyone knows it as well except Pies supporters it seems...

Edit: don’t feel bad about it the same happened with Toumpas. When he was traded to the Power and even post 2016 Power fans still thought he had it. The problem is the system got the talent ID wrong on them.

It does look like Aish has picked up his rating somewhat.. better times on the track. Here's hoping he wakes up to himself.. I think he's really talented. He's got the awareness issue though.. the Kozi syndrome.

If these scouts are doing their jobs.. how is it that they don't look at this as an issue when rating a player. Kozi (Saint's) wasn't the player everyone thought he'd be.. BC of this major flaw in his game. No awareness whatsoever.

Demons have a long history with early picks
McLean
Johnstone
Sylvia
Bate
Dunn (servicable)
Morton
Frawley - good pick but he left
Watts
Scully - they got that right but he walked
Trengrove
Gysberts
Cook
Toumpas

Started to get it right recently with Salem Brayshaw Petracca Oliver etc. But its been a long drought for them. Much worse than Collingwood!!

Be awesome if I was sponsored by Centrelink today re.

Wake up.. straight on the couch.. not shower.. watch the ashes until 6.. scratch my ass.. order Domino's pizza.. fill up my ashtray with Rollo cigs that smell like dog turd.. then watch the draft.

Bliss re!

And you don't think you're betting on both sides a little by claiming that he never gets on the park, yet you know for certain that he never had any ability as a player?

But hard to make a categorical assessment when he plays so rarely, no?