List Mgmt. Pick 9

I'll take RedPill's mail at face value, because he's usually good and on this occasion his mail matches my late thoughts:

I think Stephens is right in Sydney's sights. If they are not confident on Ling and losing Jones, then maybe they want a mid with some speed. Beatson was sort of indignant on being questioned yesterday "how can you not want Green". He curtly replied "maybe we want a different type of mid. Stephens or Flanders are different kinds to Green.

So either:

5. Stephens
6. McAsey

or

5. Flanders
6. Stephens

then Freo apparently take 2 out of 3 Vic Country mates. I'm feeling Serong will be one with either Young or Flanders if there.

7. Serong
8. Young or Flanders

that leaves either Young, Flanders or McAsey to our pick. I reckon the phones will run hot. I can only see us taking Young maybe out of them 3. The deals will be streaming in.

Why is there so little footage/highlight packages this year?
Serong sounds like the perfect fit but that three minute clip is pretty underwhelming

So....in a shallow pool....dive into the shallow end??

Trade into next year? Not sure if serious. Everyone is trading OUT of next year for a reason.

Usually totally agree with that.

Being stationed North of the border now, footy talk is a lot more accessible as no one gives a sh1t about it here!

Everyone is jumping out but having multiples next year will count if you want a said player.

Sydney and GWS are expecting us to play hard next year, both with draft and players. They expect our 'window' to be open and we will want the 'gun' or even 2...

I'm sure you've heard the same?? Problem is SOS is out, so back to the drawing board...

From what I gather re: Serong, he's a Devon Smith type in the middle (tough tackle machine, capable extractor but small) and Heeney up forward (great in the air, good mark and reliable goal kicker). If he turns out to be close to those guys respectively, he'll be very good. I think with AR, he'd flourish in a short period of time.

Look forward to scenes tonight when something crazy happens. But I'm still on the #StephensTrain

I'll take RedPill's mail at face value, because he's usually good and on this occasion his mail matches my late thoughts:

I think Stephens is right in Sydney's sights. If they are not confident on Ling and losing Jones, then maybe they want a mid with some speed. Beatson was sort of indignant on being questioned yesterday "how can you not want Green". He curtly replied "maybe we want a different type of mid. Stephens or Flanders are different kinds to Green.

So either:

5. Stephens
6. McAsey

or

5. Flanders
6. Stephens

then Freo apparently take 2 out of 3 Vic Country mates. I'm feeling Serong will be one with either Young or Flanders if there.

7. Serong
8. Young or Flanders

that leaves either Young, Flanders or McAsey to our pick. I reckon the phones will run hot. I can only see us taking Young maybe out of them 3. The deals will be streaming in.
Do you think the offers will come streaming in if it is Flanders that falls through?
It seems as though McAsey is the one that some of these clubs are chasing.
Maybe GC would be very keen on Flanders? Cal seems pretty sure that we don't have much interest in him.
Live trading really adds another dimension to the draft and it will allow us to cash in if the draft doesn't fall the way we hope (i.e. none of Young, Stephens or Serong falls through).

Cant wait till we get the player we get - going to be a star - we actually rated him 4th best in the draft - geez his highlights look really good - going to win 3 brownlows - future captain - 200 game player - cant believe this club didnt pick him - lucky we didnt get this other player who went pick 8 yada yada

Do you think the offers will come streaming in if it is Flanders that falls through?
It seems as though McAsey is the one that some of these clubs are chasing.
Maybe GC would be very keen on Flanders? Cal seems pretty sure that we don't have much interest in him.
Live trading really adds another dimension to the draft and it will allow us to cash in if the draft doesn't fall the way we hope (i.e. none of Young, Stephens or Serong falls through).

I have heard that Geelong have liked Flanders for a long time. Probably thought they couldn't get him though. Will be very interesting come Pick 9 whatever happens. Geelong also like Kemp though and maybe they are now confident he gets to 14, so no need to trade. GC love Robertson and he may get to 15 afterall which lowers their need to trade as well.

Who the heck knows really lol. 5 hours to go.

Cant wait till we get the player we get - going to be a star - we actually rated him 4th best in the draft - geez his highlights look really good - going to win 3 brownlows - future captain - 200 game player - cant believe this club didnt pick him - lucky we didnt get this other player who went pick 8 yada yada
That was Stocker.

So....in a shallow pool....dive into the shallow end??

Trade into next year? Not sure if serious. Everyone is trading OUT of next year for a reason.

Still think there's benefit to be had, if we go down that path. Even if it's next-level, three-year-plan kind of stuff.

Flip 9 for 14 and a future first (~16). Draft Kemp this year.
Next year we then have ~9 and ~16.
Trade those for mature talent if possible. If not, trade them to clubs (once the draft order has somewhat settled) who want to get ahead of bids (ie. GWS and Freo this year) for future picks.
Then we're going into the 2021 draft with multiple first rounders.

There will be plenty of club-affiliated talent next year, but we shouldn't put too much stock in the media building the hype about it. Heaps of time for player development and there could easily be a lot less academy players in the first round as currently forecast.

I must admit I am struggling to get excited about this years draft, or at least not anywhere near as excited as prior years.

I think this is partly down to the supposed quality of the draft and the much higher uncertainty around who will go where but mainly I think it is because I am not expecting this years draftee to have a big impact on our performance, instead I think the natural improvement out of the players we have on our list and the hopefully a better run with injury will be the big driver and this new player will simply be a fringe player. Been a long time since that has been the case.

PS the other reassuring thing is the complete confidence that SOS will grab the best possible players.

I must admit I am struggling to get excited about this years draft, or at least not anywhere near as excited as prior years.

I think this is partly down to the supposed quality of the draft and the much higher uncertainty around who will go where but mainly I think it is because I am not expecting this years draftee to have a big impact on our performance, instead I think the natural improvement out of the players we have on our list and the hopefully a better run with injury will be the big driver and this new player will simply be a fringe player. Been a long time since that has been the case.

How were you excited about last years draft?

We were locked on Walsh for months, and no one had any idea about the Stocker excitement

This draft no one knows who we are getting so you can barrack for your favourite

I would like you to formally retract you comments about your lack of excitement of this draft.

PS the other reassuring thing is the complete confidence that SOS will grab the best possible players.
Agreed, I guess this is another reason why we can afford to downgrade pick #9 and get
1. Kemp for huge upside
2. Specific need

All we need is McAsey to be still on the table

We were locked on Walsh for months, and no one had any idea about the Stocker excitement

This draft no one knows who we are getting so you can barrack for your favourite

I would like you to formally retract you comments about your lack of excitement of this draft.
I was excited about the prospect of getting a super talent like Walsh and the impact he could have on our team last year. This draft who knows who we are going to get.

I can still remember being not too excited about day one of AFL draft last year.
I was super keen to get Walsh back in July last year but did not know we would have pick 1 then but by time of the draft, sounded near certain Walsh was a done thing so day one meant no more picks for us after Walsh and not even early second day were we due for our next pick. I did not even take notice of draft live on day until tried to tune in sometime later and very time I click on AFL site we were having our *extra* pick and remember being totally confused how we were having a pick. Then realised a few minutes later we were having a very unexpected other first round pick.
My excitement for that was like a kid on Christmas morning. I wish every draft could be that surprisingly good.

This year is different. Pick 9 is far more unknown and whether we keep pick 9 or live trade it by time we get to it, I feel is almost 50-50 so anything but boring.

Going to miss SOS after this as he makes the the creativity he can pull of during previous trade periods like 2015 or draft time with live trading very interesting and think it will be more conservative in future assuming the rumours of him leaving the job is correct after this draft.

I was excited about the prospect of getting a super talent like Walsh and the impact he could have on our team last year. This draft who knows who we are going to get.

Thats half the fun!!

List Mgmt. Pick 9