Pickett = Cheat

• Thread starter Thread starter jo172

I just got back from the game and I have not had the opportunity to watch endless amounts of replays but I must say it does not look good for Pickett.
I dont care what spin Port supporters will put on it, that was a dirty act.

It doesnt make a scrap of difference if he is a Port player that was no pretty and I dont think I would be defending a Crows player if he did the same thing.

Its all well and good to be hard at the football but there is no place in our game for that sort of conduct, it was very ugly and I hope he feels the full force of the tribunal.

There are no ifs buts or maybe's in this, it is a very low act when you hit a bloke who has his head down over the ball, I was surprised Begley got up. I couldnt believe the Port supporters abusing me for expressing my opinion on the matter. I will defend my player as well but there is a line and IMO Pickett went too far.

It will be very interesting to see how the tribunal handles it, after the Farmer incident, who knows? :rolleyes:

macca23 said:
Can't quite agree with your first paragraph there, DK. What contest to shirk? Begley was immobile on the ground not even looking at Pickett. Pickett should have concentrated his energy on getting the ball - if he'd done that and kicked a sausage roll, he'd be having his praises sung by everyone rather than being the villain.

Monty's didn't look too good, and you'd think he'd be cited for that.

Pickett could have killed him if he wanted to by purely concentarting on head contact..........he didn't.

Everyone that was at Tracy Village agreed that Monty was gone whereas Pickett's bump hardly raised a mention - and that includes opposition supporters comments as well.

Macca19 said:
So you think Riccuito should have been outlawed from the game 10 years ago after he nearly decapitated Dean Kemp who had his head over the ball and Roos only intention was the bump? No...didnt think so.

As I said before there is no place in football for it at all, its not about outlawing a player from the game its about eradicating that behaviour from football. I was swearing and abusing at Biglands last year for that elbow he did (at Subbie against Freo?? I think), I dont agree with it at all.

Why is that Port supporters only defence is to try and say stuff like "you do it too, or the crows do this or that blah blah blah"?? I can never work that out myself

dreamkillers said:
Pickett could have killed him if he wanted to by purely concentarting on head contact..........he didn't.

Everyone that was at Tracy Village agreed that Monty was gone whereas Pickett's bump hardly raised a mention - and that includes opposition supporters comments as well.

Okay. We'll see during the week then just how good the judges are from Tracy Village. :D

They're on trial.

dreamkillers said:
I actually see it compleltely different to that in that if he had pulled out of the contest most if not all AFL level coaches would have pulled him off the ground for shirking the issue.

Sure it was a few seconds late but Monty's elbow was the worst reportable incident of the game.

See what your saying but you have to look at the danger of the incident doesnt matter what team the offending player plays for it's the danger, it was dangerous, like I said if Begley's neck had been bent more he could of broken his neck, Im sure Pickett wouldnt want that on his head.

dreamkillers said:
Yep Roo would have been outlawed from the game a long time ago if the AFL followed your thoughts

Hahahahaha

The old typical Port supporter comparative defence mechanism appears again
:D

Aint it great, the Port and Crows supporters are having a barney already and the season hasnt even started yet !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

maccas_no1 said:
See what your saying but you have to look at the danger of the incident doesnt matter what team the offending player plays for it's the danger, it was dangerous, like I said if Begley's neck had been bent more he could of broken his neck, Im sure Pickett wouldnt want that on his head.

Agreed but that thought should never be in a players mind when playing footy and there is no way anyone can say his attack was purely concentrating on his opponents head.

From what I have seen on the countless replays most of the contact was with the shoulder not the head.

macca23 said:
Okay. We'll see during the week then just how good the judges are from Tracy Village. :D

They're on trial.

Well we had a pretty good crowd seeing the club won it's Preliminary Final today which means next week we line up for our first ever Footy GF.

dreamkillers said:
Agreed but that thought should never be in a players mind when playing footy and there is no way anyone can say his attack was purely concentrating on his opponents head.

From what I have seen on the countless replays most of the contact was with the shoulder not the head.

Yeah wel a player goes for the ball I guess but mmmmm yeah just with this incident it was dangerous, very similar to the Michael Long hit on a Melbourne player in the 2000 GF.

macca23 said:
Fair enough - we disagree then. :D

Yeah, he won't get 4 IMO, but he's a monty to get 2 (and monty might get 2 too.)
Yeah, I knew you didn't think that he had broken into Buckingham palace and molested prince Philip like some others on here. :)
Monty is on very thin ice, and there were one or two others I caught out of the corner of the eye that may be looked at. Cannot put names on them, but dunno, would like to see a replay first.

Pretty crappy game in many respects, but a few positives.
wrt the Crows. Leave Hudson at FF or FP the whole year, and let him ruck in the forward zone only while rotating Biglands and Clarke off the bench. Will give him experience without being exposed at the centre bounces yet, plus adds heaps to your forward line.

EDIT: I agree with DK in as far as if someone told me that one out of Monty and Pickett got off, then it would most likely not be Monty.

*PAF said:
EDIT: I agree with DK in as far as if someone told me that one out of Monty and Pickett got off, then it would most likely not be Monty.

As we all said at Tracy Village Monty is gone but it was just great to see finally see some 'real' footy again.......

relapse said:
Aint it great, the Port and Crows supporters are having a barney already and the season hasnt even started yet !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

About time. Too much love between us on this board over the past two years. Anyone that was around 2001-2002 will remember all the spite that used to go on between us here.

All in good fun tho.

dreamkillers said:
Well we had a pretty good crowd seeing the club won it's Preliminary Final today which means next week we line up for our first ever Footy GF.

Good luck for the GF - if you win it, it'll sure taste sweet being the first. ;)

Seriously crows fans we sit here and complain about how our club lacks mongrel and how we need to scrap for the ball more and blah blah blah and then a perfect example of a player going in hard is shown to you (albeit by a player from another team) and we scream bloody murder!

The bump was most definitely reportable it WAS NOT in my opinion suspendable however. It was a late bump yes but we are playing football here, not netball. It is a contact sport and you are allowed to bump into other players. The AFL should review it, look at it, make a few jokes about Pickett hitting him harder than a Pt Lincoln stobie pole and then chuck it out.

Montgomery's would be the bump that would result in a suspension if i had my way, there was much more malice in that bump than there was in Pickett's.

Toughen up Crows and Crowettes, if Begley had done it to Pickett we'd be applauding him right now (I would anyway)

maccas_no1 said:
Yeah and if Begley had been a little more upright it could have been a ligit bump.
And if ur aunty was ur uncle and ur mother was ur father................................................................hang on I think that may be true.

Anyways could've's and if's are just fantasy and reality is reality. Begley is fine so no need for Pickett to wory about breaking his neck until the showdown when he will finish him off for good:D

jc67 said:
Guy's lighten up!!
It was there for the taking and if it was one of ours that DIDN"T take that sort of opertunity i would be annoyed!
Only a millisecond late. 2 weeks max maybe none.
Well said.

I think it was late and unneccessary and he should go for a game or two but to roll out all this abuse, its a bit over the top.

******** happens. He shouldn't have done it and Begley wasn't happy about it. Pickett approched him aftre the game and Begs just snubbed him. I expect some fireworks when we meet Port next time.

Stiffy_18 said:
Well said.

I think it was late and unneccessary and he should go for a game or two but to roll out all this abuse, its a bit over the top.

******** happens. He shouldn't have done it and Begley wasn't happy about it. Pickett approched him aftre the game and Begs just snubbed him. I expect some fireworks when we meet Port next time.

I gotta disagree with you Stiffy.

This was a very ugly incident and its not one the AFL can afford to deem legal and he has to go for more than just a token game or two.

Please Port supporters do not think I am saying this purely because its a port player it doesnt matter what club he plays for.

Yes it was late and stupid but this contact to the neck/head/shoulder has to be punished and I hope he goes for 3-4 weeks.

Of course Begley wouldnt be happy about it, this could of caused serious injury, I have just seen a replay of the incident and I have just got angry again, IMO it is just plain dirty and I would hope I never see a Crows player do this.

I am not calling Pickett a dog or anything but I think it was a low act and I hope it is dealt with appropiately.

Blue Red and Gold said:
I gotta disagree with you Stiffy.

This was a very ugly incident and its not one the AFL can afford to deem legal and he has to go for more than just a token game or two.

Please Port supporters do not think I am saying this purely because its a port player it doesnt matter what club he plays for.

Yes it was late and stupid but this contact to the neck/head/shoulder has to be punished and I hope he goes for 3-4 weeks.

Of course Begley wouldnt be happy about it, this could of caused serious injury, I have just seen a replay of the incident and I have just got angry again, IMO it is just plain dirty and I would hope I never see a Crows player do this.

I am not calling Pickett a dog or anything but I think it was a low act and I hope it is dealt with appropiately.
I don't neccessarily disagree with you there. I don't think any of us know how the new tribunal system works so really we don't know how many he will get if any.

Personally I think he will get games for the very reason you mentioned. It was a dangerous incident and when you think about it not much different than a spear tackle. He could have done some serious damage to Begley.

All I am saying is that it was a low act and it will most likely get games BUT I think the personal abuse towards Pickett on this board is a bit over the top. Sure I gave him plenty when he was coming off and he deserves to get suspended BUT still the abuse here is a bit over the top.

Blue Red and Gold said:
I would hope I never see a Crows player do this.
Gotta but in here BRaG, I hope to see Crows players going in JUST LIKE THIS every time there is an opertunity.
If begley was upright there would not be this discussion, so if Picket was another 1/2 second later it would be fine.
Bottom line is if you have the ball be prepared to belted OR if you are about to get the ball OR you are in my way of getting the ball.

I remember you posting about weed, what was it that you liked about him??

PS; I hate defending powder pricks, but IMO he didn't do to much wrong, just a little late or early depending on your point of view.

Stiffy_18 said:
I don't neccessarily disagree with you there. I don't think any of us know how the new tribunal system works so really we don't know how many he will get if any.

Personally I think he will get games for the very reason you mentioned. It was a dangerous incident and when you think about it not much different than a spear tackle. He could have done some serious damage to Begley.

All I am saying is that it was a low act and it will most likely get games BUT I think the personal abuse towards Pickett on this board is a bit over the top. Sure I gave him plenty when he was coming off and he deserves to get suspended BUT still the abuse here is a bit over the top.

Fair enough, I think people have just posted a few things in the heat of the moment.
I know I would if I didnt get a chance to cool down whilst I was stuck in the ********ing shopping centre carpark for 30 ********ing minutes! :mad:

maccas_no1 said:

Agreed. I think that talk of Pickett being an animal or coward are off the mark though.

He is a good tough AFL player. Comments about Pickett's character are out of line when you can't even say with any degree of certainty if the act was deliberate or just reckless. But regardless of any intent, he does need to get this out of his game.

You can't hit a player head on when their head is over the ball. Begley appears to be pretty lucky in this instance, but the potental is there for serious damage. I think that the tribunal will take a similar view.

jc67 said:
Gotta but in here BRaG, I hope to see Crows players going in JUST LIKE THIS every time there is an opertunity.
If begley was upright there would not be this discussion, so if Picket was another 1/2 second later it would be fine.
Bottom line is if you have the ball be prepared to belted OR if you are about to get the ball OR you are in my way of getting the ball.

I remember you posting about weed, what was it that you liked about him??

PS; I hate defending powder pricks, but IMO he didn't do to much wrong, just a little late or early depending on your point of view.

I have no problem with Choppy playing tough intimidating football but I think there is a line and when a bloke has his head over the ball there is your line.
It doesnt matter if he is half a second late, Begley was lucky this could of so easily caused serious injury and initially I thought he was out cold and my heart was in my mouth.
Choppy has to be accountable for this and as I said before I hope he gets more than just a token game or two. This kind of contact has to wiped out of our game, I love the rough stuff as you alluded to to my posts on the WEED! but ugly incidents like that have no place in the modern game when we are competing more than ever with other codes to attract younger players.

Blue Red and Gold said:
I have no problem with Choppy playing tough intimidating football but I think there is a line and when a bloke has his head over the ball there is your line.
It doesnt matter if he is half a second late, Begley was lucky this could of so easily caused serious injury and initially I thought he was out cold and my heart was in my mouth.
Choppy has to be accountable for this and as I said before I hope he gets more than just a token game or two. This kind of contact has to wiped out of our game, I love the rough stuff as you alluded to to my posts on the WEED! but ugly incidents like that have no place in the modern game when we are competing more than ever with other codes to attract younger players.
This post leads me to another point. Was everyone else shocked that Reilly walked over to Begley and pulled him up by the guernsey while Begs was still out cold?????

Surely he knows thats a big NO NO in those situations :confused: