Pickett = Cheat

• Thread starter Thread starter jo172

Blue Red and Gold said:
I have no problem with Choppy playing tough intimidating football but I think there is a line and when a bloke has his head over the ball there is your line.
It doesnt matter if he is half a second late, Begley was lucky this could of so easily caused serious injury and initially I thought he was out cold and my heart was in my mouth.
Choppy has to be accountable for this and as I said before I hope he gets more than just a token game or two. This kind of contact has to wiped out of our game, I love the rough stuff as you alluded to to my posts on the WEED! but ugly incidents like that have no place in the modern game when we are competing more than ever with other codes to attract younger players.
Agree with this.
And I was also concerned straight afterwards.
I don't remember who it was who picked him up by the jumper but it was poinient IMO as it sort of said , get over it and protect yourself better next time.
I would be stoked if we had a "choppy style" player who wasn't afraid to hurt someone in order to win the ball.
as I said if Begs was upright there would not be any discussion.

Stiffy_18 said:
This post leads me to another point. Was everyone else shocked that Reilly walked over to Begley and pulled him up by the guernsey while Begs was still out cold?????

Surely he knows thats a big NO NO in those situations :confused:
Maybe the rest of the team should adopt this sort of Fu** them attitude.
He wasn't dead just sooking!

jc67 said:
Agree with this.
And I was also concerned straight afterwards.
I don't remember who it was who picked him up by the jumper but it was poinient IMO as it sort of said , get over it and protect yourself better next time.

as I said if Begs was upright there would not be any discussion.

First of all the person who tried to pick him up by the jumper was very reckless it looked like there was a serious chance of a neck injury and the first player there shakes him by the guernsey? :confused:

I dont understand how Begley could of protected himself, he went after the ball and did what every coach in the land says, get your head over the ball.

Thirdly, he wasnt standing up, his head was over the ball, obviously if he was standing up we wouldnt have a problem but the fact of the matter is he didnt.
We cant asses incidents like this saying "but what if" we have to asses the incident on exactly took place.

Stiffy_18 said:
This post leads me to another point. Was everyone else shocked that Reilly walked over to Begley and pulled him up by the guernsey while Begs was still out cold?????

Surely he knows thats a big NO NO in those situations :confused:

Sorry Stiff didnt see this post before.

Got to agree on this point I was very concerned initially after the incident but even more so when he was grabbed by the guernsey and shook :eek:

I hope someone gets in his ear and is told not to do this again a definate NO NO!

Blue Red and Gold said:
Sorry Stiff didnt see this post before.

Got to agree on this point I was very concerned initially after the incident but even more so when he was grabbed by the guernsey and shook :eek:

I hope someone gets in his ear and is told not to do this again a definate NO NO!
PFFFT.
Have you been following Craigs attitude to injurys?
THERE WAS/IS NOTHING WRONG WITH THE BLOKE GET ON WITH IT FFS!

jc67 said:
PFFFT.
Have you been following Craigs attitude to injurys?
THERE WAS/IS NOTHING WRONG WITH THE BLOKE GET ON WITH IT FFS!

Fair enough BUT any hit near the neck region has to be treated with caution and this was a solid hit and to the naked eye looked very serious. I was surprised to see Begley get up :eek:

I just think more caution needs to be shown next time in regards to a contact to the head/neck.

I am confused a bit here I thought you were also sick of outr players being molly coddled and wrapped in cotton wool?
By your reckoning on this thread, Dipper should have gone straight to hospital in the 89 GF as he could have died!
Pigs. Its a game for MEN, broken neck = dont let the opisition know and keep playing.

jc67 said:
Maybe the rest of the team should adopt this sort of Fu** them attitude.
He wasn't dead just sooking!
Dude he was out cold and not moving and one of the most dangeorus things you could do is move a person when he is in that state. Reilly could have made him a paraplegic.

This sort of thing you don't mess around with. The only thing he should have done is take out Begs' mouth guard and make sure he hasn't swallowed his tounge. The rest he should have left to the trainers. I also recall seeing a trainer grab Reilly's hand with which he was pulling Begs' jumper, trying to make him let go.

A couple of things

Choppy will probably go for a few matches, we have to protect a player with his head down over the ball, no argument.

BUT

Choppy did not get out a machine gun and murder 30 or 40 people, a bit of perspective hey?

What Reilly did was very very silly.

IMO, the AFL should have education programs for ALL players, that teach them what, and what not, to do

That should be the biggest lesson taken from tonights match

macca23 said:
Please, let's not try to cover his actions with bullsh*t and crap. Watch it more closely in future, or watch the replay you''ll see on TV about his report.

He deliberately took Begley out head high, and ignored the ball. The commentators made that very point in the call.

yeh, i agree - it was pretty lame stuff really. atleast your bloke didnt seem to be seriously injured & i think i saw pickett apologise to him after the game - i reckon pickett knew it was gutless pretty much right after the incident - to hit a guy straight on like that, with his head down, is ordinary stuff.

but calling him a cheat & a thug is a but rich i reckon - you guys would love to have him in your line up, no questions asked.

Pickett - was a pussy - the funniest bit was him pretending to be injured afterwards to try to get a but of sympathy - I hope the guy gets a couple he was out to do that all night - I dont mind when its fair but he's dirty hopefully he gets his own back soon (saying that a few people ran through him last night )

There is difference between being hard and tough and plain stupid. Picket is a hard and tough player most of the time. I would love it if half a dozen crows players would take a leaf from his book.
However Pickett does have a habit of completely crossing the line of stupidity. Attacking the head of a player that is over the ball is absolutely gutless and takes no courage whatsover. My 4 year old daughter could take out a player in Begleys position last night. There was nothing tough or hard about it, just stupidity.
I hope they throw the book at him.

No, I dont think Pickett's a cheat. I do doubt his courage though. Its pretty cowardly to attack a bloke who's head is over the ball like that, almost defenceless. He will get his reward though, a 3-5 game holiday.

Asgardian said:
A couple of things

Choppy will probably go for a few matches, we have to protect a player with his head down over the ball, no argument.

BUT

Choppy did not get out a machine gun and murder 30 or 40 people, a bit of perspective hey?

What Reilly did was very very silly.

IMO, the AFL should have education programs for ALL players, that teach them what, and what not, to do

That should be the biggest lesson taken from tonights match

WTF are you on about old man :confused:

*PAF said:
We may have to agree to disagree on this one macca.
IMO (and others too by the looks of it) had he got there earlier it would have been called a typical Pickett bump.
If people like that sort of thing or not is not the point, unless the rules are changed.
He didn't get there early enough, and thus it wasn't.
How many will he get? Start on 2 and work your way down I think (depending on how the tribunal thinks on the night).

I hope he gets 3-5.

If he had got there a fraction earlier or later then Begley would be in hospital.

Never had too many bad words to say about Pickett but what he done last night was the act of a coward.

I love a hip & shoulder as much as the next guy but after last night the words of Robert Walls in how he described Pickett do make a bit of sense, he rarely puts his body on the line & prefers to circle on the outside like a vulture waiting for an easy opportunity to line someone up to deliver a hit that at most times is within the rules of the game.

The cowardly hit on Begley was just that, Pickett lined him up as Begleys head & shoulders were down in an attempt to pick up a moving ball some 1-2 meters away & Pickett had no thought on the ball & was just intent to do as much damage to an opposition players body as he could while that player was in a very vulnerable & defenseless position.

& yes i am a bit ********ed off we lost the game but if Pickett doesn't change his attitude on how he plays the game then someone could end up in a wheel chair or even worse.

Macca19 said:
So you think Riccuito should have been outlawed from the game 10 years ago after he nearly decapitated Dean Kemp who had his head over the ball and Roos only intention was the bump? No...didnt think so.

Now I've restrained myself up until now. It was a shirt front that made Kemp hit his head on the ground and had concussion from that. Not from any high swinging arm. Get your facts straight pleeeese.

maccas_no1 said:
Four weeks for sure it was low and dirty, and he is a dirty player

So 4 weeks for that....and yet your ex captain only got 5 weeks for breaking Wakes jaw:rolleyes:

Dirty low life, dirty mad player......LOL. You wish he was on your side handing it out instead of being on the receiving end. Dont worry he'll should be back when we meet again in Round 3 ;)

dreamkillers said:
Pickett could have killed him if he wanted to by purely concentarting on head contact..........he didn't.

Perhaps he should have taken him for a ride in his car after a couple of drinks afterwards then. Oh I forgot, he isnt allowed to drive now is he.

MrMeaner said:
Any more of a slur than Long?

Michael Longs hit was out of the norm in how he played the game but he still deserved what he received from the tribunal.

Byron Pickett's game is based on hitting unsuspecting body's which in itself is somewhat unnecessary as he can be a very good footballer.

Byron Pickett has been suspended how many times?? Give me a break, it was a stupid thing to do, but he's no David Rhys Jones........If he's such a thug where's his endless tribunal history?

The tribunal will decide how bad the incident was. If he's guilty then so be it. I won't defend acts of stupidity but some of you need a reality check.