Pickett Cops 6

Re: Absolute Disgrace!!!

beenreal said:
Byron Pickett is paying the price for James Begley's mistake. (fumble). His 6 week suspension is a DISGRACE!!

Despite all the Cows generated hysteria, if Begley had taken clean possession, as AFL players are expected to, Pickett's bump or tackle would have been perfectly legal.

I believe the only recourse is to, as Graham Cornes has called for years, regrettably outlaw the shirtfront. (I can't believe I'm agreeing with Graham Cornes AGAIN!?)

Finally, in playing their part in what was a tough, occasionally spiteful game, the Corporation again showed it has the players to "fly the flag"...

... The White Flag!

Oh so it's now Begley's fault? AFL players never fumble? Give me a break, or maybe even try to play some sport once or twice yourself, that might give you some insight into why people play sport, not robots.

6 weeks is certainly fair enough, he paid the price for his intent more than the resulting damage. If nothing else it has proven that the Port Supporters on here are the Premier whingers :p

captain ebert said:
so monte's actions on burton, whilst keeping in mind his record, is only worth the 1 game? wtf?? :confused:

Well, I think he got away lightly on that one, the smart thing to do was to take the 1 match offer. Does a previous record with the tribunal only get included when the player is brought before it (i.e after the suspension bartering system is complete?)

He was always going to go. 6 seems a little harsher than we initially expected but once the new tribunal procedure was explained it did make more sense - and is more transparent. Its funny reading the Power boards and seeing how a number of them thought he may actually get off.

By the way...how this guy below was ever a Moderator on big footy is one hell of a mystery to me

Originally Posted by Porthos
Yeah, we have. You'd better teach Begley to protect himself better.

Be fair, we were playing the Crows. In the circumstances, Byron could reasonably have expected a Crow going for the ball to suddenly back out and run away squealing when he lined them up...it was only Begley's lack of awareness that caused this mishap

No 1 Draft Pick said:
By the way...how this guy below was ever a Moderator on big footy is one hell of a mystery to me

Be fair, we were playing the Crows. In the circumstances, Byron could reasonably have expected a Crow going for the ball to suddenly back out and run away squealing when he lined them up...it was only Begley's lack of awareness that caused this mishap

i suppose thats what happens when youre a mod - it all builds up with all the tongue biting etc - i expect him to continue in this form for a while yet. he's probably got a lot to get out you know, now that he's "off the chain".

however, do consider, if possession was taken by begley, who knows? - it may well have been a completely different (& fair) outcome.

i consider this whole pickett/begley thing as being circumstantial, compared to monte's raised elbow - theres no doubting his intention, yet the 1 week suffices - go figure...!!?!

bringbackbucky said:
we heard you the first time...

seriously though - 6 weeks is way too much. 3-4 wouldve been appropriate for what was a mistake on the football field that didnt cause any serious injury. Keeping in mind Bicks got only 5 weeks for smashing wakelins face in, after he had disposed of the ball, wasnt watching... Port fans are just asking for a bit of consistency...

Using todays system Bickley would have received a very similar points score to Pickett and so the same result.

5 or 6 for either incident is fair IMO.

The only mistake Pickett made was not making the contact as heavily as he intended.

The resulting injury shouldnt determine the length of the ban, it should be more about intent. If it is considered however, how long will Pickett get when he kills someone.

Consider it 1 all now. Bickleys = Picketts

**** said:
Actually, Begley was the one who got up while Pickett was sooking on the ground. That gave everyone a good laugh.

He probably realized he done the wrong thing so decided to look for the sympathy vote & bury his head in the turf, didn't even want to get up when Roo offered him a hand up & preferred to lay still holding the wrong leg in supposedly great pain. :rolleyes:

captain ebert said:
how could you?

raised elbow = "crook" hip & shoulder?

nup, no thanks.
In terms of damage done - not close to being equal.

In terms of potential for damage - similar and if anything Pickett's is probably worse in terms of spinal damage.

captain ebert said:
how could you?

raised elbow = "crook" hip & shoulder?

nup, no thanks.
Which is more dangerous - raising an elbow (worst outcome = broken jaw) or bump to the head, from the front (worst outcome = wheelchair) ?

Crowked is right - its the intent, not the outcome, that's important.

What Bickley did was wrong, and indefensible. But it wasn't as serious as Pickett's in terms of the intent and the potential result.

No 1 Draft Pick said:

Gotta agree with your bewilderment there - when I read the above from Porthos I could not believe it. Extremely stupid statements more in line with a troll than someone who was a moderator.

It's sickening to see incidents that can cause neck injuries. This incident looked bad but I have seen much worse. That spear tackle in Rugby that is currently being shown on the news where the player is suing just looks shocking, it makes me feel sick just to watch it.

What I'm saying is some actions which might not seem as aggressive, such as lifting someone up in a tackle and dropping them, are far more damaging than something more blatant like lifting your elbow.

Would I rather be dropped on my head or elbowed in the jaw? Neither really but I'd take a broken jaw over a broken neck.

Crowked said:
The resulting injury shouldnt determine the length of the ban, it should be more about intent. If it is considered however, how long will Pickett get when he kills someone.
Glad your not in charge of our legal system, on that logic if you took a swing at a person and missed you would get charged with malicious wounding
:confused:

Jumbo said:
Glad your not in charge of our legal system, on that logic if you took a swing at a person and missed you would get charged with malicious wounding

Eh? No one is saying Pickett should have been punished if he'd missed Begley? What are you on about?

Jumbo said:

attempted maliciaous wounding maybe.

Going on your lots logic, Lynch should have walked fee after the GF, because Wakelin wasnt injured. :confused:

Jumbo said:
Actually I believe that in the legal system intent can be weighed as much as outcome, although I grant you that outcome usually counts.

But this is not the civil/criminal legal system. It is the AFL, under whose laws certain actions are outlawed because of the danger they present. Outcomes do count - IMHO more than they should - but at the end of the day, attacking a layer above the shoulders and front on in the way Pickett did, is a very serious thing, whatever the outcome.

Also, there is a need for the AFL to strongly discourage act such as this, because players are constantly in situations where they have to make quick decisions and to pull out of such an action may conflict with their desire to beat the opposition. So the message is and has to be, very strongly : Don't even think about it.

Like most port posters I agree that Byron deserved to recieve a suspension (6 weeks a tad heavy tho) but basing on suspension on intent opens a whole new can of worms, lets just base the punishment of what happened, not might have happened.

beenreal said:
Byron Pickett is paying the price for James Begley's mistake. (fumble). His 6 week suspension is a DISGRACE!!

Despite all the Cows generated hysteria, if Begley had taken clean possession, as AFL players are expected to, Pickett's bump or tackle would have been perfectly legal.
I didn't realise that the Crows had such influence over the Australian media and football commentators to generate such hysteria :rolleyes:

If Pickett hadn't tried to take Begley out with a shirtfront and with no regard to where Begley's head was then there wouldn't be any hysteria.

Six games might be too high given previous years suspensions but I think the AFL is sending a clear message that the head is a no-go zone in terms of hits. They just need to be consistent now.

Tribunal promises feel hefty bump in first case
By MICHELANGELO RUCCI
23feb05

BYRON Pickett, by every independent analysis, should have been suspended for three matches last night.

How incompetent is this guy? I thought informed commentators looking at the new tribunal procedures were expecting Pickett to get 5-6 games. How Rucci can make the above claim is a ********ing joke

Jumbo said:
Like most port posters I agree that Byron deserved to recieve a suspension (6 weeks a tad heavy tho) but basing on suspension on intent opens a whole new can of worms, lets just base the punishment of what happened, not might have happened.

I was, he attempted to hospitalise someone, If he had succeded, he'd get more than 6, maybe 10+.

No 1 Draft Pick said:
Tribunal promises feel hefty bump in first case
By MICHELANGELO RUCCI
23feb05

BYRON Pickett, by every independent analysis, should have been suspended for three matches last night.

How incompetent is this guy? I thought informed commentators looking at the new tribunal procedures were expecting Pickett to get 5-6 games. How Rucci can make the above claim is a ********ing joke

Rucci is a pathetic, sad joke. His bias is hilarious. Do you think he would have that that headline if say Johncock or Ricciuto had performed Pickett's act? It would probably have read..."By every independent analysis, Johncock got what he deserved last night".

Crowked said:
attempted maliciaous wounding maybe.

Going on your lots logic, Lynch should have walked fee after the GF, because Wakelin wasnt injured. :confused:

I believe he got charged with the appropriate offence of attempting to strike (far to severe fenalty handed out) but your saying he should be given the same penalty as for belting his brains in!

Jumbo said:
I believe he got charged with the appropriate offence of attempting to strike (far to severe fenalty handed out) but your saying he should be given the same penalty as for belting his brains in!

No, im not. I said if he had made the contact he intended, Begley could be a vegetable and Pickett would be looking at several months on the sidelines.

BTW it wasnt just an attempt, he did make contact, just not as hard as he was trying too.