Pickett Cops 6

Re: Absolute Disgrace!!!

Crowked said:
No, im not. I said if he had made the contact he intended, Begley could be a vegetable and Pickett would be looking at several months on the sidelines.

BTW it wasnt just an attempt, he did make contact, just not as hard as he was trying too.

I blame Begley. When you see a player fumbling the ball you have every right to try and take his head off. :rolleyes: One of the more pathetic and insane defenses I have heard on this boards.

arrowman said:
Which is more dangerous - raising an elbow (worst outcome = broken jaw) or bump to the head, from the front (worst outcome = wheelchair) ?

Crowked is right - its the intent, not the outcome, that's important.

What Bickley did was wrong, and indefensible. But it wasn't as serious as Pickett's in terms of the intent and the potential result.

I wonder if hooksey would agree with this?

beenreal said:
Byron Pickett is paying the price for James Begley's mistake. (fumble). His 6 week suspension is a DISGRACE!!

Despite all the Cows generated hysteria, if Begley had taken clean possession, as AFL players are expected to, Pickett's bump or tackle would have been perfectly legal.

I believe the only recourse is to, as Graham Cornes has called for years, regrettably outlaw the shirtfront. (I can't believe I'm agreeing with Graham Cornes AGAIN!?)

Finally, in playing their part in what was a tough, occasionally spiteful game, the Corporation again showed it has the players to "fly the flag"...

... The White Flag!

Port fats rat clacker board, you'll find it down below somewhere.

Oh my god... I actually agree with Porthos about something !! on the Port board he called the 6 week suspension a joke... and I agree, I havent stopped laughting at it yet :)

Of course none of this debate would have been necessary if the drink driver decided to go for the ball instead of the man.

Sheeds said:
HAHA dont worry dude im messing around. A suspension was on the cards, you wont get an argument from me, apart from maybe it was a little harsh. I will defend the way Byron plays the game, the bump sunday night went wrong end of story.

I just thought from a historical perspective Byron has a very good tribunal record, yet his one past suspension still counted against him.

Now he has one suspension. We've been told by several smears that he hasnt had any. Dont let the facts get in the way of a lie then. :(

hey can anyone tell me wht the PAPS fans hate Bicks so much ?

if AFC fans were like that we would generally have to hate the whole PAPS team, supporters etc

the guy made a mistake , ADMITTED IT(which a certain person this thread is based in hasn't) and took the punishment

calling bickley a thug is a bit like calling James Hird Talentless

beenreal said:
Byron Pickett is paying the price for James Begley's mistake. (fumble). His 6 week suspension is a DISGRACE!!

Despite all the Cows generated hysteria, if Begley had taken clean possession, as AFL players are expected to, Pickett's bump or tackle would have been perfectly legal.

I believe the only recourse is to, as Graham Cornes has called for years, regrettably outlaw the shirtfront. (I can't believe I'm agreeing with Graham Cornes AGAIN!?)

Finally, in playing their part in what was a tough, occasionally spiteful game, the Corporation again showed it has the players to "fly the flag"...

... The White Flag!
Get ********ed you ********wit.

It was also Wakelin's fault that he ran into Bickley's forearm and smashed his face.

You are the tool of the highest order, if you can apply those rules to Begley then you can apply them to Wakelin as well you ********er :mad:

sapaul said:
But at least we won't still be going on about Pickett in 3 years time.

thats because begley wont be having his face reconstructed, wont be missing finals matches as a result & wont be having airport security pull him aside everytime he passes thru their metal detectors for the rest of his life.

pickett laid a very bad bump, bickley hung an elbow out to dry....... on wakelins face.

captain ebert said:
thats because begley wont be having his face reconstructed, wont be missing finals matches as a result & wont be having airport security pull him aside everytime he passes thru their metal detectors for the rest of his life.

pickett laid a very bad bump, bickley hung an elbow out to dry....... on wakelins face.

It was a poor act which everyone admits to. What else can Bickley or anyone else do?

arrowman said:
Which is more dangerous - raising an elbow (worst outcome = broken jaw) or bump to the head, from the front (worst outcome = wheelchair) ?

I would say you are severely underestimating the possible damage done from an elbow if you think the worst outcome is just a broken jaw. Maybe you should ask Peter Cavan what happened to his face because of an elbow. Theres potential loss of an eye and possible brain damage too if the hit was in the wrong place and hard enough.

What Bickley did was wrong, and indefensible. But it wasn't as serious as Pickett's in terms of the intent and the potential result.

Intent? How do you know Bickley didnt intend to do that. Looked like a pretty intentional action to me. But thats for another day.

Capitalist - Byron apologised to Begley after the match. This to me is an admission of guilt and remorse.

Markthirtytwo - the general consensus from a lot of uneducated people on this board and the main board is that Byron has a poor tribunal record because of these bumps. He has alsways only had one suspension and i think a fine for wrestling back in 99ish. A lot of people tho seem to think that hes been reported for these bumps many times before which is wrong as this is the first. So when people come out and say "his poor recrod with these things will count against him" then we should b e able to say 'thats not quite right'.

sapaul - you reckon you wont be going on about this in three years time. People still rabbit on about stuff Granger did 25 years ago and try and classify anything any Port player does wrong since then as 'typical Port, remember what Granger used to do' :D

captain ebert said:

I have had an absolute gutfull of you nongs justifying Picketts moronic behaviour by continually hiding behind an incident that occured 3 years ago. What Bickley did then justifies nothing. I have not heard such pathetic reasoning in many years. Grow up you goons. What Bickley dis was bloody terrible, Bickley himself admits it. He admits he has lost sleep over it and would do anything to change his actions.
Pickett on the other hand thinks he is the victim.
Fair dinkum your brainless reasoning is about as ********ed as I have ever heard.

I know its not addressed at me but I will give my comments on it anyway

Macca19 said:
Capitalist - Byron apologised to Begley after the match. This to me is an admission of guilt and remorse.
So did Bickley to Wakelin but that still doesn't stop some of your mob carrying on like pork chop

Macca19 said:
Markthirtytwo - the general consensus from a lot of uneducated people on this board and the main board is that Byron has a poor tribunal record because of these bumps. He has alsways only had one suspension and i think a fine for wrestling back in 99ish. A lot of people tho seem to think that hes been reported for these bumps many times before which is wrong as this is the first. So when people come out and say "his poor recrod with these things will count against him" then we should b e able to say 'thats not quite right'.
Similar situation with Bickley. In his entire football career how many times has he been reported but when some of your mob comes out to ridicule him they make him sound like a bloody head hunter. He had one nasty incident in his career which he regrest, he copped a fair suspension and he served it but when ever something gets debated Bickley's incident on Wakelin comes up. If some of you are going to defend Byron's record then please have some decency and bring some reality to the dicsuccions when it comes to Bickley.

I am not having a go at you personally because I do rate your opinion as a balanced one and enjoy reading your posts but some of the crap that some of the port supporters have posted here in the last 24 hours really gets up my goat. Someof them have serious issues.

Gday guys

I haven't really read the above posts and I have to many points to argue about the whole incident and resulting new tribunal suspension then I have time for...

My question is this: I haven't seen any footage of it for years, but I thought some of you Adelaide supporters might recall it better or have it in the archives, but in your honest opinions do you think Ruccuito's hip & shoulder on Dean Kemp all those years ago would be considered a clean hit in today's football?

I do barely recall that hit and from memory I thought Roo made some contact to Kemp's head when he cleaned him up and knocked him out... but at the time I thought that was a great hard hit.

cheers
SKC

Wood_Duck said:
I have had an absolute gutfull of you nongs justifying Picketts moronic behaviour by continually hiding behind an incident that occured 3 years ago. What Bickley did then justifies nothing. I have not heard such pathetic reasoning in many years. Grow up you goons. What Bickley dis was bloody terrible, Bickley himself admits it. He admits he has lost sleep over it and would do anything to change his actions.
Pickett on the other hand thinks he is the victim.
Fair dinkum your brainless reasoning is about as ********ed as I have ever heard.

is that directed at me {deleted}

that post you quoted is a respone to a comment made as to how crow supporters wont be carrying on about this incident in 3 years time, the way port supporters still go on about bickley today - i was merely explaining why we port supporters go on about it. i dont condone pickett's actions - i have condemned them - read some of my earlier/other posts before you get too stuck in.

& by the way, im sure i saw pickett apologise to begley after the game.

Stiffy_18 said:
So did Bickley to Wakelin but that still doesn't stop some of your mob carrying on like pork chop

I know hes apologised. Thats the difference. Everyone here still says "The c*** hasnt even apologised yet the pig".

Similar situation with Bickley. In his entire football career how many times has he been reported but when some of your mob comes out to ridicule him they make him sound like a bloody head hunter. He had one nasty incident in his career which he regrest, he copped a fair suspension and he served it but when ever something gets debated Bickley's incident on Wakelin comes up. If some of you are going to defend Byron's record then please have some decency and bring some reality to the dicsuccions when it comes to Bickley.

Sometimes it takes only one bad incident to tarnish someones reputation in some peoples eyes. Ask Sturt supporters about Russell Johnston and most would list off many insults with smoke blowing out their ears, despite the fact that he was one of the fairest players to play the game and had one incident which brought the wrath of opposition supporters and the tribunal. Michael Long is another from more recent times.

I am not having a go at you personally because I do rate your opinion as a balanced one and enjoy reading your posts but some of the crap that some of the port supporters have posted here in the last 24 hours really gets up my goat. Someof them have serious issues.

I agree that some posts on here by my fellow supporters have been not quite right at all, some downright idiotic but also a number of fair reasoned ones as well.

You gotta say tho....what a way to start the season!! Certainly put the Port/Crows rivalry and spitefulness back the forefront again! Round 3 should be interesting.

kaysee said:
Gday guys

I haven't really read the above posts and I have to many points to argue about the whole incident and resulting new tribunal suspension then I have time for...

My question is this: I haven't seen any footage of it for years, but I thought some of you Adelaide supporters might recall it better or have it in the archives, but in your honest opinions do you think Ruccuito's hip & shoulder on Dean Kemp all those years ago would be considered a clean hit in today's football?

I do barely recall that hit and from memory I thought Roo made some contact to Kemp's head when he cleaned him up and knocked him out... but at the time I thought that was a great hard hit.

cheers
SKC

Roos bump would be similar to the one's Pickett got away with in the past.

I think he would go for it now, but back then it was considered fair game

Any deliberate/reckless head high contact should be reportable in my view. If Roo did that this week, he would get weeks and I would have no complaints.

captain ebert said:
Stiffy_18, will begley play this week?
Whats that got to do with the price of the fish??????

He probably won't but fact it one bad incident in some 12-13 year old career should hang a bloke for the rest of his life. I wonder if you lot would be different if Begley was now in a wheelchair or would we still get some idiots saying it was his fault for fumbling the ball.

All I am asking is some fair, reasonable comments and some of your lot have been hypocritical to say the least.

captain ebert said:
is that directed at me, eh d!(kcheese?

that post you quoted is a respone to a comment made as to how crow supporters wont be carrying on about this incident in 3 years time, the way port supporters still go on about bickley today - i was merely explaining why we port supporters go on about it. i dont condone pickett's actions - i have condemned them - read some of my earlier/other posts before you get too stuck in.

& by the way, im sure i saw pickett apologise to begley after the game.
Directed at anyone that keeps going on about Bickley. If thats not you, ignore it

Jars458 said:
Roos bump would be similar to the one's Pickett got away with in the past.

I think he would go for it now, but back then it was considered fair game

Any deliberate/reckless head high contact should be reportable in my view. If Roo did that this week, he would get weeks and I would have no complaints.
Well said.

I think people need to realise here that most of the posters here (me included) think that the penalty is not fiar and Byron should have got less than he did but some of the comments but idiots ******** me off. I don't understand why do some Port supporters even brought up the Bickley incident in the first place. The incidents are not similar and have nothing in common but it still doesn't stop some tossbags.

Macca19 said:
I know hes apologised. Thats the difference. Everyone here still says "The c*** hasnt even apologised yet the pig".
Fair enough but some of your lot expect us to accept Byron's apology but ignore Bickley's apology to Wakelin.

Macca19 said:
Sometimes it takes only one bad incident to tarnish someones reputation in some peoples eyes. Ask Sturt supporters about Russell Johnston and most would list off many insults with smoke blowing out their ears, despite the fact that he was one of the fairest players to play the game and had one incident which brought the wrath of opposition supporters and the tribunal. Michael Long is another from more recent times.
True but does that make it right?????? In my eyes NO.

Macca19 said:
I agree that some posts on here by my fellow supporters have been not quite right at all, some downright idiotic but also a number of fair reasoned ones as well.
I agree
Macca19 said:
You gotta say tho....what a way to start the season!! Certainly put the Port/Crows rivalry and spitefulness back the forefront again! Round 3 should be interesting.
Sure will be :)