Picks or players?

• Thread starter Thread starter sabre_ac

Do we go down the usual path of trading out top picks for already established players?
Or do we better position ourselves in the draft so we can take the best player possible?
My opinion is we take the draft option, allot of these top 5 picks will be very good contributers within a 3 years.
Our sides best players still have at least 3 years of their peak remaining, I saw we bolster with the kids.
The attempts to bring in established players has failed in my opinion, unless we get them relatively cheaply.
So in order to better our picks we have to trade players.
Polak and Medhurst are our bait in my opinion.
Polak is questionable, considering this draft a pick lower than pick 5 isnt worth it.
Medhust may be coupled with our 2nd round for a high first round.
What does everyone else think?

The Club reckons that both Polly & Medders are required players and I tend to agree. Both would most likely bite us on the bum and their form has not been as bad as it has been made out to be.
Polly
Medders

With Warren , Crowley & most likely Duffield to be promoted
CC has suggested that we will use our first 2 picks and probably re draft one of our delisted players , whoever they are.

That makes sense to me.

I hope we're not going to sell the farm for an established star. Pick 10 is a good pick and should snare a reasonable midfileder.

Polak and Medhurst will be talked about, partly because of their own actions; Medhurst not signing a contract, and Polak because of his indiscretions this year. Plus they have both had form issues, though are clearly good players. I've also read speculation that Dunn may feature in a trade. They may all be resolved though and we have them on board for next year, which would be just fine.

The main thing I would like to see is the club not paying top dollar to get a player as seemed to happen for Croad, Bell, J Carr and Headland. Also, if we are to give up a player (esp one like Polak), I would like to see us get top dollar (I think we got top dollar in pic 10 when we gave Croad back).

I think the recruiters have done pretty well in the past 3-4 years, getting the men they are seeking in trades, and drafting likely types.

But if we trade Polak, I would expect that if we got a pick in return, we would be again looking at a key position player. Although we have good KP stocks, I think it would leave a gaping hole in the backline. Polak has been the tallest player down there at 193cm. A drafted player would be expected to take at least 2 years to start impacting. We would be better off keeping him in my opinion. If we were to go down that road, I would still be hoping for Mitch Clarke although his rating has fallen of late. He is tall and could possibly pinch hit in the ruck if either of our present rucks were to go down with injury.

I think we will draft Swallow but given CC's preference for Eastern States kids, thats not a given.

A few names that have been popping up recently who could be still around by pick 10 are Marcus Drum, Darren Pfeiffer and Grant Birchall

We definately need to keep our picks. We need some pace in the midfield and the draft is the place to get it. We also need a longterm backup for JLo and Sandi. Hopefully it never happens but we've seen with the likes of Primus, Clem and Gardiner the dangers associated with ruckwork.

dominguez said:
We need some pace in the midfield and the draft is the place to get it. We also need a longterm backup for JLo and Sandi. Hopefully it never happens but we've seen with the likes of Primus, Clem and Gardiner the dangers associated with ruckwork.

I reckon we need more Francou like "grunt" in the midfield.

Ruckmen we could pick up a WAFL ruckman with a late pick as a backup.

Hay , Newick . Bourke would all fit the bill.

Rob said:
Depends who comes up in trade time. But there's not much point trading away our draft picks again for a hard in and under midfielder if he's going to play like a pack skirting seagull.

there is only one reason why he is playing that style of game!

tico said:
there is only one reason why he is playing that style of game!

J Carr

2004 Disposals 18.8 per game (ranked No 4 at Port)
2005 Disposals 20.3 per game (ranked No 5 at Freo)

2004 Tackles 4.7 per game (ranked No 2 at Port)
2005 Tackles 5.8 per game (ranked No 1 at Freo)

2004 First possesion 4.8 per game (ranked No 3 at Port)
2005 First possesion 4.9 per game (ranked No 2 at Freo)

2004 Clearances 3.9 per game (ranked No 3 at Port)
2005 Clearances 3.7 per game (ranked No 2 at Freo)

Yep he is playing better this year but without Rodger James
and Peter Burgoyne the impression is that he has gone backwards.

Can't see any Seagull activity from those stats.

http://www.pro-stats.com.au

Connolly seemed to be making noises about getting a ready-made midfielder with pace/grunt. I would have thought that Polak, if he were to be traded, would only be used to get a top line midfielder or draft picks to achieve such a trade.
Kerr/Coughlan/Corey/Ray????
Not much point trading Polak to start over again with Kennedy/Clarke/Dowler/Ryder IMO.

Think that CC will go for quick fixes again to try and ensure that he keeps his job. Freo must make top 8 in 2006 or he goes.

My concern that maybe he is looking at Jonathan Hay, Armstrong and Woewodin. Just hope it is talk.

IMO we should not give up our draft choices and get some local kids with size/pace. Still not convinced that likes of Copping, Stribling, Krieger, Juniper, Dunn and Campbell are up to it. Hope I am wrong

RIPPER_46 said:
J Carr

2004 Disposals 18.8 per game (ranked No 4 at Port)
2005 Disposals 20.3 per game (ranked No 5 at Freo)

2004 Tackles 4.7 per game (ranked No 2 at Port)
2005 Tackles 5.8 per game (ranked No 1 at Freo)

2004 First possesion 4.8 per game (ranked No 3 at Port)
2005 First possesion 4.9 per game (ranked No 2 at Freo)

2004 Clearances 3.9 per game (ranked No 3 at Port)
2005 Clearances 3.7 per game (ranked No 2 at Freo)

Yep he is playing better this year but without Rodger James
and Peter Burgoyne the impression is that he has gone backwards.

Can't see any Seagull activity from those stats.

You should probably be watching the games then.

He's gone from a player who got smashed in the face by Jonathon Brown and still picking up 25 possies to a player who pikes it in 1 on 1 contests and refuses to go in hard at the ball. I don't care what the stats say, i've seen enough times in the last 6 weeks where he's just stood around watching while the opposition trots away with the ball to know he's changed his game from last year.

Rob said:
You should probably be watching the games then.

He's gone from a player who got smashed in the face by Jonathon Brown and still picking up 25 possies to a player who pikes it in 1 on 1 contests and refuses to go in hard at the ball. I don't care what the stats say, i've seen enough times in the last 6 weeks where he's just stood around watching while the opposition trots away with the ball to know he's changed his game from last year.

I wouldnt say refuses to go in hard,to me he seems selective on when he should go in and when he waits around and IMO it is cause he doesnt seem to be getting enough support around him. A number of times i have seen him dive on the ball and then a couple of blokes tackle him and the ball spills free and they run away with it

pinkus maximus said:
I wouldnt say refuses to go in hard,to me he seems selective on when he should go in and when he waits around and IMO it is cause he doesnt seem to be getting enough support around him. A number of times i have seen him dive on the ball and then a couple of blokes tackle him and the ball spills free and they run away with it

Yeah, probably a fairer call. I doubt it's one of those conscious things, it's probably more the effect of playing with a softer playing group.

jarman said:
Think that CC will go for quick fixes again to try and ensure that he keeps his job. Freo must make top 8 in 2006 or he goes.

My concern that maybe he is looking at Jonathan Hay, Armstrong and Woewodin. Just hope it is talk.

IMO we should not give up our draft choices and get some local kids with size/pace. Still not convinced that likes of Copping, Stribling, Krieger, Juniper, Dunn and Campbell are up to it. Hope I am wrong

You're right Jarman. No more so called Ex Champions please. Let's go for our local kids based on their regular performance at the WAFL level.
I also have serious doubts about the group mentioned, most are not even cutting it in the ressies, and as for Ryley Dunn Nothing.

RIPPER_46 said:
Ruckmen we could pick up a WAFL ruckman with a late pick as a backup.

Hay , Newick . Bourke would all fit the bill.

Now I have to say Rip that I admire you for your unstinting loyalty and defence of the Dockers even though at times it is a tad over the top.
But that comment above would be the most ridiculous and ill informed you have ever made.

RIPPER_46 said:
Why ? I am talking backup ruckmen for an emergency.

The last thing we need is play three ruckmen again.

What would you suggest?

I dont have a problem with backup ruckmen but not any of those three.

RIPPER_46 said:
Why ? I am talking backup ruckmen for an emergency.

The last thing we need is play three ruckmen again.

What would you suggest?

Mate, the ruck stocks in the WAFL this year have been very poor, if we were searching for a back up ruckman im sure there would be some better offerings in the VFL or SANFL.

Would be better anyway drafting a 18 year old, Jlo and Sandilands are still young. If worse comes to worse let Johno do a bit of ruck work.

Much more intrested in a backup ruchman who can play another role. Perhaps a smaller mobile ruckman, who can play in the backline and/or stepp up from the WAFL if there is an injury. I had thought Warren (or perhaps Johnson) could do this for us, but haven't seen him play. I'm thinking of someone in an Adam Goodes type mould.

I would also be surprised to see Bandy get another year at the Bulldogs, and for minimum wages he may be worth having on a list, playing WAFL, but as insurance. Definitely a Plan C option however.

Plan A; we develop a tall mobile player who can play backline, and pinch-hit in the ruck.

Plan B; we have a good mix of #1 ruckmen already and need to draft a project player for 3-4 years time, but who may step up if there was an injury.

Plan C; We recruit a reject/hack who can fill in immediately if we have an emergency due to injuries.

theGav56 said:
Much more intrested in a backup ruchman who can play another role. Perhaps a smaller mobile ruckman, who can play in the backline and/or stepp up from the WAFL if there is an injury. I had thought Warren (or perhaps Johnson) could do this for us, but haven't seen him play. I'm thinking of someone in an Adam Goodes type mould.

I would also be surprised to see Bandy get another year at the Bulldogs, and for minimum wages he may be worth having on a list, playing WAFL, but as insurance. Definitely a Plan C option however.

Plan A; we develop a tall mobile player who can play backline, and pinch-hit in the ruck.

Plan B; we have a good mix of #1 ruckmen already and need to draft a project player for 3-4 years time, but who may step up if there was an injury.

Plan C; We recruit a reject/hack who can fill in immediately if we have an emergency due to injuries.

Plan B thanks. Plan C particularly one based on Bandy would make us a bigger laughing stock than ever.

Dr Ralph Dagg said:
Plan B thanks. Plan C particularly one based on Bandy would make us a bigger laughing stock than ever.

I think you need to ask what the role is. At least with plan C you have minimal costs, and someone who has at least had AFL experience. And, you'd be expecting him to play 0 games per year if this year was typical. Jlo and Sandi have many years ahead of them, and a decent 3rd ruckman wouldn't last long on our list, and playing 3 doesn't work.

theGav56 said:
I think you need to ask what the role is. At least with plan C you have minimal costs, and someone who has at least had AFL experience. And, you'd be expecting him to play 0 games per year if this year was typical. Jlo and Sandi have many years ahead of them, and a decent 3rd ruckman wouldn't last long on our list, and playing 3 doesn't work.

You know Dean Cox was a project player. No one knew what he could do unitl they gave him a run of 10 games or more. Now he's touted as AA. Rookie list some project players, particularly ruckman because they do take a while to come on. Rookies are relatively cheap.

We know what a player like Bandy could do. He would chew up 100K of TPP, and would never ever offer anything except entertainment value -- for the opposition.