Picola & District South East 2010 Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter GrassKat

Probably a dozen should be walk up starts. 2 or 3 (and I won't name them) might have to force their way into our 21. A lot will depend on how everyone aims up in the praccy matches. A few of the gains the wrong side of 30 years of age (with some injuries) so we are not expecting some of these guys to play every game either. From last year's squad we'd expect to see as definite Seniors players Josh Lewis, Mickey Rhodes, Jarrad Wilson, Jack Florance, Daz Lewis, Leon Wolfe. Then there are about another 6 or 7 local boys who will be competing for the other spots with those remaining additions this year.

We think that we have a squad of about 30 blokes trying to squeeze into 21. It's been a long time since we've been in that position. By no means am I saying there's a flag with that squad but it's reasoanble to expect a vast improvement on last year's effort.

good luck to Rennie - An early prediction with those in's would be for them to finish the home and away on top, after a great season and exit the finals in straight sets with end of the season injuries ruining their chances

from wat ive heard is that shepp east players were asked to take a pay cut last week......wonder if a few players will get annoyed bout this????
and spoke to carl n he said his boots havent moved since september last yr and said they wont move either....

from wat ive heard is that shepp east players were asked to take a pay cut last week......wonder if a few players will get annoyed bout this????
and spoke to carl n he said his boots havent moved since september last yr and said they wont move either....

Well from what I've heard, the boys say the feeling and training out at the east has been first rate and that all the guys out there are busting a poopa valve b/c they can see with the group they have out there, they might be able to go one better this year. If thats the case, the $$$'s mightn't be as important to a few this year. Afterall you play for sucess don't you? If big Carl doesn't return that would be a blow as a skilled big unit like that doesn't come around all that often.

rennie are kidding themselves if they think some of these players will help them. leeroy, deuce and ash thompson are washed up hacks who wont last one game. the only good ramsdale is mixo, that boy can play!

Derek Hall & Wes Teague are the only players over 30, and both excel in their respective positions. I'd imagine that Dave will do much the same this year.

Our results will prove if we are any better or not.
Whats the go mate? You dont class sprunty or myself in the ova 30 age group or dont you think we will get a game? :)

Yeh carl bruiner will most likely pull the boots on come april as the big fella isnt the biggest fan of pre season! Think trianidis will be doing a similar role as he did last year and aim to get 8 to 10 games out of his body and after kicking 40 odd in the same amount of games last year then it,s only going to help the eagles??

Losses- Brodie jaques (gvfl? injured?) Adam Molisak, ( year off, may return mid year) Sam Ahmet (rumba coach) Mark Ferrari,( retired)

Gains- Chris Cullinan,(shepp bears) andrew edwards,(shepp bears) David gillespie,(marby) Steve Marchment,(return from overseas) Paul Neville,(tatura) Steven Burns,(tatura) Reece Pollard,(tatura) Matt Macredie,(thurgoona) Shaun Normington,(swans,injury) trev Grayam,(wughnu) Jamie Spencer,(united) Jesse Donavan,(united)

I would think that 7 to 8 would be included in the best 21 but the 4 losses will also effect us but hopefully the gains can cover the losses and finally end tungamah,s great run of wins??? As has been stated before it is going to be a cracker year of footy and most clubs seem to have picked up some quality? (rennie, dookie) so looking forward to april 10th!!!

March 13th v Congupna @ congupna
March 27th v Murchison @shepp east

rennie are kidding themselves if they think some of these players will help them. leeroy, deuce and ash thompson are washed up hacks who wont last one game. the only good ramsdale is mixo, that boy can play!
you either dont know much about these blokes or your trying to stir the pot a bit napoleon, ash played in a O&M grand final only last year which i dare say is more then you have achieved and leeroy and the boys are carving the training track up so it will be good to hear from you once the season starts with your vast knowledge of footy

Nichol Clurey comming up from the thirds to seniors is a big in for kattamatite. Heard on the grapvine he's had an offer from gold goast to be included on there rookie list in 2012

Nichol Clurey is a good player but he was not the stand out player in the 3rds if he did get on the rookie list would feel a half dozen more kids were very unlucky.

Whats big Cal Aldridge doing

Clurey has devoloped over the summer into a geuine talent, mainly due to his training camp with GC. Cal Aldridge is all body and no talent, could be good but dosnt have the work rate

Mate i know for a fact that that is not true at all. GC have not even spoke to him!

hahahahahaha

Any clubs participating in the upcoming Barooga night series? What is everyones thoughts about this type of pre season praccy matches. Are the enough on their own or do you need one or two day time hit outs? If you get to the finals you've played 3 games and I wouldn't expect many clubs would play more than that! the only prob I see with it is that if youy have potentially 30-35 guys available, the middle to lower rung players traditionally don't get too much of a run, where as if you play against another club on a weekend, at least you can get a 1's & 2's game or even 6 qtrs where everyone gets plenty of time in the middle. Also gets the boys feeling like its a sat arvo where there a 4pts on the line. I personally like the traditional scratch matches against clubs from a rival league.

Katandra is in the Barooga Night Series. We've played in most since about 1997 or so.
-------
From the looks of the draw it looks like this format isn't what clubs are after:

Div 1 Teams (6): O&M Wodonga, Yarrawonga, MFL Nathalia, Rumbalara, Barooga, Cobram.

Div 2 Teams (8): NW Strathmerton, Blighty, Yarroweyah, Berrigan, SE Katunga, Katandra, Katamatite, O&K Wahgunyah.

Barooga Night Series Draw http://www.sportingpulse.com/assoc_page.cgi?c=1-6183-0-0-0&sID=129295
------

I think we're playing these games plus an intra-club.

Katandra is in the Barooga Night Series. We've played in most since about 1997 or so.
-------
From the looks of the draw it looks like this format isn't what clubs are after:

Div 1 Teams (6): O&M Wodonga, Yarrawonga, MFL Nathalia, Rumbalara, Barooga, Cobram.

Div 2 Teams (8): NW Strathmerton, Blighty, Yarroweyah, Berrigan, SE Katunga, Katandra, Katamatite, O&K Wahgunyah.

Barooga Night Series Draw http://www.sportingpulse.com/assoc_page.cgi?c=1-6183-0-0-0&sID=129295
------

I think we're playing these games plus an intra-club.

It'll be interesting to see how the SE boys go against the NW in Div 2. Results will no doubt reignite the old debate about who is the stronger league which will then roll into "we had 1/2 our side made up of 3rds" We wait to see!

Katandra:

Losses - Andrew Riordan (Uni in Geelong), Adam Hickey (Nathalia), Jarrod Minogue (Uni in Bendigo)

Gains - Grant McLarty (1998 Katandra Premiership player/100+ Games at Shepp United), Jake Thurston (U-17's), Cody Irvine (U-17's), Sam Doyle (U-17's), Joel Boyer (recruited for 2009 from Mooroopna, injured knee in night series). I'd imagine some current 3rds players will also get an opportunity over the year, like Lachlan Sidebottom who must be 190cm+ by now!

Andrew will be a huge loss, very hard to match up on. Adam is developing into a very good player and will be better for the run at the Purples, Jarrod showed bursts of speed in a couple of 1sts games in 09.

Very excited about the inclusions. Grant has finally returned. Not sure how Jake's Bushies path is going. Cody and Sam can hopefully make a smooth transition between 3rds and Senior footy. Joel hasn't played an official game for us yet after looking very promising during the 09 pre-season.

A few other ex-players are on the radar to make a few cameos. Could be a very interesting year. 3rds numbers are also fantastic with 20 odd players regularly on the track.
another big loss, jake thurstan has moved to perth

rennie playing moyhu in a praccy match today moyhu must be struggling a bit for numbers coz we are playing a 6 quarter game which i find to be pretty ordinary to play in and its hard to get a good idea of where your at as a team

any new recurits playing well for their new clubs?
heard cullinan dominated today should been very low odds for league medal.

rennie smashed moyhu thou they did have a few out with cricket commitments the way rennie moved the ball was excellent and new blokes performed well amazing what a serious preseason can do coz the standouts were the blokes who played last year

Tungamah smashed Billabong Crows Friday night.
Had few out actually, Scott Turner played a half and kicked 6, Chris Turner played real good and Trent Sidebottom killed it off the back flank.
We play Wagga this week at tungamah, saturday at 1pm pretty sure.