List Mgmt. Player Ages Thread

Someone mentioned doing it the MLB way. 1 weekend, lock them all in a hotel, weekend finishes and trade period is done. It has some merit.

FFS, with the number of clubs and players in MLB if they can do it in a weekend then surely the AFL can.

I guess there needs to be time to do medicals and due diligence on prospective players

Someone mentioned doing it the MLB way. 1 weekend, lock them all in a hotel, weekend finishes and trade period is done. It has some merit.

FFS, with the number of clubs and players in MLB if they can do it in a weekend then surely the AFL can.

This, this and this..

One weekend.. sort it out.. have all deals based on 'conditional' if you need medicals etc..

Just another way the AFL looks to dominate the media year round and ensure that no other sport gets a look in... shrewd in the short time.. but I am not convinced about the long term strategy.. if ppl feel overloaded or it becomes a snooze fest.. then everyone bar the hard core fans give it a miss anyway...

if the AFL did it probably.. you could basically sell TV rights to cover the trade weekend.. have live interviews etc etc.. if all trades (around 20-25 each year) were done in one weekend.. then there would be something happening every hour.. it becomes watchable almost..

I think it would have merit.. you could combine it with 'draft profiles' and all sorts of stuff.. make it interactive.. (like they have tried to do with the trade hub stuff)..

It is too long, but apparently it is player driven as well as club driven
The reasons are :
a) they have as much time as possible to get a deal done in their favour and
b) so they have warning of an impending trade as opposed to just waking up in the morning and in the arvo being at a new club with no prior warning

if the AFL did it probably.. you could basically sell TV rights to cover the trade weekend.. have live interviews etc etc.. if all trades (around 20-25 each year) were done in one weekend.. then there would be something happening every hour.. it becomes watchable almost..

I think it would have merit.. you could combine it with 'draft profiles' and all sorts of stuff.. make it interactive.. (like they have tried to do with the trade hub stuff)..

Have the players dangling on carousels like a morbid Japanese dating show. Leroy Jetta, comes popping through the flap.. fine specimen, any takers at rd 3 pick? Going, going,.....gone. carosel spits him out in the wafl.

Awesome tv!

Have the players dangling on carousels like a morbid Japanese dating show. Leroy Jetta, comes popping through the flap.. fine specimen, any takers at rd 3 pick? Going, going,.....gone. carosel spits him out in the wafl.

Awesome tv!
now for me, that's funny

This, this and this..

One weekend.. sort it out.. have all deals based on 'conditional' if you need medicals etc..

Just another way the AFL looks to dominate the media year round and ensure that no other sport gets a look in... shrewd in the short time.. but I am not convinced about the long term strategy.. if ppl feel overloaded or it becomes a snooze fest.. then everyone bar the hard core fans give it a miss anyway...

Think it needs to be a little different to that.

I think potential medicals need to be done beforehand, otherwise that spells trouble for players that are involved in multicllub trades if one falls through.

Who cares how long it goes for, FFS, 2 years ago it was 1 week and everyone said it wasn't enough time to get deals done...

Personally i reckon they should get rid of the trade period all together and just say all trades must be finished by 2pm on the 23rd October. ie just have a deadline no actual time frame.

The way it should be done is:
1 week medicals at clubs (if they intend on being traded or moving via FA), then 1 week of FA, then a week to sort out compo, then a week of trades.
Would still be a month long but in my view would make things happen faster *cough* Crameri trade *cough*, and the wait for compo wouldn't hold up trades!

I remember it wasnt that long ago the grand final was played and won, then you wouldn't hear a word about football until March.

Back in the day when footy season was footy season and cricket season was cricket season. I remember those days but now, even playing amateur, it'd be getting pretty hard with footy preseason starting in November and cricket preseason starting in August.

I feel 2006 was the tipping point. People were talking about this kid called Bryce Gibbs for months..then it just snowballed from there

Half the cricket squad would miss a match for end of season footy trip

I remember it wasnt that long ago the grand final was played and won, then you wouldn't hear a word about football until March.
The AFL always want to be 'visible' these days to compete with other codes and sports during the off season.

Irony probably isn't enough to describe the reality that this desperation to be visible all year is what makes things like our drug saga unmanageable from their perspective.

They end up losing any real sense of anxious excitement for the new season due to heavy saturation of this nature.

The fact the afl are toying with the idea of 18 days in a row of games to kick off the season tells you where this sport is going. Eventually it will be year round.

he's obviously worth more than that though

Really??

I would have thought that with his output over the last few seasons that this was his draft range. Unfortunatly for us, he doesn't really have a lot ti hang his hat on that would raise his value for us too much.