List Mgmt. Player Ages Thread

He's in his first year, ffs. I've said it before and I'll say it again - not everyone is going to have the same first year that Heppell did. Reading the play and effective disposal comes with training, experience and game time (RE: Melksham). Even if he ends up a depth player, fine. But when there are calls for him to be delisted when he was far from our worst in 2013, you can't help but feel some people are being unfair with him.

I'm not trying to compare him to Heppell. He sprays the ball when kicking over 35 metres. He shouldn't be a part of our future. When comparing to Melksham you could see some absolute flashes of incredible football (stoppage goal in drawn game vs the scum). Of the players who played senior football in 2013 I'd put Kommer as the second worst comfortably, saved by Jetta being useless whenever he came into seniors.

Kommer's future will be determined by whether he can spend time in the midfield. Has enough characteristics - clean ball handler, solid kick and handball, fairly good vision. It will be interesting to see if the TRB gives him midfield time.

We don't know what will happen over the pre-season, the comments being made though are done based on exposed form, which is the safest thing to go by.

To say that he's not in our best team really isn't outlandish in the slightest.

But assuming some progress is made over preseason then last years form is about as relevant as his U18s form. It doesn't guarantee anything one way or another so to say he is or he isn't in the best team is pointless. Everyone is better off just sitting back and watching what happens.

Kommer's future will be determined by whether he can spend time in the midfield. Has enough characteristics - clean ball handler, solid kick and handball, fairly good vision. It will be interesting to see if the TRB gives him midfield time.

This was more or less my read of him - an average to good footballer with a great attitude who was let down by a lack of fitness. Whether or not he plays most games next year is impossible to tell at this stage but he'll be a much better footballer with another preseason under his belt.

The bit of play where Kommer took out Kepper's head at Subi was manic. The few games I saw this year he doesn't look easy to play against (non bruise free footy) which Bomber likes. Also looks like doing something when the heat is on unlike many we hung on to in the past decade who simply wilted under pressure. Maybe I missed his poorer games, but it should also be kept in mind not every player on the list has to be a superstar. There is a role and something our astute footy admin see in him. Perhaps the concerns raised here is also testament to our recent recruiting and trading.

I'm huge on supporting young players and rarely don't see the positive.

But Kommer is a giant dud.

Are you kidding?
Have you seen his golf tricks?

In all seriousness, do we really expect a first year player to be an absolute barnburner?
You guys act like he can't improve.

In all seriousness, do we really expect a first year player to be an absolute barnburner?

BigFooty is unable to maintain a middle ground. A player is a freak and future Coleman/Brownlow/Rising Star/Norm Smith winner or he's a dud. No room for role players and decent contributors, sorry.

i hated kommer's role as much as the next person should have, but christ it's like some of you think he's peaked and has no hope of ever doing better or something. kommer is no less likely to improve than browne, nob, edwards, dalgleish etc who i note aren't having this same inane discussion about them

BigFooty is unable to maintain a middle ground. A player is a freak and future Coleman/Brownlow/Rising Star/Norm Smith winner or he's a dud. No room for role players and decent contributors, sorry.
yep, especially Jetta. It's like we can we just have one player on the list that plays perm v.f.l without delisting

i hated kommer's role as much as the next person should have, but christ it's like some of you think he's peaked and has no hope of ever doing better or something. kommer is no less likely to improve than browne, nob, edwards, dalgleish etc who i note aren't having this same inane discussion about them

Those are guys who have shown glimpses of their massive upside though.

yep, especially Jetta. It's like we can we just have one player on the list that plays perm v.f.l without delisting

It's the same ****ing deal with Jetta. I'd move him on if I could because I'm not sure he'll get many games (but then we replace him with pick 66 in a shallow draft:rolleyes: ) but we have him for another preseason so lets see what he can develop into. Getting a bigger tank can make a massive difference to the effectiveness of a player so there's no reason to think that if he works his arse off he can't make the best 22.

No, but I expect them to show some qualities worthy of AFL football. Kommer hasn't, other than his attitude

Kommer needs to do a lot of work with Chappy over the summer.

if he can get dangerous as a leading forward then he becomes an actual handful because not only is he going to be harassing you as a defender, then you actually have to give him respect offensively.

Would obviously mean he'd snag a few more, but would also limit the impact of his opponents

Kommer needs to go the full shave, 2 nude nuts!!!

No, but I expect them to show some qualities worthy of AFL football. Kommer hasn't, other than his attitude

If that attack on the ball against West Coast where he beat 2 bigger players and won a free kick isn't a quality worthy of AFL football then I don't know what is. Those are his flashes of brilliance, you won't see him dance gracefully through a stoppage, grab the ball one handed and hit up a leading forward in one motion - his brilliance is his tough uncompromising attitude. You can't have a team full of graceful marshmellows, you need some hard nuts in there too.

Jack Package

Pick 26: Luke Reynolds
Pick 55: Cam Conlon

Try this one mate

Pick 26: Dayle Garlett
Pick 55: Ben Brown

Still get this innate feeling that we may see a surprise delisting unsigning before the draft that will give us a 3rd live pick in the National Draft (+ the Lauchlan Dalgleish rookie upgrade).

By the way mate, there is a young kid called Ben Sokol that for a later pick - rookie option could be a real nugget of gold if we managed to get him. Sokol and Hewatt are a couple i like the sounds of.

Jack Package

Pick 26: Luke Reynolds
Pick 55: Cam Conlon

Try this one mate

Pick 26: Dayle Garlett
Pick 55: Ben Brown

Still get this innate feeling that we may see a surprise delisting unsigning before the draft that will give us a 3rd live pick in the National Draft (+ the Lauchlan Dalgleish rookie upgrade).

By the way mate, there is a young kid called Ben Sokol that for a later pick - rookie option could be a real nugget of gold if we managed to get him. Sokol and Hewatt are a couple i like the sounds of.
Garlett.... he's like a big spliff for me, I know I shouldn't but I really want to give it a crack...

end of the day,

want, make it happen Disco.

I keep thinking what BrunoV said a few pages back.

Our list is in such good shape that we can afford to take that risk on Garlett that it shouldn't matter if he stuffs up. IF he does come good though, we could have a potential top 5 - 10 pick from this draft on our hands. Who wouldnt want that?

In saying that, we will pick up blokes we have never even heard of. #thedodorowayoflyf

What's the likelihood of selecting Mitch Thorpe? If Hurley struggles again this season, with Gumby and Crameri gone, I don't see where the goals are coming from. Chapman for Davey, other exits considered, becomes like for like. If some of the comments here re: his form are to be believed, Steinberg won't get upgraded and has been playing back anyway. Thorpe sounds more and more appealing. Would he slide to 55? ...I don't even know which draft he's in. I'd like:

Pick 26: Garlett
Pick 55: Thorpe

The bit of play where Kommer took out Kepper's head at Subi was manic. The few games I saw this year he doesn't look easy to play against (non bruise free footy) which Bomber likes. Also looks like doing something when the heat is on unlike many we hung on to in the past decade who simply wilted under pressure. Maybe I missed his poorer games, but it should also be kept in mind not every player on the list has to be a superstar. There is a role and something our astute footy admin see in him. Perhaps the concerns raised here is also testament to our recent recruiting and trading.

I like this post. Kommer has a role to play and in his first year played it relatively well. I can see him evolving into a Hayden Ballantyne type if he can start to hit the scoreboard a bit more. His willingness to have a crack sets him apart from the soft minded "Jetta" types.

What's the likelihood of selecting Mitch Thorpe? If Hurley struggles again this season, with Gumby and Crameri gone, I don't see where the goals are coming from. Chapman for Davey, other exits considered, becomes like for like. If some of the comments here re: his form are to be believed, Steinberg won't get upgraded and has been playing back anyway. Thorpe sounds more and more appealing. Would he slide to 55? ...I don't even know which draft he's in. I'd like:

Pick 26: Garlett
Pick 55: Thorpe

Thorp has played more as a free wheeling midfielder rather than a stay at home forward.

In saying that, he has done it very bloody well.

With the departure of Crameri & Gumbleton, Ben Brown fits a need of a developed KPF whilst he has some ability to ruck if required.

I get drawn into this because the comments of Kommer's performances are based on some hypothetical, where the reasons for his cult status result in effective onfield performance consistent with a hardnut persona, as opposed to the reality of his mediocre (at absolute best) output.

Like I said, the tackling machine averages the same number of complete tackles Leroy Jetta did between 2010 and 2012. The knock on Jetta is that he can't play in the zone and tends to run around like a headless chook which means that he can't impact enough contests defensively. In all seriousness, this is exactly what Kommer does (treadding water in a no-mans land almost getting to contest rather than applying any real pressure - the difference is that he chases with much more intensity than Jetta does).

I've not written off his capacity to improve but I'd ask what it is that is going to improve and how is it going to compliment the side?

He is a midfielder who has been played out of position as a small forward where he doesn't appear to have the offensive weapons to do any real damage. It seems that there is almost agreement that he would not spend another season as a forward. Who does he replace in the midfield? What is he going to bring to the midfield that it doesn't already have? Plainly he doesn't have the skill (you just have to watch him kick the ball to a leading forward even when pressure is not an issue).

I've got no doubt that he is more than adequate depth as an inside midfielder and that, given his athleticism, he may even be worth a go as a tagger. I just can't stand reading the drivel about his on-field performances this year.