Gippy Power
Pies did their best to wrap it up in the first leading by 50pts early in the second only to let Dees get back to within 30pts at half time. Dees looked good early in the third but Cox chase and free kick literally sparked the boys into gear and away we went to lead by 11 goals at 3 qtr time. difference was 11 goals in the end.

L.Davis - Good but I thought he made some mistakes early. Certainly cost us a goal with a loose def kick in second. He loved the wet though didnt he.

Didak - superb. Along with OBree probably our most consistent. Opp players must hate playing on him.

Maxwell - ok. didnt do heaps but certainly do anything wrong did he.

OBrien - v good. ball didnt come dwn much but he did what he had to do.

Anthony - excellent. provided a target all day. couple of really strong marks and contests. He is getting better and better.

Pendles - Pretty ordinary. His skills were awful, his effort at a couple of contests bordered on soft, He did get a heap of it though and had some nice clearances but it wasnt his best. I think he lost a bit of confidence at one stage when streaming fwd he went backwards. V good last qtr.

OBree - DaVe I hope you read this. I gave him BOG! Dont ever remember writing that. He wasnt maybe the one others would pick (preferring Didak, Swan or Fraser) but I thought he was the most consistent 4 qtr player. He was the best in the second for us to. Did sh&t himself in a contest against Watts though......

Cox - dont think he did heaps but his chase was fantastic in the third. got us going again. his body work in the contests look better and he is certainly more composed in his decision making.

Thomas - i thought he was super in the first half. Ran hard, provided options etc. He looks to be short a few runs as he struggled to run it out but i think he is improving.

L.Brown - I thought he was pretty good again today. certainly the coaching staff seem to prefer him to a second ruck. he was really strong in contests. He cleared a path for one of the first qtr goals. Lot of his work gets missed. Few blokes said if he could string two together they would acknowledge him - hope they do.

N.Brown - went off fairly early. Couple of nice efforts though.

Clarke - Very good game. Few had him pegged for vfl a few weeks back and he certainly wasnt playing his best but he is back now.

Wellingham - quiet first half but excellent second half. His run is great.

Sidebottom - read Wellingham.

Lockyer - very good all day. very smart player and playing as well as ever.

Fraser - just shaded by OBree for BOG. Got something like 30 touches. Just awesome display. marked, skills, 2nd efforts all good.

Cloke - thought he was good in the first and quiet in the second - in saying that ball didnt come down much! His second half was good and for a first up we should be happy.

Dick - fabulous effort. 5 goals. Corrie will be spewing I suspect. With Medhurst to come back its hard for him. This kid is awesome. Backs himself and chases really hard.

Toovey - ok. Dont remember him stuffing anything up. Prob the unlucky one though for Medhurst.

Presti - Sensational effort. He was the best backmen I thought.

Swan - magnificent. set us up early and went quiet in the second but took off again after haf time.

Shaw - save for shocking efforts in the second qtr he was outstanding. Only shaded by Presti as best backmen. His run is so important as well as his penetrating kick. If he can continue to improve he will just explode.

Best: OBree, Fraser, Swan, Didak, Dick, Prestigiacomo

Pies did their best to wrap it up in the first leading by 50pts early in the second only to let Dees get back to within 30pts at half time. Dees looked good early in the third but Cox chase and free kick literally sparked the boys into gear and away we went to lead by 11 goals at 3 qtr time. difference was 11 goals in the end.

Best: OBree, Fraser, Swan, Didak, Dick, Prestigiacomo

good analysis!

but i personally didn't like shaw's game... this year so far, he seems to be panicking a bit when pressured with the ball..

I'm not sure what to make of Cloke's game, today's performance was better than what he's given us so far in the other games.....but it's far from the CLoke that we want....(his field kicking was pretty poor at times)

What game was Walls watching? He's given Pendles BOG and said rarely wastes a possession. Pendles disposal has been pretty average over the past 3 weeks

Agree.
We were just discussing which drug he is on.
What a great judge of the game he is....lol:eek:

His stats were good, but all stats there is no context.
His disposal was pretty average today, that said he was still good by most others standards but definitely not BOG.

Pendels superb against West Coast, but last 2 weeks his disposal has been a little average, looks a little tired to me, so the week off looks like it comes at the right time. But still finding it, and still not getting tackled, so if that's his bad games, bring it on.

Fraser, once again, so good in the wet. Don't think I've ever seen a player of his height playing footy as well as he does in the rain. It's impressive stuff.

Fraser did bugger all in the actual ruck. Some of his taps were borderline ridiculous.

Geez O'Bree BOG?? can't agree with that, no way...

Scotty Pendlebury was very good today, don't underestimate him today.

Alan Didak stood up today, Heath Shaw provided great run and Josh Fraser was outstanding against 2 opponents...

Brad Dick lit it up today as well

Would have them all ahead of O'Bree today.

I don't agree with Leigh Brown - I thought he gave us very little. Once again, I think he should be among those that are dropped (assuming N Brown stays fit). Once again, he almost certainly won't be.

MEdders would likely come in against Sydney - Steele may be dropped for him. Beams would also come into contention, but not sure who would go out. Cox and Toovey appear the next weakest links, but should retain their spots again. Would like to see both of these players go out and have Beams Blight brought in (for a look).

Am no holding my breath.

I'm going to spend the whole replay watching Shane O'Bree, because I can't figure out for the life of me what he did to deserve BOG honours from you.

Seemed like the same old game from Cheesey.

hear ya on Anthony. But it wasn't just his grabs or goals; he led up; he battled on the ground for several score assists and kept the ball in the zone for others. Great game. Not sure who would oust him from the league's 'best third tall forward' award right now. Pity he is having to play first tall, rather than third. Good to have Cloke back today; signs of old self.

What game was Walls watching? He's given Pendles BOG and said rarely wastes a possession. Pendles disposal has been pretty average over the past 3 weeks

Thats what I was amazed at. I was expecting either Didak or Dick, when I heard Pendles I'm like WTF.

Allow me...

Davis -
I would love this to be one of Davis's less consistent games, instead of a disappointing 15 possessions. Glad that he didn't have as big an impact but we still had other midfielders up and going.

Didak -
He is still my favourite player, but I've said to my brothers while watching this game that he doesn't seem to be half the player he is at his best. He is panicking under pressure and putting others under pressure. Don't get me wrong, he was great today, and managed his highest ever possession game (33?) and still needs to re-gain form. Pure class at his best though, he kicked an amazing goal.

Maxwell -
Another quality performance by Maxwell. His consistency is a real positive for the Magpies, and we REEALLY need him in our back line now. Great captain.

O'Brien -
My brother calls him Robocop. He just doesn't go down, and runs through anything. Epitomises what a real footballer needs to be like, keeps his footing, and takes the opposition on. His form in the backline is being underrated by opposition fans, and thats fine by me.

Anthony -
His presence seems to be growing week by week. He is now, easily, our premier big forward, and had another good game, kicked a couple, and provided great presence in the forward line. I LOL'ed when they, channel 10, asked if he'd stay in when Rocca comes back.

Pendlebury -
This guy cost me a supercoach win today. I lost by 12 points, and Pendles just wasn't himself today with his disposals. He made wrong choices, and his general disposals were shocking. Still got it 39 times, and thats a great result in itself. Will need to improve against the bigger sides though because it could've cost us in a big game.

O'Bree -
Doing what Shane O'Bree does. Not doing much wrong either. Curious to know if he might still be around as our #1 inside midfielder in 2010.

Cox -
Still not quite a great one-on-one performer, but seemed to really put in more of an effort off the footy today, which was great to see. He wasn't his usual laconic self, and one play on the wing showed that where he gathered the footy, handballed, and then ran along and sheparded a Dees player out of it. It was good to see, won't be dropped.

Thomas -
Quiet. I was looking for him when it started pelting down, but he was nowhere to be seen. I guess we'll definitely be seeing him in the next game considering its Sydney. Its his annual cakewalk, and I'd be disappointed with anything less than 2-3 goals and 20 possessions against the Swans, they're his bitches.

L Brown -
LOL sorry guys, but he has earnt himself another week. He didn't do anything obvious wrong, and did all the little team things today. Wasn't in our best, but wasn't the worst out there. He ain't as bad as first thought.

N Brown -
Injuried his knee in the 1st, and didn't return. I'm guessing its a strained ligament, so will miss 3-4 weeks. My guess anyway.

Clarke -
Had one of his better games for the Magpies, and looked like a real B-grade elite defender out there. He just knows what to do with the footy in little dinky situations, and showed his toughness by going in hard.

Wellingham -
Looked like it would be a quiet game overall until that last quarter where he just turned it on, got around 8-9 possessions and did a few nice things. Shows the depth in our midfield nowadays when he had to play as a HFFer. His new name is the 4th qtr specialist, seems to lift in the last and damage the opposition.

Sidebottom -
Wow, just seems to get better and better. He seemed like one of the boys out there, a real senior player, not a single hint of a teenager. The only worry is the general wear and tear youngsters suffer later on in the season, so a week off this week will do him the world of good. Did some amazing things out there. Further proves that he is going to be a quality AFL footballer.

Lockyer -
I said to my brothers while watching him. He isn't going to be one of our greatest players by any stretch of the imagination, but he will do down as one of the most perfect Collingwood players ever. What are his weaknesses? What can't he do? What position can't he play? He is a true Collingwood great now that he has played 200 games, and we should start idolising him the way the Kirks, Harveys, Simpsons and Goodwins of Sydney, StKilda, North and Adelaide are by their supporters.

Fraser -
This guy just loves playing by himself, doesn't he? He loves the wet aswell. Was very good today, not great, but definitely above average for a Fraser game. I loved his little handball to Sidebottom in the last to create an inside 50 opportunity from the HB.

Cloke -
20+ possessions and a goal is a great return to AFL from injury. He was all over the ground, and seemed to have high confidence which is the key to Cloke playing well. He has the support around him now, so it means less of a workload, and less pathetic performances.

Dick -
What a gem. I said as soon as he kicked his third, that he'll end up with 5. He doesn't quite have the mercurial skills of Thomas, Didak or Davis from the boundary, but he is a genuinely exciting and quality FP who knows how to snap. he kicked to great right foot snaps, and he is a left-footer, so hes skillful. Has played around 12 games of AFL footy, and managed 5 goals on Queen's Birthday, is that remarkable, or what? 8 goals in the past 2 games.

Toovey - Didn't do a great deal wrong today, and will make it difficult for Johnson to come back in when 100% fit. Will be interesting to see who MM will prefer. Just can't quite imagine the both of them in our backline though.

Prestigiacomo -
Does he EVER not amaze you? He practically kept yet another FF goal-less today, expect for that pathetic last qtr junk-time goal for Robbo. What a star. How can he not be the All-Australian FB at the moment?

Swan -
Another great game by Swanny. 32 possessions. Just does his thing, and it improves our chances of winning by that 10-15%. I've constantly said he ain't elite, because of his disposal, even though he is an elite accummilator of the footy but he just keeps getting it week in, week out, and is making it difficult to not pay attention to him.

Shaw -
Guess whos baaaaaaaaaaaaack? Thats right, Heater was like the Heater of old today. Although his disposal wasn't up to scratch, he was still great today. Easily his best performance of the year thus far. Hopefully this means we can expect to see him killing it week in, week out again.

I don't think we should look into today's game too much. Alot of sides look alot better than they really are when they play the Dees. As today was one of those must-wins which we usually drop, so is Sydney in the next round, so hopefully we go out and give 100% and bring another 4 points home.

I'm going to spend the whole replay watching Shane O'Bree, because I can't figure out for the life of me what he did to deserve BOG honours from you.

Seemed like the same old game from Cheesey.

Shane Obree:

25 touches
85% efficiency in the rain
4 tackles
5 clearances

VV - you know I have been on his case for years but I have to give credit where it was due. lot of handballs in traffic most of which hit the spot and I thought he was one of the few that went for 4 qtrs. Did a lot of super little things.

IN saying all that Fraser was superb as were Swan, Didak and Dick. Thought Swans effort to shake mcDonald was sensational. McDonald shut him down in the second but he got away in the last half.

I just had a look at the stats and Fraser is credited with 10 hitouts vs Jamar getting something like 30.

Who is responsible for deciding what is a hitout and what isn't?

I reckon I saw Fraser get at least 15 without even taking much notice.

Prestigiacomo -
Does he EVER not amaze you? He practically kept yet another FF goal-less today, expect for that pathetic last qtr junk-time goal for Robbo. What a star. How can he not be the All-Australian FB at the moment?
Robbo's only goal came from when he ran down Sidebottom and got a free kick.

He didn't kick one on Presti.

I thought Didak played a very good game.

Swan was consistent

Pendles, it looked like he was carrying an injury to me

Josh was good

Dick getting better all the time

O'Bree was good in the middle with his clearance work

Travis played far better than it might have appeared

Heater was good

Actually I thought it was a very even performance by the whole team