Rumour Player Rift at Pies(Rumor from Wayne Carey)

ut the whispering campaign aired publicly by Carey on Triple M has the potential to hit Buckley even harder."You hear these rumours all the time ... it is rife out there that a bunch of the players, let's say six or seven of them, don't get along with Buckley," Carey said.
"I'm starting to think it might be more of an issue than what everyone thinks."

Carey said the inside word from Pies camp was that Malthouse had been too soft on players, leaving some as "spoiled brats". When Buckley wanted to put his stamp on it and train harder, it had perhaps left the players flatter.
"Those really hard pre-seasons went out with Abba," Carey said.
Carey said the rumours of the players being unhappy with Buckley taking over started midway through last year as the reality of the succession plan kicked in.
"Obviously they're growing more legs now because they've lost a couple of games," Carey said.

If this is True about players not Happy with Bucks I can see a Fire Sale during Trade Month as I would Reckon Bucks would not put up with players not listening to him.

Though this is Wayne Carey who since being Retired has Been an Alcoholic:rolleyes:

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/afl/mor...iss-eddie-either/story-e6frf9jf-1226327279845

Agreed but I thought it was worth a Discussion

There's probably some truth to it Dave, just like when any coach takes over i guess, players get used to certain things etc etc, if these so called players are having an impact on the playing group and our form it needs to be nipped in the budd yesterday, and i'm sure it will.

Hmmm, anyone can come out with a rumor like that.
Although it would make sense, and i suspect some of the more senior players not being happy with the more intense pre-season.

Imagine had the same boss for 10 years and you've had it pretty cosy and then a new one comes along and makes you do a whole bunch more - you wouldn't exactly be happy.

Having said that unless their is a source not buying into it.

My first instinct is to say "Nooo no way, this is COLLINGWOOD".

But the reality is that, it's a possibility it might be true. It's the same when Buck's was captain, his intensity to get the best out of himself and everyone else is not met with the same idea as everyone else. It's unfortunate.

Now lets all jump on Carey and say how he is under-mining the club for criticising the tough pre-season that Buckey put the boys through. At this stage, with the rumours of players not liking Buckley, the new game plan and the generally negative outlook for the rest of the season, if all this is true then our chances of retaining Cloke at the end of the season may be decreasing with time. Cloke called Bucks 'pedantic' when questioned about him last year on the Footy Show, while Thomas, who appears to be a good mate of Cloke's, is supposed to have eye-balled Buckley during last weeks game. The way the club is looking at present, Cloke must be mentally weighing up his $450000 contract against the reported $1.5mill from GWS and wondering if he shouldn't just take the money and run.

Dont know about "six or seven players" but I do know that Swanny has never been a big fan of bucks, as a team-mate and now coach. Personally, I've seen a difference in the way he's played this year in both NAB cup and the first 3 rounds of the season. He just seems to be doing his own thing.

"Carey said the inside word from Pies camp was that Malthouse had been too soft on players, leaving some as "spoiled brats". When Buckley wanted to put his stamp on it and train harder, it had perhaps left the players flatter."

Could be. It appears an educated guess though considering how soft MM was on our players with regards to ill-disciplined acts up until a year of so ago. Remembr, Taz, Johno, Dids etc not getting punished.

So many people have just looked at the situation, seen our performances and immediately jumped to conclusions. Swannies poor demeanour/output, same with Daisy. Everyone knows Bucks had issues with other players when he first came here in 1994. People think this is still the case and good rumour to throw out there.

If any player is sooking and carrying on, piss them off. I support Collingwood, not individual players.

Maybe because Bucks played with a number of these guys and has a history with them that it's going to take a few years for him to really stamp his authority on the group. If there are players who just want to be individuals then they really need to pull their heads in and grow up. It's a team game. Micky had his time and only got 1 flag. Time to show Bucks the respect he deserves.

Wayne Carey would know all about maintaining long-term solidarity at a football club. :rolleyes:

There may be some truth to it in a general sense - a change of leadership and structure could definitely put some noses out of joint.

Anyway, playing hypotheticals, if it were true that some players didn't like the new regime, that's tough. Buckley would have to identify who had issues and sort it out with them ASAP. He's the boss now, so it would be a case of finding out why there was a problem and working out a resolution to the problem. And if that fails, ultimately it's his way or the highway.

But without someone at the club admitting it, this has to stay in the realms of pure speculation. I wouldn't put any faith in Wayne Carey in any aspect of life. All-time great player, but he's a worm.

Just for reference.

Dated 11 Apr 2012, 14:18

I was also given one that a few senior players aren't happy with Bucks either. Dane Swan being a main figure with that one.

I've personally taken a grain of salt approach to both rumours, but the people involved are relatively close to players which is why I've given them any credence at all.

The Swan is the one I find the strangest though, given he signed a new deal knowing full well Buckley would be coaching from 2012 onwards sooooo....

Either Wayne Carey reads BigFooty, or this rumour has legitimate legs.

Thomas must be upset that Buckley doesn't have a kick-to-kick session with him before the game.
Bucks may have found another Love Child.

For those that dont know it was rumoured that Carey and Bucks clashed pretty heatedly on an Irish trip many years ago and was the trip where a few of them did some pretty ordinary things to Bucks including the nickname (if memory serves)

Not a lot of love lost between Carey and Bucks would think but I know whose moral compass points in the direction I would want it to.

Also if there was such a mass mutiny why would have Swan, Pendles, Thomas, Shaw all put to pen to paper (Reid not far behind) knowing Bucks was going to coach us.

The only one that hasnt put pen to paper is Cloke and we are more of a chance of keeping him than if MM was coach. Trav's old man doesnt have a lot of love for Mick. If Trav goes it will be for $$$$.....nothing else.

Anyone else who hasnt signed are probably the older blokes who will have to train a bit harder. So what!

Daisys probably upset that Sinclair gets to have a kick with Bucks..

Hahaha, I was gonna say the exact same thing after I read Mavs5 post.:D

I think the Swan rumour may be true, he isnt even trying. What gets me angry is if its true why would he sign on when he knew Buckley would be the coach and the same for Thomas.

Or both of you are being fed the same shit.

Hey, (i hope for the team's sake) it's a possibility!

My thing is, I get fed rumours all the time, 90% of which are never uttered on BigFooty.

The only 2 (I think it's only two) I've bothered posting cqame from sources who are as close to the club as you can get without hearing it from the horses mouth.

The Goodard rumour came from someone who sits in the coaches box every week, and this rumour came from a relative of a fringe Collingwood player.

Rumour Player Rift at Pies(Rumor from Wayne Carey)