Player Votes: Round 17 vs. Geelong

• Thread starter Thread starter YelloMit

You guys cant be serious giving McPharlin votes! He was easily in our worst few yesterday, gave away the ball everytime he kicked it and was lazy. He should be dropped.

My votes:
5-Gilmore
4-Des
3-Pav

That is all.

You guys cant be serious giving McPharlin votes! He was easily in our worst few yesterday, gave away the ball everytime he kicked it and was lazy. He should be dropped.

He was easily our best player. He might have made a couple of horrendous errors with his disposal, but he took half a dozen contested marks and was still accountable.
Fair dinkum, you must have been drunk when you watched the game.

I almost agree with Lach72's votes.

5. McPharlin
4. Pav
3. Gilmore
2. Headland

No-one else deserves a vote.

He was easily our best player. He might have made a couple of horrendous errors with his disposal, but he took half a dozen contested marks and was still accountable.
Fair dinkum, you must have been drunk when you watched the game.

I almost agree with Lach72's votes.

5. McPharlin
4. Pav
3. Gilmore
2. Headland

No-one else deserves a vote.

I think when you give the ball up more often than not his contested marks mean jack shit. He doesnt try, the ball was resting near the boundary line so he ambles over to it picks it up gets tackled and almost gives away another goal. Sorry but he played like shit yesterday.

Watch the game again...

Dont need to, i know why you think he did well. He took a few marks and got some nice stats to look at in the paper. Fact is he caused more goals than he saved with his useless disposal and lack of effort. Maybe you should go and watch the game again.

He was the best defender by a mile.
he made a couple of errors however he was no orphan there.
ABC and 6pr both had him as our best player too.
Lack of effort? I don't think so.

1. Roger - Another solid performance
2. Gilly - Has taken the bull by the horns
3. Pav - Still needs to stop sooking
4. Luke - Great in the air but looked like he had hammy concerns
5. Des - Our only hard at it tackle player

The rest - A chook raffle

I'm with you dbt - the difference between Luke's best and worst this year has been his biggest problem, and yesterday he gave us a pretty good look at both. He was very lazy at points during the game and that is what hurts us - not a lack of ability or skills, but laziness.

My votes:
5-Gilmore
4-Des
3-Pav

That is all.

Hope you don't mind - my first post on an opposition board!

Gilmore was good - seems to have had little opportunity and his grandfather was a member of the Charlie Sutton sole-Footscray- flag team - use it or lose it.

Des was good - but only in parts -where does he go the rest of the time?

Shout me down here but, goals NWS, Pavlich was IMO towelled by Mathew Egan who should be AA-CHB.

Otherwise, Hayden was good (NWS Stokes' 5 goals) - he at least gives you some run off the back and your players up the ground shouldn't find it too hard to run to position for him. The rest of them only seem confused.

Remember last year - both teams were struggling but we belted you. Turned your season around though, but a bit late for that now. My thoughts on you that day were (1) that Pavlich should attack the ball more (he was very ordinary, feigning for frees against Scarlett and (I'm told) being booed by Dockers supporters) and (2), more importantly, get a game plan.

That's the point, really. This morning's SLIMES says that the Harvey requirement is "put your head over the ball". I would have thought that's a fundamental for all teams at this level, but for Freo it's the next step that's lacking. You've got to have some idea of how to use the ball to advantage and you have a lot of players who have no idea. Those that do have some idea have poor execution skills.

It's list management, guys - ya gotta roll over those that can't do it.

I could name names but the types to move on include: Players whose only trick is to die for you to win the ball but whose BEST next move is getting the ball on to a teammate, without incident. You need guys who can win it and CREATE with it. Another type to avoid is those who SHOW indecision - it creates havoc up the field.

Finally, as you're gonna need to trade - what's a good way to free up salary cap $ and to get good early picks? Let Pavlich go back to Adelaide.

So did everyone else. Pavlich put in a couple of *****weak efforts, in one he was totally outdone by Scarlett and all he could think of doing was whining to the umpire.
Gilmore had a couple of terrible disposals and turned the ball over.
On at least 1 occasion, Des put in a soft effort when the ball as up for grabs, allowing Geelong to trundle away with it.

Doesn't mean that the bulk of the above players' matches were not decent. Yes, McPharlin had more than 1 effort i'm sure he'd care to forget. But he saved our arse on multiple occasions. That's why he was our best player.

5 Gilmore
4 Hayden
3 Pavlich
2 Headland
1 McPharlin

McPharlin took some great defensive marks - BUT his disposal & decision making all day was crapoola to say the least. Tarrant got plenty of the ball BUT can't kick.

Can't give votes for mediocrity

Haha, well we're definitely divided on Luke McPharlin. I haven't seen a replay but I thought he was very ordinary, as he has been most of the year. Seems to be disinterested at times, and either makes too many bad decisions or takes too much time before getting rid of the pill. Must be that Bahai thing - he's too chilled out, needs to show a bit of mongrel.

Finally, as you're gonna need to trade - what's a good way to free up salary cap $ and to get good early picks? Let Pavlich go back to Adelaide.

You're an Adelaide supporter in disguise aren't you?

If not, do you remember how Geelong went last season? Maybe you should have got some draft picks and freed up cap space by trading Ablett and Scarlett. Thanks for your concern but you'll forgive us if we don't particularly care for opposition supporters advising us to trade our best player.

Anyone considering giving Hayden votes should have a look at the impact of his opponent - who is a very ordinary forward.

I'm going to give Roger votes. Maybe people should consider how non-existent the rebound out of our back 50 would be if we didn't have Hayden.

My votes -

5. McPharlin - his numerous saving marks far outweighed any mistakes

4. Pav - quality as usual

3. Hayden - our only source of run and creativity out of the backline as usual

2. Tarrant - worked his ass off. If only he could kick straight.

1. Headland - started quietly but worked his way into the game nicely.

Special mentions to Grover and Crowley.

I'm going to give Roger votes. Maybe people should consider how non-existent the rebound out of our back 50 would be if we didn't have Hayden.

He was good rebounding out of the backline, but he was far, far too loose. That's why his opponent, who is an average footballer at best, kicked 5 goals.

The whole idea of a defender is primarily to stop goals. Hayden failed at that.

5) McPharlin
4) Hayden
3) Pavlich
2) Headland
1) Tarrant ...