Polak

• Thread starter Thread starter rgauci

RIPPER_46 said:
Exactly! We wouldn't want him to end up like Doogs.

Have to call that one below the belt Rip! Fair enough they stuffed up by drafting him especially at pick 5, but I don't believe you can blame any of his weaknesses on the Coaching staff. Bit difficult to get a silk purse out of a sow's ear!
Having said that I genuinely believe Worsfold would get more out of Polak.

RIPPER_46 said:
Exactly! We wouldn't want him to end up like Doogs.

uncharitable sod.

I live in hope that Doogs will one day drop the: "world owes me a kick" attitude and start to show something of his obvious talent on a regular basis.

It constantly amazes me the number of young blokes in this game with huge talent who fail to fire at the top level. You'd think it would be fairly obvious that the rewards are there to be had if they applied themselves with a little more focus and dedication.

Exeter said:
uncharitable sod.

I live in hope that Doogs will one day drop the: "world owes me a kick" attitude and start to show something of his obvious talent on a regular basis.

It constantly amazes me the number of young blokes in this game with huge talent who fail to fire at the top level. You'd think it would be fairly obvious that the rewards are there to be had if they applied themselves with a little more focus and dedication.

They still get the chicks, the accolades, the free entry into the clubs, the bar tabs etc, etc. For some of them with a little less between the ears and a little less fire in the belly, that may be all they want / need. Sadly. Especially when there are guys with a few more brain cells and a whole lot more desire, but unfortunatley less talent, that never make it.

ImperialPurple said:
They still get the chicks, the accolades, the free entry into the clubs, the bar tabs etc, etc. For some of them with a little less between the ears and a little less fire in the belly, that may be all they want / need. Sadly. Especially when there are guys with a few more brain cells and a whole lot more desire, but unfortunatley less talent, that never make it.

I would have thought that the opportunity to play in a premiership team, win a Brownlow and earn $500k / year and set yourself up for life might have been compelling inducements.

Obviously not for some.

Lawrence Angwin is a case in point - dumb as a turnip..

Can't help wondering why no-one was able to sit this bloke down and get through to him that if he pulled his head in and applied himself he could have written his own ticket. Maybe they tried but it just didn't stick.

Cupido is another.

I guess they'll still be able to watch the footy on tv down at Centerlink

Exeter said:
I would have thought that the opportunity to play in a premiership team, win a Brownlow and earn $500k / year and set yourself up for life might have been compelling inducements.

Obviously not for some.

Lawrence Angwin is a case in point - dumb as a turnip..

Can't help wondering why no-one was able to sit this bloke down and get through to him that if he pulled his head in and applied himself he could have written his own ticket. Maybe they tried but it just didn't stick.

Cupido is another.

I guess they'll still be able to watch the footy on tv down at Centerlink
The same reason you can't tell a school kid to study, becasue it will benefit you in the future

BB gun said:
The same reason you can't tell a school kid to study, becasue it will benefit you in the future

Possibly.

But training and playing with and against the best players in the country is a lot more tangible than trying to get schoolkids to focus on the rest of their lives.

With some of these young blokes (admittedly some are more mature than others) they've managed to get that far and have a taste of the big time, which most of us can only dream about, only to ******** it all away

I suspect that with people like Angwin there might be issues such as ADHD or oppositional disorder at play which if undiagnosed can seriously screw up people's lives.

Give him time and he'll get better, easy to forget he's only 20 and so basically still a kid. He'll develop as he gets older and gains more experience, it'd be nuts to get rid of him now.

As he gets older I reckon he'll get meaner and tougher, watch out when that happens!

RIPPER_46 said:
He was good today. Rendered Holland largely ineffective.

Holland is known for doing that all by himself :)

After posting votes for the game I went to the AFL site to check some stats.

He might have kept Holland quiet but his stats could be better. Depending on how much TOG he had.

He seems to have a brain fade too often when he gets possesion. He has to improve his decision making. I dont believe he should be traded just educated.

Graham Polak 4 0 4 2 4 3 1 0 0 0

Polak did live the life of the croad monster.

He plays like the moron craod was/is.

Time for Polak to bunk with Luke or Pav.