The Law Police

• Thread starter Thread starter Tim56

Well, you are the troll, and a real bad one. Don't come onto posts that you cant handle, then sook up when many others disagree with you. A RBT is an annoying inconvenience, poor dear. It's to stop drink drivers killing and maiming themselves and others. That'd be a real annoying inconvenience......
Were you going maim and kill yourself and others?...
Were you drink driving?

So you had done nothing wrong... committed no crime... but you were still inconvenienced by police...

Thanks for helping me explain it to you with your own words.

Were you drink driving?

So you had done nothing wrong... committed no crime... but you were still inconvenienced by police...

If you weren't drink driving, the rbt will tell you that. in 20 seconds. Inconvenienced, really, you must be a super special VIP.

Were you drink driving?

You consented to the RBT when you applied for your licence. If you do not wish to be inconvenienced by the police, then simply hand back your licence and forfeit the privilege (not right, but privilege) of driving.

A nice simple response but you didn't actually answer the question. How would this law have preemptively stopped any of the recent terror attacks we have had in Australia? How would these powers help stop a random lone Muslim running up and stabbing someone?
It's a bill purely established to allow police to go back in time and shoot Man Monis.

But seriously, It was a coronial recommendation from the siege inquest and has now been brought into legislation.

Everyone in a paid job cops criticism when they make mistakes, get over it.

I have pretty regular contact with the Police (part of my job) and on the whole they are pretty good people and do a difficult job quite well. Privately I have a couple as friends and regularly go to the footy with them.

There are some who are jerks and get off on a powertrip and there is a problem with corruption amongst some, but on the whole I have a fair bit of respect for them.

I feel for them

It's a tough job and only made harder by the likes of bureaucracy, drugs and poorly managed mental health

Shits me when they pick on kids, a mate's eighteen year old has now twice been done for possession of stupid small amounts of weeds\, and they'd never look twice at me, or his dad who are just as likely to be carrying.
Breaks the law and then complains about it lol

It's a bill purely established to allow police to go back in time and shoot Man Monis.

But seriously, It was a coronial recommendation from the siege inquest and has now been brought into legislation.
Did they not already have powers to run in there and shoot him? The only reason they did not was because they thought they were smarter than that. I agree it is definitely a knee-jerk reaction policy made to appease... whoever.

Police Who Pre-Emptively Kill Suspected Terrorists Will Be Protected

The NSW government is set to introduce new laws by the end of this month which give police immunity for pre-emptively shooting a person they suspect of terrorism, even if that person does not pose an imminent threat to others.

NSW Premier Gladys Berejiklian announced that she will support all 45 of the recommendations from the coronial inquest report into the Lindt Café siege, and will prioritise those which give police more powers and protect them from civil and criminal prosecution.

New South Wales Police Commissioner Mick Fuller acknowledged that police already have the power to “shoot-to-kill” people they suspect of terrorism in situations analogous to the recent London attacks – where they pose an imminent threat to public safety.

However, he feels that situations like the Lindt Cafe siege are a grey area, as it was unclear whether Man Haron Monis was going to act upon his threats.

http://www.sydneycriminallawyers.co...-kill-suspected-terrorists-will-be-protected/

Another reason that cops should not have pre-emptive shoot to kill powers.

*trigger warning*

Thoughts on this incident.

Policeman may well get away with a slap on the wrist for this one.

Bike rider riding unlicenced, sppeding and on a significant dose of illicit drugs.

https://au.news.yahoo.com/nsw/a/357...-of-throwing-a-sign-at-motorbike-rider/#page1

A former police officer is facing the possibility of jail time after being accused of throwing a sign at a motorbike rider in southern Sydney.

Dashcam footage filmed two police cars pulled over on a curb with a red ute next to them. In the opposite direction a motorcycle passes as a man steps out and throws an object.

It’s alleged former Senior Constable Brett Rossiter intentionally tried to hurt motorbike rider Paul Cork.

“It think it was wrong and dangerous of him,” Mr Cork said outside court.

“He could have killed me.”

The court heard Mr Cork was unlicensed and high on drugs when he sped through a breath-testing site in Narwee.

He allegedly encountered a second RBT but didn’t stop, instead speeding up to 95km/h before hitting a stop sign and snapping the visor off his helmet.

Mr Cork claimed he saw an officer “jump out the side of two cars” at the breath-testing site and throw a metal sign at his face.

But Mr Rossiter said it wasn’t on purpose.

“My adrenaline increased significantly, knowing a vehicle was travelling at us at high speed,” he told the court.

“I had no intention to throw the sign at the motorcycle driver at all.”

Mr Rossiter has since stepped down from NSW Police saying it was best he stepped away during the investigation.

He was with the police for almost two decades.

The latest hearing will continue on Wednesday.

CM86 - I clearly have no love for the police but even I would balk at the idea that an RBT would be counted as hassling....

unless they are on Canning St hitting up cyclists again ...
I'd say being held up in a line for 5 mins for an RBT is a hassle. I thought this would be a fairly accepted opinion.

I hope it's not being confused as saying it's police harassment.

The police aren't doing anything wrong. They are doing their job. But adding 5 minutes to a 15 minute drive, to me, is a hassle.

I'd say being held up in a line for 5 mins for an RBT is a hassle. I thought this would be a fairly accepted opinion.

I hope it's not being confused as saying it's police harassment.

The police aren't doing anything wrong. They are doing their job. But adding 5 minutes to a 15 minute drive, to me, is a hassle.

100% agree

anything more than 2 minutes means the RBT hasn't been allocated sufficient resources. In that case, if they can't do the job properly, they should not deploy the RBT.

100% agree

anything more than 2 minutes means the RBT hasn't been allocated sufficient resources. In that case, if they can't do the job properly, they should not deploy the RBT.
What do you 100% agree with? Because I'm having a hard time seeing how you got your post, from my post.

Thoughts on this incident.

Pretty silly thing to do. Had the rider lost control as a result and careered into someone who would have been at fault? And how would the copper have felt?

Anyways...thank **** that didn't happen.

Ps. Paul Cork should **** right off.

CM86 - I clearly have no love for the police but even I would balk at the idea that an RBT would be counted as hassling....

unless they are on Canning St hitting up cyclists again ...
The best one I've seen was on the single road coming out of Jindabyne going towards Thredbo/Perisher, on opening day of the snow season (usually the busiest of the year). Only held up traffic for about 3 hours. No hassle at all.

What do you 100% agree with? Because I'm having a hard time seeing how you got your post, from my post.

100% agree

Breaks the law and then complains about it lol

its good the coppers are going after people for a gram of weed

im sure there is suffice resources for all the rape, murder, terror, gangs etc...

some police stations close in Victoria at 2 or 5pm ... guess what time the hardened criminals start working in those suburbs?

Dashcam: Cop Beats Man in Fit of Road Rage As Fellow Cop Attempts to Cover It Up

St. Paul, MN — Dashcam video of a senselessly violent assault by a cop on a 21-year-old Laotian American has just been released and is the subject of an ACLU report this week. The video shows Buffalo Ridge Drug Task Force Agent Joe Joswiak stop Anthony Promvongsa in Worthington, Minnesota and immediately begin a violent attack.

The beating was captured on another officer’s dashcam who is caught disabling the audio to cover up Joswiak’s insanely violent fury.

According to police, Promvongsa was driving erratically for several city blocks sticking his head out of the window and yelling at Joswiak. Joswiak claims Promvongsa was swerving toward him repeatedly while making threatening remarks and unidentified hand signals.

None of this was captured on any of the dashcam footage involved in this case.

Joswiak claims he turned on his lights to make the stop and that Promvongsa refused to stop. However, from the dashcam, the young man appears to be driving quite safely and pulls over when he sees the actual patrol car with his lights on.

“Get the **** out of the car, mother****er. Show me your hands,” Joswiak screams as he immediately begins assaulting Promvongsa before he could even take off his seat belt. As he lays into the young man with knees, fists, and elbows — as if he’s in some UFC fight — the officer on the other side of the car is seen inexplicably turning off the audio recording.

Now, this entire incident is a case of the cop’s word against a 21-year-old who was beaten nearly to death on film.

One of the parties involved in this case is lying. However, only one of the parties in this case was captured on video violently attacking a barefoot young man half his size while another officer attempted to cover it up.

As City Pages reports, Promvongsa is charged with two counts of assault with a deadly weapon (his car), one count of fleeing a peace officer in a motor vehicle, possessing a small amount of marijuana, and driving with a revoked driver’s license. He has pleaded not guilty.

“[Promvongsa’s] obviously plead not guilty and we intend to try it. He maintains his innocence,” Promvongsa’s attorney Ginny Barron says. “What I can say is while I believe there are definitely a number of honorable police officers in the community who are highly respected, we are seeing increasing, systemic problems of excessive force in the Worthington Police Department, Nobles County Sheriff’s Office, and Buffalo Ridge Drug Task Force that we don’t believe should ever be allowed or tolerated in a civilized society.”

“Promvongsa was not given proper time to obey the officer’s orders before excessive force was used against him,” said Teresa Nelson, executive director of the ACLU, in a statement.

“Agent Joswiak’s use of force against Anthony Promvongsa is disturbing and completely unnecessary. We are calling for an investigation of Agent Joswiak’s behavior and for him to be held accountable for his brutal attack on Anthony Promvongsa, up to and including termination and prosecution.”

Agent Joswiak has not been disciplined at all for the violent attack caught on video.

“I had no idea what was going on when I was approached and attacked by this officer,” Promvongsa said in a statement. “I did not even have the opportunity to take off my seatbelt before I was literally blindsided with this unnecessary attack. I immediately pulled over for the Worthington squad car and before I knew what was happening I was beat and ripped from my vehicle. I know I am not the first person to have this type of traumatic experience with law enforcement in Worthington. This type of violence with community members has to stop. This encounter was demoralizing and has left me scared of future interactions with the police.”

Watch for the non attacking cop turning off the audio @ ~ 2:07

It gets turned back on @ 3:14

A disgusting, lying, murdering piece of shit.

Officer who shot Philando Castile said smell of marijuana made him fear for his life

The officer who fatally shot Philando Castile during a traffic stop last year told investigators that the smell of "burnt marijuana" in Castile's car made him believe his life was in danger.

"I thought, I was gonna die," Officer Jeronimo Yanez told investigators from the Minnesota Bureau of Criminal Apprehension fifteen hours after the shooting. "And I thought if he’s, if he has the, the guts and the audacity to smoke marijuana in front of the five year old girl and risk her lungs and risk her life by giving her secondhand smoke and the front seat passenger doing the same thing then what, what care does he give about me. And, I let off the rounds and then after the rounds were off, the little girls was screaming."

This isn't the first time a police officer has cited the alleged danger posed by pot to justify a confrontation that turned deadly. Last year North Carolina police officers decided to confront Keith Lamont Scott in his car after observing him smoking marijuana in it.

https://www.washingtonpost.com/news...him-fear-for-his-life/?utm_term=.1a0ffec8527d

D
A disgusting, lying, murdering piece of shit.

Officer who shot Philando Castile said smell of marijuana made him fear for his life

The officer who fatally shot Philando Castile during a traffic stop last year told investigators that the smell of "burnt marijuana" in Castile's car made him believe his life was in danger.

"I thought, I was gonna die," Officer Jeronimo Yanez told investigators from the Minnesota Bureau of Criminal Apprehension fifteen hours after the shooting. "And I thought if he’s, if he has the, the guts and the audacity to smoke marijuana in front of the five year old girl and risk her lungs and risk her life by giving her secondhand smoke and the front seat passenger doing the same thing then what, what care does he give about me. And, I let off the rounds and then after the rounds were off, the little girls was screaming."

This isn't the first time a police officer has cited the alleged danger posed by pot to justify a confrontation that turned deadly. Last year North Carolina police officers decided to confront Keith Lamont Scott in his car after observing him smoking marijuana in it.

https://www.washingtonpost.com/news...him-fear-for-his-life/?utm_term=.1a0ffec8527d
Did this happen is Australia?
No.
So what is your point exactly???