Opinion Poll: Menzel or Stringer

• Thread starter Thread starter Lager

If both Menzel and Stringer are available at 16?

Lager

Hypothetical - Come Thursdays National Draft. Put yourself into the shoes of Professor Wells.

If both Troy Menzel and Jake Stringer are still available at pick 16, who's name do you call out?

Stringer will be the best player taken in this draft, so if he fell to pick 16, we'd take him without hesitation.

both boys are a good size, oozing with class every possession they take.
Tough to choose but I reckon Menzel...doubt either will be around at pick 16 though.

I rate both highly - probably on par.

Tenzel gets the nod for mine, purely on the romantic notion of having him and his brother together at the Cattery.

For what it's worth I believe we will pick up Murdoch jnr with pick 79

I cant choose.
In one hand I agree with MD and think Stringer could be a Selwood like pickup in that he will be the best of his draft and we will get him cheap but in the other I think if we pick up Menzel we will get the best out of him and its extra insurance that Dan will stay with the Cats.
So I'm not going to go by who I think WILL be better, I wont go by who I WANT to get but who I think will make immediate impact; Stringer.
191cm and 91kg hard bodied goal kicking inside mid/forwards dont come along often, in fact rarely if ever.
If Stringer is available I have 100% confidence we will pick him up, even if Menzel is still available.
Stringer already looks a 200 game player IMO, provided we can fix up his leg and prevent further injury/complications.
Menzel COULD have a more decorated career, or have a better highlights package in the future, but I think Stringer would be better for the Cats, Chapman like grunt and goal kicking ability, Stevie like smarts and elite kicking, Enrights height and pace of Duncan? OMG YES PLEASE!

edit: I just realised I contradicted myself in this post :P
Regardless same vote.

Draft Stringer, then in 2 years, trade for Tenzel when he tells his club that he wants to be traded to Geelong to play with Denzel. :thumbsu:
Yep that's exactly what I suggested in the 2012 draft thread. That would be awesome, but unfortunately I don't see it happening, or us getting either one of them to be honest. Here's hoping we get one of them at least.

It depends on Stringer's injury really. If the GFC reckon he is fine then he is probably a better choice.

Some real grunt in the guy - and nothing like a tall mid who can mark. And he would make an ideal Corey replacement.

If both players have heaps of talent give me the big bodied agressive mid any day.

Just look at how Ling and Corey made our midfield so good. It is unlikely Troy Menzel will be another Gary Ablett Jnr - which would be the only reason we select him over Stringer.

And I don't reckon either will be there come pick 16.

Menzel is just a tad under 6ft'2 which is the perfect size for mids but yeh' Stringer is 6ft'3 and half, broad & quite muscular.
Both have great hands and good leaping ability, seriously good players going by the highlights.

Stringer will = Goddard
Tenzel will = denzel

Considering that we already have one of them I would be inclined to pick up stringer.

Also believe that we need a big bodied aggressive inside mid more so than a creative half fwd at the moment.

Would love both though.

Also I think there is no chance of tenzel slipping to our pick, but there is a genuine possibility stringer could fall. Fingers crossed stringer falls.

Stringer will = Goddard
Tenzel will = denzel

Considering that we already have one of them I would be inclined to pick up stringer.

Also believe that we need a big bodied aggressive inside mid more so than a creative half fwd at the moment.

Would love both though.

Also I think there is no chance of tenzel slipping to our pick, but there is a genuine possibility stringer could fall. Fingers crossed stringer falls.
Stringer will be taken inside the top 6, while Menzel may be the player that slides IMO.

Stringer is all class, and mids like him don't come around often.

Stringer will be taken inside the top 6, while Menzel may be the player that slides IMO.

Stringer is all class, and mids like him don't come around often.

I think most clubs would choose Stringer, and so would I, because he's the best; and I think most clubs will believe that they can fairly quickly fix any problems with Stringer's leg and gait.
I think most clubs are more likely (just more likely, not likely) to let Menzel slide, knowing that he is almost certain to miss substantial career time with one and possibly two more knee ops.
Take Stringer if he's there, Menzel if he's not, and don't hold our breath on either of them.

I think most clubs would choose Stringer, and so would I, because he's the best; and I think most clubs will believe that they can fairly quickly fix any problems with Stringer's leg and gait.
I think most clubs are more likely (just more likely, not likely) to let Menzel slide, knowing that he is almost certain to miss substantial career time with one and possibly two more knee ops.
Take Stringer if he's there, Menzel if he's not, and don't hold our breath on either of them.
It's highly unlikely that either of them will still be there at pick 16. In the event that they are still available, head off and buy a lotto ticket.

I cant choose.
In one hand I agree with MD and think Stringer could be a Selwood like pickup in that he will be the best of his draft and we will get him cheap but in the other I think if we pick up Menzel we will get the best out of him and its extra insurance that Dan will stay with the Cats.
So I'm not going to go by who I think WILL be better, I wont go by who I WANT to get but who I think will make immediate impact; Stringer.
191cm and 91kg hard bodied goal kicking inside mid/forwards dont come along often, in fact rarely if ever.
If Stringer is available I have 100% confidence we will pick him up, even if Menzel is still available.
Stringer already looks a 200 game player IMO, provided we can fix up his leg and prevent further injury/complications.
Menzel COULD have a more decorated career, or have a better highlights package in the future, but I think Stringer would be better for the Cats, Chapman like grunt and goal kicking ability, Stevie like smarts and elite kicking, Enrights height and pace of Duncan? OMG YES PLEASE!

edit: I just realised I contradicted myself in this post :p
Regardless same vote.

I'd hope he dosent have Duncans pace. The only thing that Duncan is lacking IMO

You're wrong there, he is noticeably faster on his feet than most of our power midfielders 2007-11.
Watch Varcoes's 2011 last 1/4 GF goal and see how far and fast Duncan goes - with a strained medial ligament.

You're wrong there, he is noticeably faster on his feet than most of our power midfielders 2007-11.
Watch Varcoes's 2011 last 1/4 GF goal and see how far and fast Duncan goes - with a strained medial ligament.
Duncan is extremely underestimated in the pace department, quite deceiving in that regard.

Sorry i didnt realise you meant it in regards to our other big bodied mids but I still i dont classify pace as a strength of Duncans game.
In regards to the GF footage, he is easily beaten by Varcoe who started 15m behind him on the back flank and beat him to the contest on the forward flank, although not many can match Varcoe! Also Duncan had the fresh legs as he was sub and had played 1 previous QTR of footy although as you said he did have the injury.
Differnt opinions i guess

Duncan is extremely underestimated in the pace department, quite deceiving in that regard.

yeh and so too is Bundy, some reckon they are average paced but both boys are very deceptive as you stated.
This will make them a tough matchup in the coming year as both are improving out of sight (Duncan more so) and both have a terrific eye for goals.

Sorry i didnt realise you meant it in regards to our other big bodied mids but I still i dont classify pace as a strength of Duncans game.
In regards to the GF footage, he is easily beaten by Varcoe who started 15m behind him on the back flank and beat him to the contest on the forward flank, although not many can match Varcoe! Also Duncan had the fresh legs as he was sub and had played 1 previous QTR of footy although as you said he did have the injury.
Differnt opinions i guess

Well, it is definitely a case of different opinions.:)
In the GF run they started level and Duncan finished ahead of him and the ball before Varcoe ran past him again for the give and goal; but it wasn't a straight out race, they both had to do a bit of stop and go woirk on the journey.
His good pace was a feature right from his first game, and especially his ability to make the long 50-100m run down the wing at full pace - one of the things that makes him a very good outside mid.

Agree the need for a Stringer type is greater. Sold on his bullocking midfield grunt and good work up forward - However, T'enzel has time/awareness you just can't buy/teach. Love his decision making and disposal skills - Both boys are strong overhead, have some pace, and good evasive skills - Expect each to be a gun 200 game AFL player (free from current injury concerns). Either would be a massive get. May only be a Cat's whisker in it,.. but it's Menzel for mine.

Will be 'Party Time' if either are there at P.16 - 'Twilight Time' if Wells plays the Joker.