Mega Thread Port Forum 'General AFL Talk' Thread Part 5 - Cont. in Part 6

Well their ambassadors are already discussing Edwards following Sloanes footsteps by potentially taking the number 31 that Sloane started with and moving to his fathers 9 after a few years next year./QUOTE]

Maybe I'm in the minority but I reckon Garry is a decent analyst of the game and also one of the rare ex footballers who can actually string a proper sentence together.
Middle tier of ex players imo

Above your Lake's and Johnson's but below your Kingy/Bererton/Healy's

The problem is they didn't need another ex player. Fox footy just continue to destroy the role of the genuine play by play caller.

Not nearly as hilarious as watching the unbeatable, rampaging Grand Final favourites get pumped by 8 goals, barely firing a shot after 1/4 time.

What you should be embarassed by is the way your entire franchise, employees (players) and customer base melted down in the aftermath though. From customers whinging about losing because of home ground advantage/ poor umpiring/ whatever other sore loser excuse for being shit on the day you managed to think up, to captain potatoheads 9 second speech, throwing the toys out of the cot over Lever and Cameron and your corporation telling departing players not to turn up the B&F awards. That is the actions of poor sportsmen and sore losers and is far more embarrasing than our last showdown loss.
They literally went from respected minor premier with the classic heroes journey, triumph-from-tragedy narrative to laughing stock of the league in 1 week.

That aint easy to do.

It is. Southern Brazil:
JBG5044.jpg

“Frederico Westphalen”. Every place name tells a story, I wonder what his was?

Sorry for going OT but I have a minor fetish for maps. “Go Ogle Maps” is the greatest unused name for an app IMO ;)

It's all marketing. He makes sure his kids wear 32 at junior footy as well. Very floggish behaviour IMO, but expected.

Lol. So his advice to new recruit is “Wear it like you own it”, yet he still behaves as if he owns it. He’s such a ****.

Lol what happens if it’s already taken? Does he bully a pre-teen out of the 32 so that his kid can wear it?

“Hey kid, I’ll give ya 2 vouchers for 10% off a Pint and Parmy at the Alma if ya let me boy have ya number....”

Hopefully not anytime soon. It really is a beautiful continuous implosion.

Though in all seriousness their players must either be quite delusional or completely mentally fragile and either way is not good for their mental health.
Don't they do some meditation to combat this ... :D:p

Lol what happens if it’s already taken? Does he bully a pre-teen out of the 32 so that his kid can wear it?
No it would be my boy will be wearing the #32 won't he coach with which the coach will start stuttering yeah yeah of course Roo no worries. As they go and rip the Guernsey off a kid who was lining up to kick the footy. And everyone would be all yeah of course Roo's kid should wear it and we are so grateful that his son plays for our club, too bad that he is too busy to actually ever come down to the club and help out on the bbq, coach, do any drills etc. but it's Rooooo.

“Frederico Westphalen”. Every place name tells a story, I wonder what his was?

Sorry for going OT but I have a minor fetish for maps. “Go Ogle Maps” is the greatest unused name for an app IMO ;)

My first girlfriend was from there. It is my state highlands (not that high, though). It is a region of small towns all close to one another — very different than my lowlands.

The city is inhabited by Italians, besides its German name. The current name is because people were ashamed of the original name. Since Westphalen is consider the "founder" of the city, the city was named after him.

The original name was "Barril" (literally "barrel," in English), because there was an actual barrel where there was the first settlement.

Who will wear the #23 next season? Milera? It appears they forgot to recruit a new 'next McLeod'.

Don't laugh, they were already discussing this happening a few weeks ago.

Are Crows supporters aware that Andrew McLeod had any distinguishing features whatsoever other than ‘Aboriginal’?

No it would be my boy will be wearing the #32 won't he coach with which the coach will start stuttering yeah yeah of course Roo no worries. As they go and rip the Guernsey off a kid who was lining up to kick the footy. And everyone would be all yeah of course Roo's kid should wear it and we are so grateful that his son plays for our club, too bad that he is too busy to actually ever come down to the club and help out on the bbq, coach, do any drills etc. but it's Rooooo.

Had that happen to one of my daughters at basketball. She had worn #10 for around 5 years but when the daughter of a former ‘36er came out to the club we were told we had to change because she was a Div 1 player.

They had conveniently overlooked that my daughter had played Div 1 the year before, in fact she was also promoted to Div 1 later that year.

No doubt it was all to do with pandering to a parents request.

Sounds like you may have seen this sort of thing in action ;)