Mega Thread Port Forum General AFL Thread Part 22

Still don't know why we didn't but Fredrick on the cat b list with his bro was basically a free hit.

You’re assuming we’d have developed him and played him correctly

Conditions at Woodville Oval are the worst i have seen since the 1960s when we played on mud heaps like Norwood, Unley and the Bay. Umpires did well I thought. Not over technical like their AFL counterparts. I reckon Fos would have been in his element.
I remember a game in the late 60's at the Bay oval between the Maggies and Glenelg when Ron Elleway and Fred Phillis were both on their hands and knees in the northern goal square with the ball literally floating alongside them.
There was an iconic pic of the incident printed in the Sunday mail and also the Monday Advertiser, and from memory it also made it into a hard cover footy book of the era.
Most of the oval on that particular day was covered by a sheet of water, and where there wasn't water it was mud.

I remember a game in the late 60's at the Bay oval between the Maggies and Glenelg when Ron Elleway and Fred Phillis were both on their hands and knees in the northern goal square with the ball literally floating alongside them.
There was an iconic pic of the incident printed in the Sunday mail and also the Monday Advertiser, and from memory it also made it into a hard cover footy book of the era.
Most of the oval on that particular day was covered by a sheet of water, and where there wasn't water it was mud.

Yeah, that takes me back.

At one stage they actually resorted to covering the mud patches at the Bay with sawdust. Norwood and Unley were just as bad and Norwood was not helped by having baseball played there during the week. The situation at Woodville yesterday was not helped by the cricket pitch area which was a sea of mud. Obviously the drop in pitch technology they use on AFL venues does not extend to the suburban grounds.

After the SANFL game was finished I switched onto the Freo v Brisbane game and it was like watching two games played decades apart.

Yeah, that takes me back.

At one stage they actually resorted to covering the mud patches at the Bay with sawdust. Norwood and Unley were just as bad and Norwood was not helped by having baseball played there during the week. The situation at Woodville yesterday was not helped by the cricket pitch area which was a sea of mud. Obviously the drop in pitch technology they use on AFL venues does not extend to the suburban grounds.

After the SANFL game was finished I switched onto the Freo v Brisbane game and it was like watching two games played decades apart.

In Woomera we were lucky enough to play cricket on turf pitches, but on what was an otherwise sandy soiled oval that didn't get muddy in the wet, the cricket pitch area was another story - it was made from some black clay-like stuff dredged up from a river bed along the Murray supposedly, and although it made excellent cricket pitches, it turned into a quagmire on wet days in the footy season. What was worse though was when it had dried out after it had been churned up by footy boots, it was like the coarsest grade of sandpaper - they should've got the heavy roller on it those times, but they never did.