Mega Thread Port Forum General AFL Thread Part 30

Having a stinker tonight, contract pressure getting to him.
Probably the stuff Caro dropped on him Tuesday night with her usual - I believe - re the crows and Walker, probably has meant he isn't fully tuned in to play tonight.

A win against Melbourne, and we leapfrog Dees, Saints, and Swans. Since Carlton won't lose in Perth, we would be tied with them and Essendon (10th in pts, but 12th due %).

A loss would feel like a missed opportunity. Worse, we would be practically three wins away from the Top-8 (2 in pts, but our % is pornographic), with only 10 games still to play.

$1 BILLION for a stadium in a poor state will kill it.
You’d think Tasmania is Gaza the way it’s talked about.

Their annual budget is just under $10b so over a ten year period we are talking about 1-1.5% of state government expenditure. They just gave away the $300m-odd cost of the roof in household energy rebates.

View attachment 2341513

I'm becoming Kenny umpire

Yes, it's expensive, but we also had people sooking at the Adelaide Oval upgrade and it's completely revitalised the city.

I wouldn't want to be remembered as the government who kiboshed Tassie's AFL side over a measly billion dollars. I know it sounds like i'm being flippant but having an AFL side and the boost to the surrounding area in the heart of Hobart will be massive and this might be a one time deal. Tassie is the slowest growing state in the country, they might not get another chance.

Don't mess it up. It doesn't need to have a financial ROI. It's a cultural investment.

Polling suggests hung parliament with Labor needing the help of independents at the very best. Likely to need the Greens though.

It’s screwed.

A win against Melbourne, and we leapfrog Dees, Saints, and Swans. Since Carlton won't lose in Perth, we would be tied with them and Essendon (10th in pts, but 12th due %).

A loss would feel like a missed opportunity. Worse, we would be practically three wins away from the Top-8 (2 in pts, but our % is pornographic), with only 10 games still to play.

The win is very important for the trading team to save face. It feels like a sliding doors moment for the value of the first rounder we traded out.

You’d think Tasmania is Gaza the way it’s talked about.

Their annual budget is just under $10b so over a ten year period we are talking about 1-1.5% of state government expenditure. They just gave away the $300m-odd cost of the roof in household energy rebates.

Just add an AirBnB tax over there and they probably not have to touch the budget.

Yes, it's expensive, but we also had people sooking at the Adelaide Oval upgrade and it's completely revitalised the city.
That was the redevelopment of an existing long established sports stadium set aside in parklands for sporting use in Adelaide’s early development. Where football and cricket had co-existed for decades before the SANFL/cricket establishment spat that saw footy shift to West Lakes. The redevelopment simply brought footy and AFL back where it should always have been on a naval recognised as one of the world’s best international cricket venues. And a redevelopment for 55k spectators that in a city with a population of 1 million people and 2 existing AFL sides offered up a huge range of alternative options as an entertainment venue.

The case for the redevelopment of Adelaide Oval into the state's premier outdoor AFL, sporting and entertainment venue was clear as day. Feck, were it not for the fact that the bloody crows had established infrastructure at West Lakes that their establishment felt gave them a sponsorship, financial and playing advantage over Port Adelaide - to the point of potentially bankrupting us, the redevelopment of Adelaide Oval as the home of SA AFL footy would have been unopposed.

The Hobart AFL Stadium proposal is a brownfields development with a maximum capacity of just 23k at a cost of $1 billion and rising on a public site in a city with a population of just 250k that has multiple alternative uses including as a state of the art public hospital for all people in Hobart. And the majority of Tasmanians do not want a stadium there at the price and configuration the AFL is demanding.

I don’t know why people keep conflating the two. They’re totally different propositions - politically, operationally, economically and most of all - in terms of their underlying business case and public support.

Not to mention the fact that with the Adelaide Oval redevelopment Andrew Demetriou did not insist (as Gil and his Dil have insisted with Hobart) THAT IT HAVE A BLOODY ROOF adding $200m plus to the cost (funded by taxpayers of course).

/rant

(perhaps we need to send Port tragic and former SA Treasurer Kevin Foley over to Tasmania to teach the Tasmanian MPs how to negotiate with AFL House?)

Chad Wingard on that McDonalds interview with Campbell Brown, and Browny said he played under three coaches (Hinkley, Clarko, Mitchell)

He actually played under 4 coaches since in he was there in 2012 under Primus.

Chad Wingard on that McDonalds interview with Campbell Brown, and Browny said he played under three coaches (Hinkley, Clarko, Mitchell)

He actually played under 4 coaches since in he was there in 2012 under Primus.
Are you saying that Chad Wingard can't "remember 2012"?