Mega Thread Port Forum General AFL Thread Part 31

Just sorted tickets for 8 of the 9 gather round games, hoping to find tickets to Geelong v West Coast at some point to keep my perfect streak of gather round attendance going. Each year except last year I had difficulties getting tickets to one of the games so fingers crossed I can clutch up closer to the date. Very very excited!
Does anyone know why it was particularly hard to get tickets for that game? Seemed like it was instantly allocation exhausted for me.

Tassie is a beautiful place but i'm still not convinced we need another AFL team or that this will work. I still think one of the Vic teams should've permanently moved there like South Melbourne moving to Sydney. To me 18 teams is already too many and there has always been far too many in Melbourne.
Tassie deserve a footy team, and it should be their own original team so that no one is calling it "shinboner spirit" when they win a game. 4x Vic teams should've been booted years ago and we'd never have this issue.

All the GA hill tickets are gone for our game. If anyone has any and cannot go remember this post and send me a msg. I have 3 but needed 5 as my daughter is coming back from UK for a visit so was going to be a surprise. She was my footy buddy for years until her move.

And my mate couldn't even get it to log on. Its a shit show that site.

The shit show for tickets for our own members to watch our own team at our own ground in a regular season game is why the way they do gather round pisses me off.

Yet people are still ‘oooh don’t be so ungrateful it’s an extra game for your membership lalalalalla’ ****ing cretins who’ll eat AFL boot at every opportunity.

Does anyone know why it was particularly hard to get tickets for that game? Seemed like it was instantly allocation exhausted for me.
Some clubs are just too big for these minor grounds, seems like there’s usually this issue with one game that doesn’t have an expansion team in it. Was Brisbane v North at Mt Barker in 2023 (tickets went for sale like 3 times), Richmond v Saints at Norwood in 2024 (got tickets on the day personally). These two teams already played at Adelaide Oval one year and I remember the ground being relatively empty for gather round but I think there’s just too much of a capacity gap between AO and the minor grounds that you’re bound to have a game that has the demand to fit a middle ground that just doesn’t exist.

Yep I'll head down there for a Port game
Love Hobart
You better start saving now.

Travel, ticketing, food, drink, accommodation, Tassie taxes.
This will all go up & cost you a fortune by the time the stadium gets built.

Probably cheaper to fly to the UK and watch Man U V's Liverpool.

I speak for everyone when I say they should extend Nicks on a multi-year deal ASAP.

Besides, who will they ever get to replace him? And poor old Nicksy needs to have the players to work with first.

What a Christmas present appointing Temu Hinkley for a few more seasons 🤣🤣🤣

Did South Melbourne turn out to be a melbourne dreg for Sydney?
"Turn out" after how many years? When South Melbourne first moved to Sydney they were pretty much a VFL dreg.

I agree the AFL doesn't need any more teams but disagree that Tassie doesn't deserve it's own team. The AFL should be getting rid of a couple of Melbourne teams but it will never happen.

Did South Melbourne turn out to be a melbourne dreg for Sydney?
Sydney wasn't/isn't a australian football town. The swans were dregs of an organisation for most of the time between 1981 and 1995. AFL $$$ and assisting to trade a few star players in, and getting Richard Colless as chair and Kelvin Templeton as CEO and Barassi involved in the club long term, changed all that.

The whole of Tassie is footy state. They deserve their own team, not a transplanted team.

On the one hand Nicks did finally get them in to a top 4 spot, and if his star player could have literally just not been homophobic for 5 minutes who knows if they could have won a final or two also.

On the other hand why on earth would you not just let him coach the season out and make a decision at the end of the year.

100%. The AFL's obsession with giving even slightly questionable coaches (never mind extremely questionable ones like Nicks and Longmuir) early extensions is baffling to me. IMO unless you've just won a flag, no senior coach should be getting a contract extension before July of their last contract.

You're forgetting selfless ones too, like our former great man.

On the one hand Nicks did finally get them in to a top 4 spot, and if his star player could have literally just not been homophobic for 5 minutes who knows if they could have won a final or two also.

Because John Olsen has looked at the data.

I'm all for the crows extending Nicks before Round 1, after 1 good season out of 6, which was still a mixed bag considering they turned a surprising minor premiership into two home final losses.
There main problem is not drafting enough strong mids.
Forward and back they are pretty well set but the midfield is as good as a bottom half of the table team.
You could get away with that in the old days but now it’s such a midfielders game if you’re not up to scratch it’s going to show up when it counts.

What surprises me is as a club they have never really addressed it.
If they would have they could have easily won a couple of extra flags by now.

Mega Thread Port Forum General AFL Thread Part 31