Fulham/76rsPhilsNovaDrexel/Atalanta
What a win!!

My top ten:
1. Kapow getting to sing the song and see a win live for the first time!!
2. We have Suban!!
3. We don't have Greedy Guts Warnock (or pouting pratty Fev)!!
4. Saaaaaaaaaandipants!! Proof that he can keep getting better...
5. Free to air telly on Ten - no Slapovich, no Brainless Taylor, no Pickering!!
6. Taz pantsing (literally - or was it a dacking?? or a wedgie??) Fev...
7. Dodd punching the ball farther than Fev kicked it for the whole game.
8. Nick Stevens crying after the game. No doubt Greedy Warnock is sobbing too...
9. Harvs coming down to the dugout towards the end of every quarter, and the boys running out from the bench at the end - I reckon the man is starting to get the mojo going with his players -excellent team spirit!!
10. Having that kind of a gutsy, stunning win:
- straight after a derby win and a Len Hall classic;
- after the longest road trip of our season;
- in Queensland;
- against the "ruthless" tankers; and
- without Mayne, Palmer, Headland or Crowley, and with only limited input from Pav and Elvis!!!

Hit me with some sweet, sweet thoughts people!! Gimme some luuuurve!!!

congrats on the first win...... god i love that team, they will frustrate me to my grave, but every now and then they show something like they did last night and remind me that its all worth it..... im not gay as my missus will testify, but i have an absolute man crush on clayton hinkley... the guy is a star

Our new recruits are all tough nuts, Pratty backed back into packs several times without hesitation. de Boer, Suban, Hill, Pratt, Hinkles... they all rock!

I agree with the comments on the young guys. Would not have won without them and Hill and Suban were instrumental down the stretch.

Pratt and Deboer are tough players who never shirk an issue.

I felt Pav and Hayden struggled in the last quarter but the backline under immense pressure really stood up.

Byron schammer and Paul duffield were brilliant again and are growing into stars.

And we all know about Hase, Sandi and Tarrant: Sensational.

I know we won but I still can't believe it. When you look at all that the boys were up against -

Derby last week
Short turn around and 5 hr flight to brisbane 1.5hrs on bus to gold coast
5 first year players in the team
Number 1 tagger and 2nd best midfielder out
3 of our top 4 players had average games (pav, mcpharlin and hayden)
The 9 - 20 free kick count
Never played at Carrara and never won in Queensland

Yet against all odds, the boys (and yes i mean the young and middle group) played their guts out and never gave in. They wore their hearts on their sleeves and can hold their heads up high! Well done FREO.

Our new recruits are all tough nuts, Pratty backed back into packs several times without hesitation. de Boer, Suban, Hill, Pratt, Hinkles... they all rock!

this what i like about harvey (and bond). they are recruiting players who want to get the hard ball

Suban is nearly our most penetrating kick and I can only remember a couple of times where he missed the target. He also laid a ripper tackle after one little kick that was inspirational on simpson.

You have to consider that he often goes long to our forwards in contests which may not seem that effective but generally help break the game open. He will be a star Lach and he stood up very well in the last quarter.

Yeah but when you consider Pav dropped about four chest marks and struggled in the last quarter and Hayden missed a couple of easy balls, I don't think we should be questioning Suban too much. He will get better no doubt but a few of our stars last night didnt really stand up when the game was on the line and this is the more pertinent issue.

Where to start...all of the above but you can`t go past ...

Schammertime

He has really taken his game to a new level this year. His work in close and his attack on the ball is second to none.

He only had 19 disposals last night but his efficiency was 100%:eek:, had 5 tackles and 5 clearances and annoyed the hell out of Murphy(the diving little princess)

A couple of years ago my mate labelled him short-kick-Schammer because he rarely backed himself to kick much more than 20 metres.

That couldn`t be further from the truth now as he has the confidence to take the game on and he is a crucial cog in our midfield:thumbsu:

One of the positives for me is the confidence that De Boer and Pratt would be getting. Winning your first game would be a great confidence booster and having some wins under their belt is fantastic :thumbsu:

congrats on the first win...... god i love that team, they will frustrate me to my grave, but every now and then they show something like they did last night and remind me that its all worth it..... im not gay as my missus will testify, but i have an absolute man crush on clayton hinkley... the guy is a star

I still haven't seen 'em win live since I left Perth over ten years ago - but Kapow!! got to see them win live, which is great - he's a legend of a supporter, and really gives us a pep talk on here when things are getting a bit down. His 2008 post Do you have the passion? - about keeping the faith - is one of the best I've ever read, specially from such a young fella...
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=441799

Suban needs to improve his kicking a bit.

Kicks to no one on occasions and misses some easy balls

Lachy - this thread is supposed to be aboot positives me boyo - careful or I'll ask for you to get a wee yella card!!!:D:D

And to finish tonight, a couple more positives for yez all:
  • watching the Carltank cartel go into meltdown - have a wander over to the Carlton board and have a read - funnier than the Simpsons...
  • seeing the photos of the players' joy at winning - really good stuff;
  • knowing that the younguns saw that they can still win without huge games from Pav or Elvis - hopefully they will keep growing in belief and confidence;
  • seeing us win a close one for a change; and
  • seeing enough fit and in-form players to choose from that there is going to be genuine competition for spots next week - outstanding!!
Good night and good luck!!:p

I still haven't seen 'em win live since I left Perth over ten years ago - but Kapow!! got to see them win live, which is great - he's a legend of a supporter, and really gives us a pep talk on here when things are getting a bit down. His 2008 post Do you have the passion? - about keeping the faith - is one of the best I've ever read, specially from such a young fella...
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=441799

Hadn't read that before, hat's off to you Kapow. Happy to get into the trenches with you at the next Brissy game and make some more noise. We should coordinate a time to book the tickets so we can get a good block of Freo fans, because there were probably 2-3 hundred there Sat night.

Yep first win without an influence from Pav shows great signs.
Plus against all thse odds mentioned earlier.

This is the attck on the ball and presure i expected from a harvey coached side.
Keep on showing this endevour all year and youngsters keep improving things are looking good for top 8 attack next year an im still thinking its ours in 2011

It was a very even performance across the board. I thought Ibbo done reasonably on Judd while maintaining his own output. Hinkley seems to be coming along quite well. Sandilands, absolutely briliant.

Ibbotson - Judd matchup... i thought Ibbotson actually won that, and had more of an influence over the match, especially as it went further into the second half.

Hinkley and DeBoer... even when outnumbered, found a way to half the contest, just by sheer will

Tarrant, just keeps getting better down back... when he is in the area, i have started to relax knowing that the ball will be well and truly killed to the boundary or very close

:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

He only had 19 disposals last night but his efficiency was 100%:eek:, had 5 tackles and 5 clearances and annoyed the hell out of Murphy(the diving little princess)

Butthead has been killing it the last couple of weeks.

Our whole midfield looks 100% better with Hase at full fitness.

De Boer is as hard as a cats head. He loves it.

Suban is nearly our most penetrating kick and I can only remember a couple of times where he missed the target. He also laid a ripper tackle after one little kick that was inspirational on simpson.

You have to consider that he often goes long to our forwards in contests which may not seem that effective but generally help break the game open. He will be a star Lach and he stood up very well in the last quarter.

I agree, he is a really penetrating kick.Don't forget he is only 6/7 games into a career and there is a lot to like already.:thumbsu:

Just looking at the stats and we won the game with Hase missing over a quarter of the game (TOG 73%) and Schammer over a quarter (TOG 63%).
Tarrant was our only player to play 100% of the game

That's actually pretty ridiculous, when you consider how many touches they had and their influence on the match (Hase and Scham).

Harvey won the tactical game of cat and mouse hands down. His match-ups of Tarrant/Fevola, Ibbotson/Judd and Dodd/Betts went a long way to us winning the game.

Tarrant, Hase and Sandilands were outstanding.

But to me the performances of our lesser lights was most heartening. Particularly on a night when a few of our stars were missing and a couple of others failed to shine.

- Peake has been great this year, and he and Hill just kept running to provide an option.
- Pratt made one obvious error but he never gave up, continually putting his body on the line.
- Murphy's aggression was fantastic to see. His attack on the ball in the 2nd quarter was instrumental. One particular effort where he charged straight at a Carlton player, tackled him and forced the ball free, which was then scooped up by a team mate who subsequently kicked the goal. Great stuff. For a much maligned player, whose dedication and heart is often questioned - he answered a call. His goal from deep in the pocket was a beauty too.
- Dodd's job on Betts was top notch. I think we gained more meterage from Stompy's spoils than Carlton did from Betts' kicking.
- Even Thornton played a role.

Great effort and spirit shown by the team. If we can maintain that intensity and keep blooding new players in that team environment - letting them know the level of dedication required by the FFC - I'll be happy.