Peel Thunder
Nearly 24 hours after the game and I'm getting worried BPG hasn't created his regular glass half review... :eek:

In his absence I will get us going:

1. We get a win going into the BYE
  2. NO INJURIES
  3. Pav reaching 250 games and contributed well
  4. Mayne & Deboer played their 50th
  5. Griffin = Sandi (if not greater)
  6. Midfield held up okay without Mundy & Barlow.
  7. Hill got a lot of the footy which will do his confidence wonders
  8. Fyfe continued to show his aerial ability and popped up all over the ground
  9. Mellington had a great impact as Sub for just 1 qtr (our best impact from the bench this season)
  10. SNOS showed us why is a best 22 backman and operated at 100% EF
  11. Palmer got a good schooling from the leagues best Mid and still lay 6 tackles and earn 14 cont possies
  12. Ballas made that best Mid look like a pansy after a 'soft' bump
  13. Mzungu kicked a couple of sausage rolls and looked good on the wing
  14. Even spread of goal kickers, weren't relying on just Pav
  15. Broughton played more in the midfield and layed 11 tackles
  16. No sign of hammy flare ups from Ballas.
  17. Did I mention no Injuries?
    :thumbsu:

That pretty well covers it Seppo. Now in 6th spot. The 'real' season will soon begin. A lot of 8 point games coming up.

Our percentage went in the positive direction.Broughton showing that he will become a solid midfielder.Mzungu getting amongst the goals.Freo showing we can win games minus the world's best ruckmen.

- skills have improved a heap
- the players who've returned from injury can all take marks: silvagni, mzungu, ballyntine, et al, they rarely drop a mark under pressure, which makes going forward that much more reliable
- griffin making the most of his opportunities and not having a sook about having to fight for his position like some
-

Don't know if this is the right page for this comment but how blessed are we with ruckmen?!?! We picked up all of them without high draft picks ( I'm pretty sure Clarke cost the most at pick 30 something ) and they all are highly skilled.
I would hate to part with most freo players but if we have to trade for jaeger/ bennel or an inside mid or kpd, our ruckman stocks are HIGHLY valuable on the market IMO.
All this with moller to come!

Don't know if this is the right page for this comment but how blessed are we with ruckmen?!?! We picked up all of them without high draft picks ( I'm pretty sure Clarke cost the most at pick 30 something ) and they all are highly skilled.
I would hate to part with most freo players but if we have to trade for jaeger/ bennel or an inside mid or kpd, our ruckman stocks are HIGHLY valuable on the market IMO.
All this with moller to come!

Good point. Freo have been able to identify good ruckmen with late picks. You can toss in Warnock as well who was our third pick somewhere in the 40's in the 2005 draft. I would rather have Suban and we wont miss him but cant deny it was another good late pick-up.

Yep warnock too! And j-lo before him.

Ha yeah probably not considering he retired early!
I was more referring to how we've identified excellent ruckman, in regards to longmuir, and how cheap we got the others.

Nearly 24 hours after the game and I'm getting worried BPG hasn't created his regular glass half review... :eek:

2. NO INJURIES
  9. Mellington had a great impact as Sub for just 1 qtr (our best impact from the bench this season)
  11. Palmer got a good schooling from the leagues best Mid and still lay 6 tackles and earn 14 cont possies

Aww, Seppo, thanks for worrying matey...:):)

Have just been between internet connections am travelling at present. Was at the game yesterday, my first Subi game for nearly 13 years, while not the cleanest most flowing game, it had a copule of absolutely cracking bumps, it was great to see the great man have a win in his 250th, and I even enjoyed watching Ablett live.

Agree with all of your points, plus I thought Silver was fantastic after the bump - must take a heck of a lot to knock him out. And geez ain't it grand to have Rodger the Dodger Hayden back and beggining to get a bit of the ball!!

the positive started when Sandi went off last week against Brissie. We have learnt to play without him. And play pretty good. Something we all thought about early in the season but were not sure could happen.

We now have a team with real depth. We've managed to confront and beat our worst scenario.

It's all downhill from here I reckon.

positive for me is that rather than persist with a setup that wasn't working, we made some changes and they made a real impact.

hopefully hill gets more of a run down back / up forward when he's copping a heavy tag from now on. he looked awesome.

the positive started when Sandi went off last week against Brissie. We have learnt to play without him. And play pretty good. Something we all thought about early in the season but were not sure could happen.

We now have a team with real depth. We've managed to confront and beat our worst scenario.

in an ironic twist, circumstance really has given us the perfect preparation for a tilt at the flag next year, barring injury.

- posted while sitting in the dark, covered in black makeup and listening to emo music

2. NO INJURIES

Sorry to rain on your parade Seppo, but on Fox Sports, Chopper listed as having a knee injury :( :eek: :(

No further info as yet....:thumbsd:

Yeah I've seen that too, elsewhere has it listed as a calf. I was watching the bench during the game and Mayne did get his calf treated a few times over the afternoon.

Watching the replay on the Xbox Foxtel AFL channel this morning and heard them saying they were doing some sort of ultrasound on his calf during the game.... so clearly, his calf is pregnant. With Keps baby.

Yeah I've seen that too, elsewhere has it listed as a calf. I was watching the bench during the game and Mayne did get his calf treated a few times over the afternoon.

Watching the replay on the Xbox Foxtel AFL channel this morning and heard them saying they were doing some sort of ultrasound on his calf during the game.... so clearly, his calf is pregnant. With Keps baby.

:D:thumbsu:

The way he sprinted and took that sliding mark on the boundary line in time-on in the last suggested he might come up in a fortnight.

I'm starting to see Clarke's upside more and more. I think he's a bit hesitant going for the loose ball in a contested situation though, maybe worried of being caught with it. When he goes hard at it he looks like he crunches people with tackles.

Mellington has shown enough. His attack on Hunt (a bit high!) was brilliant with respect to his intent. I recon he will push Mayne for fwd pressure.

I like him too ! He's the youngest player in the league isn't he??
I reckon he's got good upside. Showing more mongrel than half our team were a month ago.

I saw griffin in an indigenous all stars v adelaide game in darwin a couple of years ago. he was showing signs of becoming a beast back then. i still cant believe adelaide let him go so cheaply for sam jacobs (who isn't bad).

You guys have replaced sandi with a steal of a pick :thumbsu:

the freo recruiting staff seem to be better than most teams right now.

The positives for me are the way in which we've responded in the second half after starting really flat in both games.

The players have taken that half time chat/session and come out and lifted in all areas.

With the players we have coming back (hopefully) the BYE week will almost certainly be concentrating on our approach in the first half of games. We need to really come out of the blocks in our games after the BYE.