Freo4life

I'll start off with a few:

1. Came back and almost stole the game when it looked dead and buried with multiple injury concerns.
2. Clarke showing us what he's got up against a very good ruck combination.
3. I thought McPharlin played another awesome game.
4. Barlow played a solid game and seems to have come out unscathed.
5. Broughton continuing his good form.
6. General intensity and hunger for the contest seems to be here to stay.

I know were supposed to be big rivals and all but it was a hell of a game:thumbsu:

Clarke battled well for you guys. **** me isn't McPharlin good. Easy AA CHB this year(Glass FB;))

Quick question, do you think it was wrong to bring Suban back and not as the sub ? Found alot of form when he wasn't injured and seems very underrated.

A few from me:

1. Clarke!! Especially his repeat chase and tackle in the early part of the last...
2. We never gave up, and the fact we came back and got so close from 22 points down with just over 8 minutes on the clock should help to encourage our guys to know that they can do it again if we are in a similar position come finals time.
3. Shut down jobs on Priddis and Embley went well I thought.
4. Ibbo bounced back with a great defensive game, much better disposal and fewer errors.
5. We had no Griffin, no Suban and a half fit Mayne for most of the last quarter and a half, yet we still found drive and kept the gut running up.
6. Sandi and Mundy still to come back - when they do we will be even stronger...
7. This week Pav was a bit quiet, and Fyfe was not the force he has been for the past few weeks, yet we still had a functioning midfield and managed to get waves of pressure going.
8. Broughts in the midfield got even better! And how good a rookie pick is Lower turning out to be?
9. Mzungu was excellent in the backline.
10. Silver, Grover and Elvis proved yet again they have a strong ability to repel repeat attacks, even when out numbered, out sized and not helped by the midfielders.

brilliant game!!!! Just a couple of observations we looked tired and struggled through..
you boys looked sore, but keep coming

I know he missed, but Ballas shot on goal under that much pressure IMO was very good right on the edge of his range and was cm away from steeling us a victory.

Barlow is a genius. The touch and fine tuning is still a few degrees out but can the man find the ball!
Clarke is a real fighter and has some serious talent. I thought we were gone when Griff went off but he held up really well.
Hill looks fantastic coming off half back. Shame he got the corky but he still did some nice things including good defensive marks!
Lower is a mongrel. Josh Carr that can kick!
Balla was everywhere, tried a few things that didn't come off and nearly won us the game.
Put Sandi, Mundy and Mora into that team and it's a real force.

What did everyone think of Barlow's game?

Pretty reasonable I thought. The footy brain is still sharp. Effectiveness still down a bit but that will come.

His first half really built on his excellent last quarter from the game against Sydney last week - lots of enthusiasm, and heaps of the footy, much like the old Barlow! Very clear the old brain and ball magnet hands are still working well, just needs a few more games. The handball to Hilly was genius!!

Kicking was better this week in its accuracy, and most of his handballs were effective this week. Some of his disposals against Melbourne and Sydney were a bit wonky. He dropped away a bit in the second half, but that is to be expected given both the long rehab time he has had and the high intensity of the game. Also, FWIW, I felt Harvs was using him in the forward line a fair bit today, especially in the second half, and I don't think that is the best place for Micky B. I also think he'd be even better if he had Palmer and Lower both playing full games in the guts with him, but what would I know...

What did everyone think of Barlow's game?

Pretty reasonable I thought. The footy brain is still sharp. Effectiveness still down a bit but that will come.

A little rusty on the odd occassion, but apart from Fyfe he has the cleanest hands in the team. Some of his handballs out of congestion to advantage were brilliant, especially the one that set up Hill's goal.

1.We got out ahead in the first quarter rather than going 3 or 4 goals down and spending the whole game catching up .
2. Intensity throughout the game till the final siren-please make it not just a derby special occasion effort but the norm
3.Clarke obviously
4.No injuries of significance (I hope)
5. We are all round better than we were the first time looking towards the end of the season
6.Extra game of experience for our returns.

I know he missed, but Ballas shot on goal under that much pressure IMO was very good right on the edge of his range and was cm away from steeling us a victory.

This was my first thought. Very difficult kick and hit it about as best he could under huge pressure.

1. Zac Clarke
2. won a 4th quarter. must be a rarity this yr?

on another note barlow is really struggling for fitness. not suprising. Some of his chases he was clearly absolutely buggered and moved slower than a retired haselby. When he gets back to full fitness next yr freo midfield will be scary.

c: hill mundy fyfe
R: sandilands barlow morabito

hill the only player below 190cm

barlow showing that he will get back to pre-injury form,maybe not this year but should next year.
sandi & clarke one day will form a super solid rucking combination.
our intensity is staying at a high rate for longer.
sandi & mundy a week closer to getting back.
robbo has really good defensive instincts.

I'm positive we will beat hawthorn next week.

The **ckwit brigade and their constant carping and negativity arent attracted to anything that has the mention of positive so its a decent read .

Top post. Clay nowhere to be found in a 'Positives' thread.

1. Clarke
2. Ballantyne. Love the lil guy.
3. Broughton
4. McPharlin
5. Crowley did a good job today along with De Boer.
6. Ibbo played well except for the single brain fart again.
7. Still think WCE will tire too much at the pointy end and I hope we see them again!

Loved watching Clarke - he's gonna be one for the future

We have the hunger back

We have passion - watching the eagles after the game/sing their song proves this. The vision from our change-rooms was gut-wrenching. It shows we have hunger, belief and that we hurt when we lose

Can't wait til we meet them again

Had that Ballantyne kick been a goal we would be on equal points to the Eagles.(mind you behind on percentage)
The media are having orgasms as to how good the Eagles are this year yet all that really seperates us from them is the result of that one kick. Taking into account our record breaking injury toll it represents a pretty reasonable result and optimism for 2012.

I thought Fyfe's last quarter was (almost) matchwinning. I'm pretty sure our string of goals in the last quarter to get back in it were all due to Fyfe's involvement.

1) Fyfe gets free, passes a long kick to Hill in the square. Goal
2) Fyfe gets a handpass out to a free Mayne who goals.
3) Fyfe marks. Ball gets knocked away, 50m penalty. Goal.

Love the guy. "Hird vs WCE in 2004"-esque.

Clarke also played the best match I've ever seen him play. His tackling and his last quarter were brilliant.

1. Hill looked very very dangerous before his injury in the 1st Quarter. I reckon Woosha was shitting bricks when he saw how switched on he was.
2. Clarke stood up sensationally against massive odds
3. Creepy selection worked well - hopefully Harvs uses him as a horses for courses - against the right opponent he's still got it.
4. I gave Balla no chance for that final kick, I mean I hoped for a miracle, but my head gave him no chance, and the little beauty was a couple of inches from glory.
5. McPharline was quality as usual - boy we could do with another one of him to cover all the tall timber WC have.

As for Barlow, I thought he was brilliant given where he's come from - but he's a long way from top flight. Doesn't have the tank, is a yard slower in general, his kicking is OK (best I've seen all year for sure), but still lacks penetration. The positive for me will be if he pulls up OK and is able to play next week, even if it's as a sub.

Considering (and I hate to say it) the toast are a bit of a yard stick at the moment especially at Subi we did pretty good.
Our team is building to be a bit of force if we crack the 8.

I'm over yesterday already.
Hawks this weekend is were it's at. Another test. We should pass this one I reckon.

Other than the usual passenger Johnson I can't pin point a player that can't walk away with their head held high.

That was also the first game I have seen Clarke play where he genuinely held his position.

Hill did some good things and I can't get enough of Barlow!