36ers
Greetings oh' educated ones! I'm thinking forward to the draft and what the crows will be looking for with late picks. On a previous thread someone mentioned Benet Copping as a possibility and so I am wondering who else might be out there.
Now I imagine there would be plenty of you who watch (or follow) an SANFL team and so might have some suggestions as to who could be a steal late in the draft.
As far as Benet Copping goes, I have seen him play some footy at school level and can say that he is more determined and advanced than Will Minson who played for the same school and was drafted by the Bulldogs.
I would like to put another suggestion forward however. What about a youngster by the name of Tom Rischbieth. This kid has been playing school footy mainly, although has also played some under 17's with Sturt. He has played as a CHF/CHB at both levels, but to be honest I think will develop into a mid fielder. He is only marginally tall (about 6-2), but has good skills, determination and good character. He is the type of tallish midfielder that Sheedy is always keen on.
Oh and did I mention that he is close to the best middle to long distance runner for his age in the state?
OK, so I know I'm sounding like his fan club president, but I think he has something to offer. Any Sturt fans out there who have seen him play and want to comment?
Any other players in the juniors that might be worth a look at? (no parents please!)

DJ75 said:
Greetings oh' educated ones! I'm thinking forward to the draft and what the crows will be looking for with late picks. On a previous thread someone mentioned Benet Copping as a possibility and so I am wondering who else might be out there.
Now I imagine there would be plenty of you who watch (or follow) an SANFL team and so might have some suggestions as to who could be a steal late in the draft.
As far as Benet Copping goes, I have seen him play some footy at school level and can say that he is more determined and advanced than Will Minson who played for the same school and was drafted by the Bulldogs.
I would like to put another suggestion forward however. What about a youngster by the name of Tom Rischbieth. This kid has been playing school footy mainly, although has also played some under 17's with Sturt. He has played as a CHF/CHB at both levels, but to be honest I think will develop into a mid fielder. He is only marginally tall (about 6-2), but has good skills, determination and good character. He is the type of tallish midfielder that Sheedy is always keen on.
Oh and did I mention that he is close to the best middle to long distance runner for his age in the state?
OK, so I know I'm sounding like his fan club president, but I think he has something to offer. Any Sturt fans out there who have seen him play and want to comment?
Any other players in the juniors that might be worth a look at? (no parents please!)
Thanks for the self promotion Tommy;)

afc9798 said:
Thanks for the self promotion Tommy;)
No worries, but lets just keep it between ourselves ;)
Seriously though it does give us something to think about. There is some real talent, including the ones mentioned below, in SA and so we should be able to find some steal late in the draft.

Storm20: How about Johnathon Cheetham, All australian U/17

Gets!: I'd rather Tom Cornish...captain of West Adelaide U 17's.

What can you tell us about thses two? What type of player, attitude :confused: etc..?

I went to saints a while back and all the above mentioned players are guns at schooboy level. Rischbieth is a real roughie, pretty good player, certainly kicked arse in sport at school, fit as hell. Minson was a roughie from the draft, was always killing them at schoolboy level and now look at him. Talks of him being the next captain of the bulldogs!

Mcleay, Copping are surely going to be drafted. Would love Mcleay at the crows but we need midfielders. Monfries and Eckermann should be the number 1 and 2 targets, actually Eckermann number 1 Monfries number 2. We must get one of them.

There are HEAPS of players playing SANFL and ressies than hardly anyone would look at or know, or have heard of from interstate. Blokes like:

Lucas Block (Glenelg) - Jars mentioned how impressed he was with him in the paper a while back. Ive been watching him for weeks and he is very talented. An 18 year old midfielder of 184cm 75kg getting 30 touches and 2 goals in the SANFL cant go unoticed. Must look at him crows recruiters!!!

Elijah Ware (Central) - Be silly not to look at him, quick and skillful goalkicking wingman.

Matthew Ferber (South) - 195cm ruckman constantly in the best for South Under 19's, certainly can play thats for sure.

Any player from Sacred Heart College - Tom Redden espec, lot of talent in there.

Daniel Reavill (Glenelg) - Has really played well across the middle and half forward since making his debut half way through the season. Been getting up to and over 20 possies a game, plenty of marks and kicking plenty of goals.

Paul Thomas (Central) - Hell why did we knock him off our rookie list a couple of years ago? IMO is the best player in the SANFL and one of the favs for the Magarey medla. Dashing half back like Wirrpunda, quick, skillful by hand and foot, loves to run straight down the lines, creates forwards bursts with his pace and penetration by foot and is a fit as they come.

Thunderstruck said:
I went to saints a while back and all the above mentioned players are guns at schooboy level. Rischbieth is a real roughie, pretty good player, certainly kicked arse in sport at school, fit as hell. Minson was a roughie from the draft, was always killing them at schoolboy level and now look at him. Talks of him being the next captain of the bulldogs!

Mcleay, Copping are surely going to be drafted. Would love Mcleay at the crows but we need midfielders. Monfries and Eckermann should be the number 1 and 2 targets, actually Eckermann number 1 Monfries number 2. We must get one of them.

There are HEAPS of players playing SANFL and ressies than hardly anyone would look at or know, or have heard of from interstate. Blokes like:

Lucas Block (Glenelg) - Jars mentioned how impressed he was with him in the paper a while back. Ive been watching him for weeks and he is very talented. An 18 year old midfielder of 184cm 75kg getting 30 touches and 2 goals in the SANFL cant go unoticed. Must look at him crows recruiters!!!

Elijah Ware (Central) - Be silly not to look at him, quick and skillful goalkicking wingman.

Matthew Ferber (South) - 195cm ruckman constantly in the best for South Under 19's, certainly can play thats for sure.

Any player from Sacred Heart College - Tom Redden espec, lot of talent in there.

Daniel Reavill (Glenelg) - Has really played well across the middle and half forward since making his debut half way through the season. Been getting up to and over 20 possies a game, plenty of marks and kicking plenty of goals.

Paul Thomas (Central) - Hell why did we knock him off our rookie list a couple of years ago? IMO is the best player in the SANFL and one of the favs for the Magarey medla. Dashing half back like Wirrpunda, quick, skillful by hand and foot, loves to run straight down the lines, creates forwards bursts with his pace and penetration by foot and is a fit as they come.
Cheers for that Thuderstruck. I put Rischbieth's name out there to see who else might be lurking that would be under consideration. McLeay is a good player, but I think you are right with Eckermann. Everything I hear about him is good. What about Pearce from Sturt? From what I've seen and heard, he has blistering pace, good skills and an uncanny knack around goals.
Reavill is definately worth a look as is Block.
It looks like some interesting times ahead!

mcmahon will not go in the top 30!! plenty of better players than him, he is good but he is very one dimentional, can only play as a small back pretty much!

My wife knows Cheeham's mum and I remember her saying last year that Freo were interested in him - very tall ruckman i believe.

Ferber is an interesting prospect. Went to the AIS as a rower and tried his hand at footy. Runs 20m in 3.06 and has a phenomanal Beep test of 15.2 for a tall. Matthew is also a club and junior state athlete over 800m and 400m. When you consider Monfries 20m Sprint is 3.14 and his beep test was only 14.8 you can tell how quick Ferber is and how good his endurance is. Needs quite a few kilos still as he is only light, but as a long term prospect late in the draft he is worth a go.

Storm20 said:
How about Johnathon Cheetham, All australian U/17

:D tall, lanky, plays the drums. ;)

he is really a tall young lad, wouldnt be surprised at all if Freo wanted him...if clarkey stays, with biggles and hudo, do we need him though? Needs to bulk up more, the youngin!

DJ75 said:
No worries, but lets just keep it between ourselves ;)
Seriously though it does give us something to think about. There is some real talent, including the ones mentioned below, in SA and so we should be able to find some steal late in the draft.

Storm20: How about Johnathon Cheetham, All australian U/17

Gets!: I'd rather Tom Cornish...captain of West Adelaide U 17's.

What can you tell us about thses two? What type of player, attitude :confused: etc..?

Johna, is a great player, he played for GOlden Grove Kookaburras, from adelaide and dominates when we play lunchtime football. But he plays for north adelaide, and is a tank of a player, also a reallly good guy :D

Agree with the Paul Thomas call he should go very well in the magarey this year and also agree should never have been knocked off the rookie list a few years ago, much like Parker this year. Now onto noodles(WARE) i really dont think he would make it at AFL level, because he is a bit skinny and he does fade in and out of games quite regularly, although yes he is extremely quick and a good shot at goal, so could definently do a lot worse than picking him.

AngelEyes said:
:D tall, lanky, plays the drums. ;)

he is really a tall young lad, wouldnt be surprised at all if Freo wanted him...if clarkey stays, with biggles and hudo, do we need him though? Needs to bulk up more, the youngin!

How do you know him :confused:

Have a question:

Why if Copping is in fact avaiable to the Crows under father/son has there been zilch speculation about us taking him. :confused:

He's rated a 2nd round pick on some phantom drafts, but from the Crows board nothing :confused:

Wayne's-World said:
Have a question:

Why if Copping is in fact avaiable to the Crows under father/son has there been zilch speculation about us taking him. :confused:

He's rated a 2nd round pick on some phantom drafts, but from the Crows board nothing :confused:
There must be something fishy going on!!!
I even emailed the 5AA sports show and they ignored it to, Kerley rates him but WTF why no mention???????
Roodog and stiffy reckon he would be a project player and 3 years away and I dont mean any offence to them but I would like to hear that from someone with a bit more say in the recruiting process.
And then get him anyway (if he is anywhere near as good as his old man he will do fine)

Storm20 said:
Why dont one of you ring up the 5AA sports show
Theres enough on this board with so called connections who should be able to answer the question.

In our clammer for father/sons I would have thought this would have sparked more discussion?

Wayne's-World said:
Theres enough on this board with so called connections who should be able to answer the question.

In our clammer for father/sons I would have thought this would have sparked more discussion?
I am one that has so called connections:rolleyes: and nobody knows anything!
very Annoying.

I agree with your second point also. (I even started a thread on him and got about 10 responses:confused: )

IMO there must be something fishy going on.